$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Sofitel New York

4 stars
45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of... See full review

  • newyorkminute
  • Mar 10, 2014
Top class for value and service

The hotel is very warm and welcoming. The accommodation is 5*, large room with lovely comfortable... See full review

  • Andrew75
  • Mar 5, 2014
Experience the ultimate in comfort and convenience at Sofitel New York. This brilliant, 30-story midtown Manhattan hotel evokes a contemporary statement in limestone and glass, just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. Enjoy the modern amenities at this fine midtown New York hotel, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. Sights near our 4-diamond midtown Manhattan hotel include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, art museums and corporate headquarters

Hotel Map

40.7558 -73.9818
Nearby airports
JFK, (JFK), 41.60, KM, NW; EWR, (EWR), 43.20, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sofitel New York Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx City S
SKYSCRAPER SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Floors 22-29, Chrysler View.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WiFi, sofabed
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Terrace from 500sq ft, 24th floor.. 650 sq ft / 60 m² featuring terraces from 500sq ft . Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separa
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Luxury Suite - 1 king bed and Sofabed. Floors 2 2-29. High floor, view guaranteed.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, sofabed
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King Bed, Floors 3-29.. 400 sq ft / 37 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hotel($5
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 15-29.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the h
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
EXECUTIVE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TVs, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI. No sofabed available. Rollaway availab
1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 3-14.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower,complimentary WIFI, Max one rollaway per room subject to hotel co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

GABY RESTAURANT
Gaby Restaurant is the Art Deco-inspired restaurant at our NYC midtown hotel featuring delicious, contemporary French cuisine. Enjoy a taste of France at our modern midtown New York City hotel restaurant, located in the heart of the Theatre District.
GABY BAR
Contemporary New York bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bartow FL
Jul 9, 2009

Best location for visiting NYC!

Loved this location! Easy walking to most everything we wanted to do. The a/c doesn't work especially well and the rooms had lovely duvets instead of top sheets which were just to hot to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conway, AR
Jun 22, 2009

Weekend getaway

A wonderful oasis in the middle of all that New York is about. Once inside it was so peaceful. Concierge personel go out of their way to make everything easy. Close proximetry to access any point in Manhatten either by foot, bus or subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, Tn
May 31, 2009

Great hotel with fantastic location

I checked in several hours before check in time and was given a room with a terrible view that looked out into the backs of several buildings. I was disappointed and went back to lobby to see if I could get a room on a higher floor. I was told that I could but that I would have to wait until check in time. It was worth the wait. I got a room with a fantastic view. The hotel staff was very accomodating and all of them were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
May 29, 2009

Superb Location - Good Amenities

It was our first time to New York and it was a 3 generation of "girls" trip. The oldest in their 60's and the youngest was 9. The hotel was clean and the concierge very helpful. The concierge was available for questions, made good suggestions for dining and tourist events (even if we didn't do some of them) and were very helpful in getting tickets to things like the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tours. For us "rookie" New York tourists, we felt the location was fantastic as we like to walk and it was easy to walk to Fifth Avenue, Times Square, Broadway Shows & Rockefeller Center etc. The location also made it easy to get to buses and the subway. There was a "runner" in the group and easy to get to Central Park and get in a good run. The rooms were clean and well attended. We had a couple of problems at check in but believe it was because of the 3rd party booking and the hotel did their best to correct it (even though they probably were not at fault) There were 3 computers available - at no charge which made it easy to keep up with work and check on things while away. I have travelled all over the world and I would definately recommend this hotel because of it's location, cleanliness, & courteous and helpful staff. Probably not the least expensive stay in the city but we felt it was off-set by the location and time and money saved by being convenient to many area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We found using the 2 or 3 day city bus tours to be invaluable. We did this the first day and it helped us get acquainted with the various neighborhoods and attractions. The tour guides gave great hints on shopping, dining and where to purchase same day discounted Broadway tickets. It helped us to plan the next couple of days of our trip. We believe it saved us time and money, especially if we had tried to take taxis to all those places.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 26, 2009

Very Nice Hotel -- Perfect Location!

We had a wonderful stay -- the hotel staff were polite, attentive and very helpful. And you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bar Americain -- Bobby Flay's restaurant. Great food and wonderful atmosphere. About a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corona Del Mar, CA
May 24, 2009

Sofitel Review

We vacationed in New York and found the hotel to be in a central location for all activities. The staff was courteous and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
May 22, 2009

Great place to stay

Very clean room. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom is highlight as very large and well designed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
May 8, 2009

A great location for the price.

We had a pleasureable experience at the Sofitel. It was in a great location and the staff was very freindly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Becco's was a great place to eat.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, Louisiana
May 3, 2009

Another great visit!

This was our fourth visit (live in New Orleans) to the Sofitel. This last visit was as great as the first! Service was personal and first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to so many attractions, shopping areas, and restaurants. Theatre district is so close.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
manhattan, NYC
Apr 22, 2009

great location and service

friendly and helpful staff, requested early check-in and was granted

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theater district

Back to menu Return to top

Change search