$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Gentlemen
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 15, 2009

New York Trip

Very pleasent hotel, great location. Excellent bar, top professionals making drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many options available within 10 blocks. Bad weather, rain, can make getting around a problem. You need to plan ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ben10
Business
ill
Sep 7, 2009

ended up ok

When we were checked in we got to our room only to see it was not the room we had been guaranteed or that we had prepaid for. We had to be moved the next day to our regular room and the stay was fine then. The thing that bothers me greatly was the young lady who checked us in said nothing about this "lack of available Premium King rooms" to us. We had to call to complain to the manager. Who said we would be moved tomorrow and offered us a comp breakfast. What bothers me , as I mentioned was not being told honestly up front which leads me to believe that had I said nothing they would not have either. So we are our approx.40.00 because of this snafu. [...] the manager was most helpful BUT What about the room I was "guaranteed and had paid for. What about Orbitz guarantee? I will not use orbitz again as a result.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye Man
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Great Stay

Always clean, always good service. Not trendy, but always dependable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bermuda
Aug 2, 2009

Great Hotel

This is the third time we've stayed at this lovely hotel. The location is great for shopping and theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, Ca
Jul 30, 2009

Comfy Hotel

The Hotel is located in "Mid-Town" NYC. Perfect location as Time Square is a few blocks away as well as 5th ave for great shopping. The beds are very comfy as they are plush with down and the room is a great a size. We had arrived after a 9 hour flight from Rome and were well pleased by the accomodating staff (front desk, concierge, and bell men) and were able to sleep pleasantly. I would give this hotel five stars if they had a pool...however, they do have a gym area with treadmills, bikes, and elipticals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The "Gaby",is a wonderful place for breakfast! Great and fresh food with appropriate servings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2009

Long weekend in NYC

Friendly welcoming staff, make you feel right at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location makes it possible to walk almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikki hearts nyc
Business
chicago
Jul 14, 2009

new york on a whim

The smiles at the front door only kept resonating throughout the room and lobby and the entire building...The room was cozy and comfy with attention to detail that made you wish this were home. The complimentary evian bottles by the nightstand to help wet the hangover hurties, the citrus scented candle and shampoos to inspire smiles and serenity, the slippers, the robe, the blowdryer and the tub and seperate shower...how many words do we get?;-) The best part is the bed. Cozy enough to knock you out like mama said, supportive enough to help you spring to life in the morning. kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

for the perfect nightcap, check out the blue bar in the lobby of the Algonquin hotel, just a few steps away and home to the famed Algonquin roundtable...And for the late night set to help turn night into day with a drink, walk down 44th just past 6th and stumble into jimmy's corner bar(not on the corner, but the pics on the wall will clue you in why its named)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bartow FL
Jul 9, 2009

Best location for visiting NYC!

Loved this location! Easy walking to most everything we wanted to do. The a/c doesn't work especially well and the rooms had lovely duvets instead of top sheets which were just to hot to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conway, AR
Jun 22, 2009

Weekend getaway

A wonderful oasis in the middle of all that New York is about. Once inside it was so peaceful. Concierge personel go out of their way to make everything easy. Close proximetry to access any point in Manhatten either by foot, bus or subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, Tn
May 31, 2009

Great hotel with fantastic location

I checked in several hours before check in time and was given a room with a terrible view that looked out into the backs of several buildings. I was disappointed and went back to lobby to see if I could get a room on a higher floor. I was told that I could but that I would have to wait until check in time. It was worth the wait. I got a room with a fantastic view. The hotel staff was very accomodating and all of them were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top