$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Sofitel New York

4 stars
45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of... See full review

  • newyorkminute
  • Mar 10, 2014
Top class for value and service

The hotel is very warm and welcoming. The accommodation is 5*, large room with lovely comfortable... See full review

  • Andrew75
  • Mar 5, 2014
Spirit of New York and Paris triumphs at midtown Manhattan hotel

Indulge in the spirit of classic New York and Paris at the midtown Manhattan Sofitel New York, right off Fifth Avenue. Thirty stories of contemporary-style glass and limestone make a landmark statement, and sophisticated, soft-edge guest rooms offer the comforts of home. Each includes a flat-screen TV, a Bose radio, a marble bathroom, a feather SoBed and a fully stocked minibar. Four-diamond service continues at the French-influenced restaurant and bar, Gaby, open from early morning until well past midnight at Sofitel.

Highlights

  • Paris- and New York-infused guest room with a Bose radio, a flat-screen TV and a feather SoBed
  • The flavors of France in an Art-Deco-inspired setting at Gaby, the on-site restaurant and bar
  • Walk to the best of Manhattan from a midtown location at Fifth Avenue

Location

Walk to the best of New York from Sofitel and its midtown Manhattan location on West 44th Street, just off Fifth Avenue. Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Terminal and even the Empire State Building are nearby, and a subway station is several blocks away.

Rooms

The inviting guest rooms and suites at Sofitel present tailored sophistication, upscale amenities and soft-edge decor touches that recall both the comforts of home and the style of Paris and New York. Each includes a flat-screen cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view channels, a Bose radio, a feather SoBed, a two-line phone with voice mail, a marble bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, a fully stocked minibar, and high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Suites feature a separate living room, and the Prestige Suite includes a 300-square-foot private terrace. 

Features

Experience an Art-Deco-inspired setting paired with fine French-influenced dining at Gaby, the restaurant and bar at Sofitel, open from early morning until after midnight. Room service is available around the clock. A fitness center is also on the property.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Penn Station (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)

Attractions

  • Times Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Business

  • Elegant Grand Ballroom, seating up to 200 guests, plus eight additional meeting rooms (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees
Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7558 -73.9818
Nearby airports
JFK, (JFK), 41.60, KM, NW; EWR, (EWR), 43.20, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sofitel New York Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx City S
SKYSCRAPER SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Floors 22-29, Chrysler View.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WiFi, sofabed
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Terrace from 500sq ft, 24th floor.. 650 sq ft / 60 m² featuring terraces from 500sq ft . Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separa
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Luxury Suite - 1 king bed and Sofabed. Floors 2 2-29. High floor, view guaranteed.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, sofabed
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King Bed, Floors 3-29.. 400 sq ft / 37 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hotel($5
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 15-29.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the h
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
EXECUTIVE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TVs, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI. No sofabed available. Rollaway availab
1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 3-14.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower,complimentary WIFI, Max one rollaway per room subject to hotel co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

GABY RESTAURANT
Gaby Restaurant is the Art Deco-inspired restaurant at our NYC midtown hotel featuring delicious, contemporary French cuisine. Enjoy a taste of France at our modern midtown New York City hotel restaurant, located in the heart of the Theatre District.
GABY BAR
Contemporary New York bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 80
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newyorkminute
Whitby, Ontario
Mar 10, 2014

Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of one! Hotel staff was unbelievably considerate and accommodating. They upgraded our room as it was our first stay and were available for all our needs. Room service and the food was fantastic! What a feast we had the first evening in our room. The hotel itself lives up to its luxury reputation, beautiful décor and welcoming atmosphere. The room was exceptionally clean and the king bed was the ultimate in comfort. With in room safe, wet bar and flat screen tv as well as lovely toiletries in the bathroom with a spotless glass shower, robes and slippers. Complimentary tea and coffee in the morning. Lovely stay! Felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. Thank you Sofitel for a fantastic stay and will highly recommend it for anyone visiting New York. The location was perfect as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Whatever you do, do not take the SuperShuttle!! Take a cab to your hotel. First night was a 2 hour shuttle from LaGuardia. Took a luxury car back and that took 20 minutes. Worth every penny!

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qantas.au
Sydney
Jan 31, 2013

Perfect!

It was wonderful experience with Sofitel New York! Great location! Only steps away to 5th Av, Times Square and subways. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DimaIrina
Moscow, город Москва, Russia
Aug 17, 2011

Nice family trip

We were really pleased with service and atmosphere in Sofitel New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellerMaty
Cupertino, CA
Jun 1, 2011

Great location

I asked for a king size and received Queen size. The location was ideal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Time square

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and M
Denver, Co
Jan 8, 2010

Great getaway!

Everything in New York was within walking distance, it was amazing! The hotel was very friendly and immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square was 2-3 blocks away with greath shopping

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2009

My new hotel of choice for trips to NYC

This was a birthday gift for mom to see Jersey Boys. I knew the location would be fabulous but was blown away by the hotel! The best hotel value I have ever experienced in all of my trips to NYC. Reasonable price and FANTASTIC service and amenities. This is my new hotel of choice for trips to NYC. I will also look to the Sofitel chain for other trips. I am picky about my hotels and this one exceeded all expectations (cleanliness, service, accommodations, room size, location). Easy walk to 5th Ave shopping, Times Square, Grand Central terminal (which will get you anywhere else in the city).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
May 29, 2009

Superb Location - Good Amenities

It was our first time to New York and it was a 3 generation of "girls" trip. The oldest in their 60's and the youngest was 9. The hotel was clean and the concierge very helpful. The concierge was available for questions, made good suggestions for dining and tourist events (even if we didn't do some of them) and were very helpful in getting tickets to things like the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tours. For us "rookie" New York tourists, we felt the location was fantastic as we like to walk and it was easy to walk to Fifth Avenue, Times Square, Broadway Shows & Rockefeller Center etc. The location also made it easy to get to buses and the subway. There was a "runner" in the group and easy to get to Central Park and get in a good run. The rooms were clean and well attended. We had a couple of problems at check in but believe it was because of the 3rd party booking and the hotel did their best to correct it (even though they probably were not at fault) There were 3 computers available - at no charge which made it easy to keep up with work and check on things while away. I have travelled all over the world and I would definately recommend this hotel because of it's location, cleanliness, & courteous and helpful staff. Probably not the least expensive stay in the city but we felt it was off-set by the location and time and money saved by being convenient to many area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We found using the 2 or 3 day city bus tours to be invaluable. We did this the first day and it helped us get acquainted with the various neighborhoods and attractions. The tour guides gave great hints on shopping, dining and where to purchase same day discounted Broadway tickets. It helped us to plan the next couple of days of our trip. We believe it saved us time and money, especially if we had tried to take taxis to all those places.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington-Normal, IL
Jun 19, 2007

Perfect experience

The Sofitel was the perfect choice for this mom and her 19 year old daughter's first visit to New York. First the hotel is beautiful and sophiticated. The room was larger than expected and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular! Excellent, friendly, and helpful service from the front desk, room service and the gift shop. The doorman took a great picture of us! The location allowed us to walk to many points of interest on our very long list. It was a hit all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from many pints of interest: Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and many quality restaurants. We felt safe walking in any direction.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Nice and quiet

I took my mom to NY to celebrate her 80th birthday. We both were pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was good because it was less than two miles from everywhere we wanted to go - restaurants, shopping and shows. Considering the average size of a NY hotel room (very small) the room was large. The bathroom was well-appointed and we liked the updated style of separate shower and tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a cubby hole in the lobby with three computers and a printer. Free of charge, you could access the Internet and print boarding passes. Although I had read other reviews that it would be difficult for the doorman to hail a cab, we did not find that to be the case. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and offered ideas on shopping areas where we could find bargains. The one problem we had was with our room service the first night. We ordered the lobster bisque and did not like it. I was hesitant but decided to call room service to let them know we didn't like it. They sent someone to get the bowls and credited our bill without any hassle. Also, be aware that the minibar has a sensor on it. When something is removed your are charged but the sensor does not detect if you return something to the bar. I removed a diet Coke and changed my mind. I immediately returned it to the bar and selected a regular Coke. When I noticed that I was charged for two, I contacted the front desk and they told me about the sensor. They removed the second charge without any hassle. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again. We got good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nathcam
calvi
Dec 28, 2013

superbe hotel

rien à redire. chambre confortable et spacieuse. situé idéalement entre la 5eme et 6eme avenue Accueil chaleureux et personnel très agréable. Nous avons passez un merveilleux séjour. hôtel à conseiller vivement!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search