$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Skyline Hotel

3 stars
725 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
182 reviews
Work Trip

Fantastic hotel. I stay here whenever I'm in town for work. See full review

  • Bart97
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great!

We stayed in a family suite, perfect size for 5, comfortable beds, clean room, staff were very... See full review

  • Blahblah
  • Jan 3, 2014
Views of Hell’s Kitchen from this comfortable Manhattan hotel
The Skyline Hotel offers comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Broadway, Times Square, Javits Convention Center and many other famous New York attractions are a short distance away. The area is also home to many television studios and movie sets. Guests relax in the seating area near the lobby, browse the Internet at the public Internet station, or use the facilities in the business center. The indoor pool looks out over the New York Skyline and provides guests with a place to wind down or refresh themselves with a work-out. The hotel restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and guests watch their favorite sports on one of the many high definition TV sets in the Sports Bar. La Guardia, JFK and Newark airports are close by.
Reasons to stay
  • Situated near Broadway and the revitalized Hells Kitchen Neighborhood
  • Features unique views of the New York skyline from the indoor pool
  • A few blocks from the Cruise Terminal
Skyline Hotel rooms
The Skyline Hotel has several types of room, all of which are newly renovated. The twin rooms, which cover 150 square feet, have two twin beds. The superior rooms are 340 square feet, with two double beds. The amenities in the superior rooms are the same as for the twin rooms. The junior suites have two queen beds, and a private parlor area with a sofa bed. The deluxe queen rooms and the executive king rooms are both 310 square feet in area. The king rooms have one king bed, while the queen rooms have two queen beds. The king and queen rooms also have ergonomic chairs. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, refrigerator, safe, free Wi-Fi access, Nintendo, voicemail, sprinkler system, and a desk.
Things to do nearby
  • Times Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.8 mi/1 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.8 mi/1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.992
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
Jone F Kennedy Airpot (JFK) LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Newark Airport (NWR)
Area description
The 231 room Skyline Hotel is located in a neighborhood known as Clinton and historically as Hells Kitchen. "West Side Story" was filmed only a few blocks down the street. This once "notorious" neighborhood has changed dramatically within the last few years. Tree lined streets; flower gardens and window boxes are seen in this once infamous rough area of docks, ship and immigrants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Skyline Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
A spacious deluxe room with one king size bed as well as a queen sized sofa bed. Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 410 square feet
Deluxe Queen Room
A spacious deluxe room with two queen beds Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 410 square feet
Junior Suite
Spacious Bedroom with two queen beds and a separate parlor with a Queen Sofa Bed. French doors separate the two rooms. Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 500 square feet
Superior Room
A comfortable room with two double beds Room features a desk, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes and refrigerators Approx 340 square feet
Twin Room
Cozy room with two twin beds Room features a desk, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes and refrigerators Approx 150 square feet

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.5 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Breakfast served 6:30am-11:00am American Cuisine in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The speaker
Business
Dallas
Jan 15, 2014

BRING YOUR EAR PLUGS

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights (Jan 11-14, 2014), that is, 3 sleepless, miserable nights. The room I was put in had all kind of annoying noise issues. First there were several people yelling on the hallways at midnight. Mind you, this hotel has very thin walls and floors. Second, the heater sounded like it was coming apart every couple of minutes, all night long. Third there was a non-stop leaking noise in the walls. Fourth, there was a barking dog next door. One of front desk staff was friendly the other was rude. They moved me to other rooms which had both the heater and wall noises. Sounds like this hotel is in urgent need of upgrading its heating system and perhaps its plumbing systems. The room and bath were ok. The first bed (twin) was completely uncomfortable. The mattress was worn out. Can't honestly recommend this hotel, unless to someone deaf or someone who does not mind annoying noises and some rude staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martinze
New York, NY
Oct 23, 2012

Skyline Hotel under construction!

The hotel is undergoing renovations. Workmen appeared outside our door early in the morning, making no attempt to keep the noise down. Staff were not helpful. Room was not clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sofia's and Sardi's

Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fran47
England
Dec 11, 2012

Appalling service from staff

I stayed at the hotel from 27th October to 1st November during Hurricane Sandy and at one point on Tuesday 30th October, due to the hurricane, my friends and I enquired about a room for an extra night if needed. However we were never informed of any charges relating to this enquiry. As soon as we found out that Newark Airport had opened on Wednesday 31st October we informed the staff on the reception that we definitely did not need a room on Thursday 1st November and that we would be checking out the following morning as originally planned. Again at this point there was no mention of any charges for our previous enquiry. One of your colleagues even booked us a taxi from the hotel to the airport for Thursday morning. When we checked out on Thursday morning again there was no mention of any additional charges. I am upset that any money has been taken out of my account, especially as none of your staff, at any point informed us of a possible charge. However when I arrived back in England I found that $289.23 had been taken out of my account. I have queried this with the hotel, who responded once, but has not responded to my 3 further emails. I am appalled at their lack of customer service and general manners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BryanR
WV
Feb 26, 2013

There's not a Skyline.

I worked in a hotel for 5 years and can't believe this hotel exists like this in Manhattan of all places. They make you pay for internet service. $20 for two days. Not good. To have two computers connected, you must pay again. My girlfriend was very disappointed with that. After I paid for the service, the service specifically sent me an email about how to print from your room and it would be ready at the front desk. So, I go to the front desk where I am told that they are unaware of the service, won't listen to what I have to say, and just keep repeating that I need to email the front desk with my file... So, what's the email address? No, write down the email address... It went on like this. The refrigerator was located in the cabinet. So, you couldn't place things inside the cabinet like clothing. The toilet seat was ripped on top with some sort of glue just plastered on top. Really? Aside from that, the hotel was located in a wonderful part of Manhattan and was cheap for the area. It was just a very disappointing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The MoMA is in the area and free on Fridays from 4pm-8pm. Definitely worth the trip.

Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Skyline Hotel Review

The hotel was not very clean and left a lot to be desired. I know that hotels are quite expensive in NYC; however, for the cost of this hotel, I expected it to be in better shape than it was. My daughter and I were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St John's NL Canada
Jun 13, 2010

Sky Line Hotel

When we booked the room we were promised a room with a view- initially we were put on the second floor with a view of a roof air conditioner - we had to complain in order to get what we ordered. I found the hotel did not reflect the hotel, and was disappointed with the state of it in general.We found the staff to be unfriendly and dismissive.The one time we went to use the pool, it the heating was off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DKCKAK
Texas
Mar 17, 2014

Disappointed

During our stay the outside weather on 3 /13 was cold. The heat in the room was out of order.. Fixed the next day. Once fixed, made the room a sauna. Maintenance could not fix it, thus had to leave window open. Couldn't sleep due to constant noise of New York (I.e. sirens, ambulances, horns honking, etc.). In room refrigerator stop working, since it was our last night I opted to just live with it being out of order. We had Jr. suite so it would have been nice to have microwave. We were on 7th flr..Ice machines on even # floors.. Overall very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Lion King Broadway Show was excellent

Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
alabama
Jul 19, 2009

would not stay again

we were 2 women traveling alone and the hotel was just far enough off the beaten path to make us uncomfortable to walk home after the theatre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avid nyc visiter
ny
Nov 1, 2011

So-So girls weekend

Ive stayed at the skyline in April and it was fine ,room was big and clean no noise from street,this last weekend was bad,room like 99 degrees I contacted the staff and noone Knew what to do???? noise was terrible had to keep the window open due to the excessive heat,(and it was snowing in nyc this weekend),I feel since i didnt book with the hotel directly that they just didn't care,also bathroom was way smaller in this room and rundown.plus side Great price on parking,girls weekend might stay again but not any special occations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a tour on the greyline bus ,its the best!!!

Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pinkladee78
New York
Nov 21, 2012

Great holiday

The hotel was small, decor was poor, carpets didn't fit! Other than that it was ok. Hotels location wasn't too bad, situated on 10th Ave in between 49th & 50th st which lead to all the places you need to visit whilst in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops are on 5th ave, all the shops you could ever imagine & more!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search