$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Skyline Hotel

3 stars
725 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
166 reviews
Work Trip

Fantastic hotel. I stay here whenever I'm in town for work. See full review

  • Bart97
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great!

We stayed in a family suite, perfect size for 5, comfortable beds, clean room, staff were very... See full review

  • Blahblah
  • Jan 3, 2014
Views of Hell’s Kitchen from this comfortable Manhattan hotel
The Skyline Hotel offers comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Broadway, Times Square, Javits Convention Center and many other famous New York attractions are a short distance away. The area is also home to many television studios and movie sets. Guests relax in the seating area near the lobby, browse the Internet at the public Internet station, or use the facilities in the business center. The indoor pool looks out over the New York Skyline and provides guests with a place to wind down or refresh themselves with a work-out. The hotel restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and guests watch their favorite sports on one of the many high definition TV sets in the Sports Bar. La Guardia, JFK and Newark airports are close by.
Reasons to stay
  • Situated near Broadway and the revitalized Hells Kitchen Neighborhood
  • Features unique views of the New York skyline from the indoor pool
  • A few blocks from the Cruise Terminal
Skyline Hotel rooms
The Skyline Hotel has several types of room, all of which are newly renovated. The twin rooms, which cover 150 square feet, have two twin beds. The superior rooms are 340 square feet, with two double beds. The amenities in the superior rooms are the same as for the twin rooms. The junior suites have two queen beds, and a private parlor area with a sofa bed. The deluxe queen rooms and the executive king rooms are both 310 square feet in area. The king rooms have one king bed, while the queen rooms have two queen beds. The king and queen rooms also have ergonomic chairs. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, refrigerator, safe, free Wi-Fi access, Nintendo, voicemail, sprinkler system, and a desk.
Things to do nearby
  • Times Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.8 mi/1 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.8 mi/1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.992
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
Jone F Kennedy Airpot (JFK) LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Newark Airport (NWR)
Area description
The 231 room Skyline Hotel is located in a neighborhood known as Clinton and historically as Hells Kitchen. "West Side Story" was filmed only a few blocks down the street. This once "notorious" neighborhood has changed dramatically within the last few years. Tree lined streets; flower gardens and window boxes are seen in this once infamous rough area of docks, ship and immigrants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Skyline Hotel Rooms

Executive King Room
A spacious deluxe room with one king size bed as well as a queen sized sofa bed. Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 410 square feet
Deluxe Queen Room
A spacious deluxe room with two queen beds Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 410 square feet
Junior Suite
Spacious Bedroom with two queen beds and a separate parlor with a Queen Sofa Bed. French doors separate the two rooms. Room features a desk and ergonomic chair, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes, refrigerators and Cali amenities Approx 500 square feet
Superior Room
A comfortable room with two double beds Room features a desk, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes and refrigerators Approx 340 square feet
Twin Room
Cozy room with two twin beds Room features a desk, on demand movies, Nintendo and WI-FI internet access. Hairdryers, iron and ironing board, in room safes and refrigerators Approx 150 square feet

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.5 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Breakfast served 6:30am-11:00am American Cuisine in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benleo
Business
Chengdu, China
Aug 6, 2011

Good location

the location is good, not far from the time square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sisters in the City
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Aug 3, 2011

Great Location

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a good size for NYC. Wish we had more time to use the hotel facilities especially the pool and fitness center. Check out the pool at night. There is a great view of the city from the pool area. There was just too much to do in the Big Apple. I loved the location of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about theater tickets at the hotel. It saves lots of time and the price was better than at the theater or on line. You may be able to get theater tickets somewhat cheaper at the half price kiosks, but you have to time it correctly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 31, 2011

More than what I expected! Perfect Spot!

So I booked the Junior Suite for my 25th birthday weekend. I read a lot of reviews and initially, I was a bit scared because I thought it would be this broke down, somewhat dingy hotel. With all that, I still booked it because it was in a great location and you can't get better in terms of the price. I went in with the idea of just having a hotel where i can sleep and shower. BUT, this hotel was wayyyy more than what I thought it would be. It was beautiful inside, my suite was huge, clean, bathroom was clean and the counter was beautiful, it was a comfortable sized bathroom. I was actually excited for my friends to see where I was staying! When they came, we were all comfortable to the point where it was hard to even leave. We had flat screen tv's, 2 queen sized beds and a queen/full sofa bed. I don't think i would even look into staying elsewhere on my next trip to NYC, i'll definitely be at Skyline again. The hotel it self made my birthday so special with all the low expectations i had, it went way above it! It was literally just 3 or 4 blocks from the heart of Times Square, so close enough but still far enough from the noise...perfect. The neighborhood was pretty chill, restaurants and bars right across the street and the next block over. The hotel staff were nice and helpful when needed. The pool was um, well....i wouldn't go for the pool, let's just say that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

About 5mins walk or less to Times Square and Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 26, 2011

NYC Real Deal

This is our 2nd stay at Skyline and I would absolutely stay there again. The room was immaculate and roomy enough for 4 of us. There's a mini-fridge which comes in handy. The view of the city skyline is great. A short walk to Times Square, the theater district and lots of eating options one street over on 9th street. Or enjoy City Lights Diner just 2 blocks up at 10th & 51st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Jul 5, 2011

OK

Overall ok. Negatives: really hot in the room, very noisy air-condition, bad breakfast deal: the buffet was empty for most of the time, very expensive, served in a basement with no windows, bad service. Do not eat breakfast at the hotel! Positives: Very clean room, which is something I value a lot! Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jun 30, 2011

Great

I really can't complain about this hotel. It was a great deal! The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was great!! The perfect size for a couple. The hotel is a short hike from most of the places you want to visit while in NYC but nothing a good pair of walking shoes and a bottle of water can't handle, and if you really can't handle that the cab fairs are cheap getting around. It was less then $10 (including tip) for us to get from this hotel to the Broadway theater we needed to get to. I could not have asked for a better first visit to NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Food Lover
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 28, 2011

Great location! Ok hotel...

This was our second trip to NYC within a couple of months. We stayed here for the first trip and decided to stay here again because of the great location and easy access to transportation. We did a lot of attractions and sight-seeing the first trip and this second trip, we mainly went to eat and escape for a bit. This hotel is great because of the location. If you get one of those all-day passes for the subway and buses, you will seriously not have to walk much. From the hotel, you can take a bus to the substations. Straight down the street from our hotel was Times Square, Rockefeller, Bryant Ave, etc. Additionally, my boyfriend was really obsessed with the pizza place across the street from this hotel so I booked it here. Our first stay was a bit more pleasant than our second stay. We went in Dec for our first trip and by May, things changed a little bit. When we got there, the water was not working. We were not informed about this and had to go through loops of management just to get a clear answer. Our room was still being cleaned when we got up after receiving our keys and this room wasn't as big as our first time there. The staff was also not as nice and welcoming this time around. Normally, when we check a bag in, it was free the first time and then we tipped the bellhop for his help. However, this time, he told us we had to pay for the check in first, which we thought was rude and weird because this should have been a complimentary service at the hotel, and has been at all hotels we stayed at and was so the first time around. I love the location because everything is near by and you do not have to walk much. but the staff was not as great, the rooms are not up to par, and I guess it's true, 'you get what you pay for."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get on M50 bus on 50th ave, you will ride up along Times Square, Rockefeller, and etc. and the substations without having to walk all the way from 7, 8, 9, and 10th avenues, which can be a long walk. If you are coming from times square, catch the m50 bus on 49th ave =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 15, 2011

Skyline Hotel Review

The hotel was not very clean and left a lot to be desired. I know that hotels are quite expensive in NYC; however, for the cost of this hotel, I expected it to be in better shape than it was. My daughter and I were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chef daddy
Business
Hightstown NJ
May 11, 2011

Skyline review

Checking in was not easy as the front desk did not have my reservation even though I produced my confirmation ticket and number. The individual who was assisting me became irate and very disrespectful. The bell hop joined in with is there a problem clearly directed towards me. They did give me a larger room but it was unnecassary as I was alone and going to bed leaving hours later. The hotel is under renovations but there was no noise in the morning. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
love me some ny
Business
bolivar, oh
Jul 7, 2010

You can get a lot more for the same $

we had two rooms side by side, the room i stayed in smelled like an engine room on a hot steamy submarine, now the other room had a very pleasant clean smell, the bathrooms have a bank of 8 120 watt lightbulbs over the mirror causing the temperature to soar into triple digits in the unventilated bathroom, wound up unscrewing 7 of them, and this fixed the problem, there was only a shower in the bathrooms which does not bother me however the wife was not happy, which in turn bothered me. the a/c does not keep up and the elevators are extremely small causing you to wait for return trips sometimes three times before you can get on. for the same money get a midtown room with better amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

oh, and do not eat in the attached restaurant, i had a continental breakfast (free at most hotels), got the bill of $16.00 and a 15% gratuity added on for me getting my own food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top