$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellerMaty
Business
Cupertino, CA
Jun 1, 2011

Great location

I asked for a king size and received Queen size. The location was ideal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY Joe
Business
Long Island NY
Nov 29, 2010

The Bad, The Worse, The Sofitel!

At check in, the receptionist was very rude & snobby. The rest of the staff was ok. Overall, we had an OK experience there, but luckily the shops & dining made up for it. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY Joe
Business
Long Island NY
Nov 29, 2010

The Bad, The Worse, The Sofitel!

At check in, the receptionist was very rude & snobby. The rest of the staff was ok. Overall, we had an OK experience there, but luckily the shops & dining made up for it. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chencho fredini
Business
tx
Nov 16, 2010

new york trip

the hotel was in a great location as it was only a few block away from time square. also it was near the subway so we could go either uptown to central park or downtown to wall st. it was also very fancy and great service however the prices on the food were very $$$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the city pass worth it because you skip the lines and also it turns out you pay for 4 activities and get 1 free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B. Espo
Business
Belmar, NJ
Oct 3, 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel

We had a great experience at this hotel. Everyone was extremely courteous and really appreciated us choosing their location. For a NYC hotel this was a great stay and it had a delicious DB restaurant right next store, which we loved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

stop into D B G B Kitchen & Bar right next store and get the burger. It will blow you away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Precious:)
Business
Minnesota
Jul 7, 2010

Amazing value!!

We went with another couple that had stayed in NYC before and they were apprehensive about the Sofitel because it was, for NYC, so reasonably priced. They were VERY pleasantly surprised to find it was a first class hotel with wonderful service, accomodations, and location. They said it was one of the highlights of the trip!! We agreed! Also, we got there before check in and the concierge keeps your luggage locked in a room so you can explore the city without dragging your luggage around. They also will arrange transportation to and from the airport. They were very timely and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had limited time in NYC and wanted to cover as much territory as possible. We decided to take a tour on the Grayline bus tour. It sounds very "touristy" and it is, but you cover a lot of ground in a short amount of time. The guides are knowledgable and you can get on and off at many stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHARLESTON , SC
Mar 19, 2010

QUIET

VERY GOOD OVERALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RED FLAME DINER EXCELLANT. HOTEL CHECK IN IS 3:00PM OR LATER SO PLAN ON THIS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jan 18, 2010

the Perfect Four Star Hotel

We chose the hotel due to its closeness to the theatre where we went on Saturday evening. It was a great location for the theatre, but also for shopping on Fifth Avenue, etc. We ended up having two breakfast meals (Sat. and Sun.) at the restaurant at the hotel - Gaby's, and the two meals were exquisite, but pricey. As indicated above, we had a problem with the air conditioning in the room. WE checked in to the hotel late Friday evening - about 11:00 pm. When we turned the AC down to cool the room, the air unit in the ceiling began to make a humming noise that got louder over time. At about 12 midnite, the security officer came to our room to investigate our complaint, and after confirming the problem, got an engineer to come up to fix the problem. It got fixed about 12:30 am. The hotel staff was very compassionate the next morning, when I asked them to check out the unit when we went out of the hotel for the day -for shopping,etc. Everything was checked out and the problem was solved. The hotel staff was prepared to move us if necessary, but they were most accommodating. The security person who visited our room Friday nite, stopped by at breakfast in the Hotel Saturday morning, to see how the evening turned out on Friday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, make reservations in advance of your stay, at this hotel, or any other as well. It is very difficult to find specific restaurant accommodations the day or two before you might like them, and so, you often have to settle for something else. If you don't care about specifics, then pot luck is fine. In New York, however, even pot luck is not a very good way to have a meal- particularly for what the cost of a meal at a nice restaurant will be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and M
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 8, 2010

Great getaway!

Everything in New York was within walking distance, it was amazing! The hotel was very friendly and immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square was 2-3 blocks away with greath shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and M
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 8, 2010

Great getaway!

Everything in New York was within walking distance, it was amazing! The hotel was very friendly and immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square was 2-3 blocks away with greath shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top