$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Great hotel.

The Sofitel is a brilliant place all round. The hotel its self is spotlessly clean, the beds are so... See full review

  • Libby1963
  • Jan 4, 2015
Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of... See full review

  • newyorkminute
  • Mar 10, 2014
Spirit of New York and Paris triumphs at midtown Manhattan hotel

Indulge in the spirit of classic New York and Paris at the midtown Manhattan Sofitel New York, right off Fifth Avenue. Thirty stories of contemporary-style glass and limestone make a landmark statement, and sophisticated, soft-edge guest rooms offer the comforts of home. Each includes a flat-screen TV, a Bose radio, a marble bathroom, a feather SoBed and a fully stocked minibar. Four-diamond service continues at the French-influenced restaurant and bar, Gaby, open from early morning until well past midnight at Sofitel.

Highlights

  • Paris- and New York-infused guest room with a Bose radio, a flat-screen TV and a feather SoBed
  • The flavors of France in an Art-Deco-inspired setting at Gaby, the on-site restaurant and bar
  • Walk to the best of Manhattan from a midtown location at Fifth Avenue

Location

Walk to the best of New York from Sofitel and its midtown Manhattan location on West 44th Street, just off Fifth Avenue. Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Terminal and even the Empire State Building are nearby, and a subway station is several blocks away.

Rooms

The inviting guest rooms and suites at Sofitel present tailored sophistication, upscale amenities and soft-edge decor touches that recall both the comforts of home and the style of Paris and New York. Each includes a flat-screen cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view channels, a Bose radio, a feather SoBed, a two-line phone with voice mail, a marble bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, a fully stocked minibar, and high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Suites feature a separate living room, and the Prestige Suite includes a 300-square-foot private terrace. 

Features

Experience an Art-Deco-inspired setting paired with fine French-influenced dining at Gaby, the restaurant and bar at Sofitel, open from early morning until after midnight. Room service is available around the clock. A fitness center is also on the property.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Penn Station (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)

Attractions

  • Times Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Business

  • Elegant Grand Ballroom, seating up to 200 guests, plus eight additional meeting rooms (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees
Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sofitel New York Rooms

1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 3-14.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower,complimentary WIFI, Max one rollaway per room subject to hotel conf
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Luxury Suite - 1 king bed and Sofabed. Floors 22-29. High floor, view guaranteed.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, sofabed in
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Terrace from 500sq ft, 24th floor.. 650 sq ft / 60 m² featuring terraces from 500sq ft . Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate
Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx City S
Skyscraper Suite - 1 king-size bed, separate living room, floors 22-29, Chrysler view.. 650 sq.ft./60 m², flat-screen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, high
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King Bed, Floors 3-29.. 400 sq ft / 37 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hotel($50
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
EXECUTIVE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TVs, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI. No sofabed available. Rollaway available
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 15-29.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hot

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

GABY RESTAURANT
Gaby Restaurant is the Art Deco-inspired restaurant at our NYC midtown hotel featuring delicious, contemporary French cuisine. Enjoy a taste of France at our modern midtown New York City hotel restaurant, located in the heart of the Theatre District.
GABY BAR
Contemporary New York bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY Joe
Business
Long Island NY
Nov 29, 2010

The Bad, The Worse, The Sofitel!

At check in, the receptionist was very rude & snobby. The rest of the staff was ok. Overall, we had an OK experience there, but luckily the shops & dining made up for it. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2009

Bad news , good news

Upon arrival we were stunned by the elegance in the foyer and check-in areas. Then we got to the room and quickly became disappointed. BAD NEWS: Not only was the room "ordinary" and tiny, our view of a lovely New York brick wall was enough to ruin my whole trip before it started. The room did not have a dvd player and the cable tv service made me want to throw the remote out the window ( and into our beautiful brick wall across the way) Room service was ridiculously overpriced, and no pool or hot tub that I could find. GOOD NEWS: Location was about the only good thing to report. Times square was like 4 blocks away and all the theaters where within walking distance. The service staff were also OK...not GREAT, just OK. Don't take anything out of the mini bar, as soon as you remove it, you will be charged (sensors or something) I took a few things out to put personal items in and I got charged even though I didnt eat or drink the items. Save your money and stay somewhere else or spend just as much and stay somewhere with a view. Not worth the price of a room here folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing a Broadway theater show, purchase tickets before you arrive in New York. Most shows are sold out weeks in advance and day of ticket prices (if your lucky enough to get them) are the most expensive price no matter the seat or section.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ben10
Business
ill
Sep 7, 2009

ended up ok

When we were checked in we got to our room only to see it was not the room we had been guaranteed or that we had prepaid for. We had to be moved the next day to our regular room and the stay was fine then. The thing that bothers me greatly was the young lady who checked us in said nothing about this "lack of available Premium King rooms" to us. We had to call to complain to the manager. Who said we would be moved tomorrow and offered us a comp breakfast. What bothers me , as I mentioned was not being told honestly up front which leads me to believe that had I said nothing they would not have either. So we are our approx.40.00 because of this snafu. [...] the manager was most helpful BUT What about the room I was "guaranteed and had paid for. What about Orbitz guarantee? I will not use orbitz again as a result.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and M
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 8, 2010

Great getaway!

Everything in New York was within walking distance, it was amazing! The hotel was very friendly and immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square was 2-3 blocks away with greath shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellerMaty
Business
Cupertino, CA
Jun 1, 2011

Great location

I asked for a king size and received Queen size. The location was ideal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zippythetraveler
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Recent Stay at the Sofitel Manhattan

Spent one night at the Sofitel Manhattan. The front desk, bell services and door person were efficient and friendly. I tried several times to reach the concierge and was met with a busy signal each time, so eventually I gave up and found the info I needed on the internet in the business center (use of the computers there was free, thank goodness). The Superior room was clean and elegant, but very small for the price I paid. I ate breakfast in the hotel dining room, and it was pricy but scrumptious. The service in the dining room was a little slow at first, but my server sped up when I told him I had a plane to catch. He put together a fancy "to go" box of tasty breads for my plane ride, which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melaniekpa
Business
Throop, PA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great location

We try to always get a good rate so we can stay here. The location is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arin A
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Very nice hotel

Hotel was beautiful. Amenities were great. Great location and a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

WIP is a must go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeePeeDub
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Oct 8, 2012

Sofitel NYC

Second time in the Sofitel. Great location, great staff, nice, clean rooms. Would stay there every time I am in NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolflawyer
Business
cincinnati
Nov 26, 2012

Very Good

The only thing is that there is no coffee maker in the room and the minibar is verry overpriced. The bed was excellent. The concierge and the doorman were supremely helpful. The maid service didn't get around to our room on the 17th floor as quickly as we would have preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top