$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 725 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agneash
Business
Manchester England
Sep 6, 2012

Great Room

The room and Bathroom were spacious & very clean & comfortable. Free safe in room & also a fridge The only downside we could find was the lack of somewhere decent to get a breakfast locally (maybe we just didn't find it) tried the Amesh supermarket on 9th Ave & although what we got was quiet nice it wasn't always what we asked for but that could just be the accent and i would have liked a coffee machine in the room-but the lack of one seems to becoming standard in NYC. Very easy to get too from JFK Airport. Skytrain $5 then £2.25 subway line E all the way to 8th Ave, then 2 block walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Intrepid Sea Air & Space Museum (just head for the Hudson River 10 min walk). Has an Aircraft carrier with about 20 aircraft on it, a space shuttle, a submarine and best of all a British Airways Concord ($22 extra to go aboard but includes excellent guide) The plane that landed safely on the Husdon in was directly in front of here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GottaGoToMos
Business
Scotland
Aug 26, 2012

Family holiday in New York

Overall it was good choice for us. The room was a bit like British Travel Lodge standard, we got two good sized double beds for the 3 of us. Although there's karaoke and other entertainment in the bar we never heard it in the room (3rd floor). We chose this hotel as it was affordable, in a safe looking area, and around 20 mins walk to Times Square. It would have been better if the nearest subway was closer, as it might have saved us that walk to/fro every day....but hey ho cant have it all (unless you want to pay more). The pool was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel over a few others. The pool however was not as good as we'd hoped: We are swimmers and so it was good that it was rectangular for easy turns but it was only 40feet long, generally warm and no good for lane swimming unless you had next to noone in with you. That meant the only slot for a decent swim was 7am-8am in the morning. Also there were no changing facilities and no where to shower and shampoo afterwards, but that said it was ok to trek to/fro your room in swimwear/towel! Staff very friendly, and responsive to problems. Not that we had any problems except the air conditioning gave us one night, and we got an instant change of room. We didnt eat in the hotel (I thought the prices were a bit steep) and there a couple of good delis over the road selling fresh rolls and other goodies for breakfast. No kettle in the room, but we knew this from other peoples reviews - so take your own supplies. On the day we left the hotel, we stored our bags for $1 for each bag, which was really great. And there's a good, reliable shuttle bus regularly leaving the hotel back to the airport in Newark that cost us only $8 more than the public bus. Worth it, as it made things so much easier. The hotel is near the Intrepid Museum - we had a fab time here, well worth going. The guidebook suggested it could be missed, but I'd certainly go out of my way. The submarine was amazing - I've never been on a ship that has been kept in a state where it looks like the sailors have just left. Had a fantastic time at the New York Yankee Stadium. I've not seen live baseball before, and being here was so much better than on the telly. A bit like cricket in so far as there wasn't a lot of batting going on, but it was exciting to be there none the less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Look out for 'Hale and Hearty Soup' - there's a chain of them. The live models in Abercrombie & Fitch in 5th Avenue - - you can have your photo taken with guys and their 6 packs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Klimak
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 19, 2012

Family Holiday

Quite Hotel with larger rooms at a walking distance from Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian Food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smartwon
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 16, 2012

Clean & Effecient

We stayed here for the 2012 Ironman race. We chose this hotel due to it's location to the ferry terminals to get to the race start. It was clean, spacicious, and the staff were very nice. Did not understand pool closing in the middle of they day, but we only needed it in the morning, so that was okay. PJ Bricks was a great restaurant attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is fast & efficient! Best way to get around town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadtrip Pal
Business
Purlear, NC
Jun 23, 2012

Good Location

If you're not opposed to doing some walking, I thought that it was convenient to Rockefeller and to catch the subway. The room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was convenient to get in and out of the city. Subway was short walk away. Reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geekdavid
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 21, 2012

Good location but no Internet

Overall, this is a good hotel to stay. But no Internet connection gave me a big problem. The WiFi provider in this hotel charges WiFi service per device. I have a laptop, iPhone, iPad ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new york is great
Business
Quad cities
Jun 8, 2012

Nothing fancy

I think the hotel was at a fairly good location. Quick walk to subway and to Times Square. Rooms were good size, nice bathroom view not so good. No coffee pot, nothing fancy about the room. Having a refridge was nice. Restaurant had average food...they did have a long happy hour with good prices of five dollars for several drinks, thats cheap in NY. I have never stayed in NY so I do not have much to compare it to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loralee
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jun 4, 2012

Good vacation

Room was adequate for what we needed. Will stay some place else for next New York trip. Was disappointed in the pool, only used once and that was the reason we booked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be aware that most restaurants will add an 18% gratuity to your bill, regardless of order or party size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC 4 Fun
Business
San Dimas, California
Jun 2, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, bedding was good. Refrigerator in the room. Just missing a coffee pot but otherwise overall good. It was a good location, walking distance to Timesquare. I was very satisfied with the service and accommadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli in front of the hotel is great for breakfast and basic necessities. Reasonable price for breakfast items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad of graduate of NYU
Business
Chicago, IL
May 21, 2012

wonderfully surprised!

The rooms were bigger than any hotel we previously stayed at in New York City. The room was very clean. 10th Avenue seems to be a good place to get a cab. Overall, it was a very good experience and we would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top