$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

4 stars
811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
119 reviews
Good value hotel in NYC

Hotel is clean and comfortable with rooms that are a reasonable size for NYC. It is close to Time... See full review

  • BusinessChris
  • Oct 14, 2014
GIRLS GETAWAY

Hotel location for us was perfect! Room was good, bed was very comfortable. Lobby computer usage... See full review

  • Love4Life
  • Sep 29, 2014
The Sheraton brand is synonymous with quality and style, and the Sheraton Times Square Hotel New York takes this idea to heart. Visitors are welcomed with views overlooking the bright neon lights of Times Square, and a recent multi-million dollar renovation has brought on-site services up to a cutting-edge level. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, visitors have the option of upscale dining in the Hudson Market or a more laidback experience in the Hudson Market Burger - where steaks are served up nightly. Don't forget to enjoy drinks in the Lobby Lounge for a relaxing end to your evening in the Big Apple.
Key facts
  • 1,781 guestrooms and suites
  • Hudson Market and Hudson Market Burger
  • Fitness center with spa facilities
  • Lobby bar
  • Meeting and event spaces
  • Parking garage (charges apply)
  • Expert concierge services
Neighborhood
This hotel is THE place to stay, play, and enjoy New York. Aside from the Statue of Liberty, Times Square is one of the most popular destinations for travelers stopping in New York City. The local cuisine ensures that guests are well fed, and the shopping on 5th Avenue provides opportunities for obtaining upscale souvenirs. Be prepared to see people milling around the area at all times of the day and night -  this is New York's epicenter, after all, where the excitement of Broadway is ever-present.
Hints and tips
Be sure to book a room that overlooks Times Square for an amazing view, especially in the evening, when all the glittering signs are lit up.

A trip to New York wouldn't be complete without a Broadway show; at the Lobby Theater Desk, guests can get help gaining access to some of the top shows. Fortunately, because of the hotel's convenient location, many theaters are just a couple of steps away.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7628 -73.982
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.70, KM; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.92, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.66, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi

Dining

Hudson Market Burger
Be sure to stop by our new casual dining option for dinner, drinks, and so much more.
Hudson Market
Hudson Market offers daily buffet breakfast in a newly renovated classic setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dian LaCoste
Business
Oregon
Jul 31, 2012

save your money

Shoe box room & tiny bathroom with outdated decor. Beds were terribly uncomfortable. Extremely expensive & our room was not ready until 11:30 PM! To make up for our room not being ready they did give us a dining voucher where they serve burgers & fried foods. Huge stomach ache!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
miss. oliveira
Business
coral springs, fl
Feb 25, 2013

very unhappy with the service and treatment.

Very upset being that i paid for a room with a king size bed, and when i checked in i was given a room with one full size bed. I tried to change it for what i paid for, but there was no more room with king size bed available. I find it very disrespectful and would not recomebd to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy000001
Business
NYC
Jun 4, 2012

Poor Room Service

Our hotel room was not properly cleaned. There was dirt and dust everywhere. The trash was not taken out, our beds were not made, and none of the typical "tidy up" was done by room service. For the amount of money paid for this room, the service was unacceptable. Also, the ice machine was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dissappointedtraveller
Business
Los Angeles
May 12, 2013

Ridiculously overpriced

Usually stay at the Sheratton Times Square across the street, but Ihad always been curious about this one. It looks stunning from the outside in the pics, and thought it must have something very different. I thought it would have that special something at 380 a night, considering I have paid far less for a stay at the Waldorf and the Hudson. Not that anything in the hotel is especially bad, but for that price, I was expecting something... different. The rooms are small, not Hudson hotel small, but very small for the price being paid; they are not especially fancy either. The staff is just OK. Something weird that had never happened me at any hotel: the hotel charges you USD $10.00 for any package or mail you receive at the hotel, which I thought was outrageous. All in all, if you are looking for price/location, you can do much better. If you are looking for luxury you can also do much better. I would stay again at this place maybe for USD $200, don't spend a dollar above that amount on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracylynn
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 3, 2013

Women's Conference

Initially my encounter with staff was unpleasant because they were unfriendly, not welcoming. The luggage check-in staff that was apparently contracted out was rude. They did not return all my luggage, I found someone else's belongings in my bag and he threw my pillows on the floor at my feet. A hotel of this caliber should have coffee and tea available around the clock. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was clean, however I could forego the snack machine and would rather have a microwave and mini-frig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Diner across the street is open 24 hours and has great coffee, food, and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnEightiesGirl
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 15, 2014

Not bad, but not good

I usually try to stay in boutique hotels because they offer more of a homey feel and a personal touch, but timing dictated otherwise for this business trip. The room service (food) I ordered was fair at best. The first night I returned from being out at meetings ALL day long, I returned to my room being OPEN. Yes, the deadbolt was holding my room door open. Not safe at all. To top it off, I had left my "do not disturb" sign on the door before I left, because I am a neat, private and professional person who prefers not to have the room entered and cleaned if I'm only staying a couple days. So first, housekeeping ignored my sign. Then I can only assume they left the door open, since my room had, in fact, been cleaned when I returned. I'm lucky nothing was missing. Security came up right away to check it out, but still. Bottom line, this hotel...fine. Adequate. But for $400+ a night, even in NYC, I expect more. This was a loud, crazy, tourist trap. It's biggest assets are it's location (right in Times Square) and that fact that the staff are very sweet. Everything else isn't worth it. Oh - and the wireless didn't work hardly at all, so I'm really happy about being charged $14.95 a day to not be able to use it. UGH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren Birthday Girl
Business
Boston
Jun 25, 2012

Birthday Weekend

Great location, small room, service OK. A little pricy but you really can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TaraM
Business
Rindge NH
Aug 20, 2012

Not good

This hotel is 4 stars??? The bed smelled bad, the bathroom smelled bad. They charge extra to use the workout facility and they overcharged my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyzProdigy
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 27, 2012

Comfortable Night Stay

My overall experience was good, i only stood one night, the room was on the smaller side but everything was easily accessible and check-in/out was a breeze, the onsite parking valet was a breeze as well! No problems even despite the CLINTON INITIATIVE being held there and top nation leaders being near by and extra security. I'd go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melanie Bham
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jan 7, 2013

Great trip...no sleep

The location was fantastic and the concierge were very helpful and offered great suggestions. The room was not comfortable. My husband and I and our 20-year-old son had a room with 2 full beds, which are only slightly larger than a twin, so we did not rest well at all. Those beds just do not hold 2 adults comfortably! The staff put us off for 3 days promising a room with a king bed and sleeper, but it never happened and was a pain to keep dealing with every day. I would not stay there again unless I was guaranteed better sleeping arrangements. The room was very tiny as well, although very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benjamin's Steakhouse was fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top