$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

4 stars
View map of 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilucas
Business
Mexico
May 25, 2013

Nice Hotel. Perfect Location.

I liked the hotel but I was unlucky. The room is really nice but there´s a humidity smell. For besides, I asked the concierge 3 times for someone who could help me with a print but nobody came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guysports
Business
Hampshire, UK
May 23, 2013

Long weekend

The hotel is ideally located for mid-town Manhattan, right next to 53rd/7th Subway station on the B,C,D line and 5 mins walk from 50th/Broadway 1,2,3 line. The club room we had on the 44th floor offered a king size bed, sofa, small table, and dresser. Along with embedded LED TV. Complimentary coffee and water was included with the room, and also a safe/iron & ironing board was in the wardrobe. The onsuite bathroom was functional but could be improved with an extractor fan and higher water pressure in the shower. We paid for the club lounge access, and this was worth every penny, with complimentary breakfast, and snacks at lunchtime and teatime, with coffee, water and snack bars provided throughout day allowed us to breakfast in comfort (although the lounge was busy at the weekend) for no extra cost, beyond the upgrade. Also included was free wifi in lounge, and the provision of a passcode that allowed free wifi in your room as well. If you don't have wifi connectivity, there were also computer terminals available. The staff were friendly, approachable and helpful with information about the hotel and New York in general. Getting to and from the airport via Yellow Cab was a fixed price $52.50 + $5.33 toll (+ tip) and cabs were obtained with no problems. The journey time was about an hour. If I were to go back, would I stay at the Sheraton again, yes I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Booking the 3 day open top bus ticket for $59 allowed us to see alot of the island, while providing travelling to uptown and downtown locations with the unlimited hop-on/hop-off facility

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cupacups
Business
Wesley Chapel, FL
May 20, 2013

Great service

Friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable and pillows were great. Still under renovation so the bathroom door still needed new paint (chipping at the bottom) and the desk chair had tears in it causing the stuffing to show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cafes called Maison and Pie Face just across from the hotel - as usual, the hotel restaurant dining is way overpriced. Plenty to eat just outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinkers
Business
Edinburgh Scotland
May 20, 2013

Average

Hotel was situated in a very good location on Times Square, Initial reactions were very good, lobby was very attractive. Check in was smooth only a 5 minute wait. Our room was on floor 28 with a poor view of high rise buildings. We were not impressed with housekeeping it was very hit and miss, sometimes you received your full quota of towels, coffee, milks etc and sometimes you would receive nothing. Overall a reasonable hotel, but I have stayed in much better Shearton hotels elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try and dine away from Times Square, better quality and better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jojafan
Business
Easley, SC
May 18, 2013

Highly Recommend

Great value, location, staff and our room was immaculate. Very pleased with the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dissappointedtraveller
Business
Los Angeles
May 12, 2013

Ridiculously overpriced

Usually stay at the Sheratton Times Square across the street, but Ihad always been curious about this one. It looks stunning from the outside in the pics, and thought it must have something very different. I thought it would have that special something at 380 a night, considering I have paid far less for a stay at the Waldorf and the Hudson. Not that anything in the hotel is especially bad, but for that price, I was expecting something... different. The rooms are small, not Hudson hotel small, but very small for the price being paid; they are not especially fancy either. The staff is just OK. Something weird that had never happened me at any hotel: the hotel charges you USD $10.00 for any package or mail you receive at the hotel, which I thought was outrageous. All in all, if you are looking for price/location, you can do much better. If you are looking for luxury you can also do much better. I would stay again at this place maybe for USD $200, don't spend a dollar above that amount on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bertha
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
May 10, 2013

New York Celebration

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and could not fault it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The reception was immaculate. The rooms were spacious and exceptionally clean. It was an ideal location as the subway stop was underneath the building and the tour bus stopped a couple of blocks down. It was a leisurely 10 min wallk into the heart of Times Square. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Majestic Delicatessen" on 7th Avenue at 50th St. Serves great breakfasts and reasonable prices. Clean and well run. Try the cheesecake too! The Park Diner on 7th Avenue and 55th was good too but waiting times for tables. Heartland Brewery was excellent too - various locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn Heights Fan
Business
Chicago,IL
May 7, 2013

Reasonable hotel for location if you like the hoopla of Times Square

*Room had a funky odor *Stayed on the 34th floor; good view. *Elevators slow and crowded at prime hours of the day *Staff very courteous Reasonable hotel for first time visitors, like me. If I go back to NYC, I will stay in Brooklyn Heights and avoid the Times Square crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maineshopgirl
Business
Maine
May 6, 2013

Great location for our trip to see Wicked

We usually stay right in the center of Times Square but decided on Sheraton, a few blocks north. Location turned out to be great as it was essentially right around the corner from The Gershwin Theater where we were seeing Wicked. Being a few blocks north of Times Square also put us closer to Central Park, which was nice. Our room was a standard "king". It was smaller than what we're used to at other 4-star properties in midtown and the bed certainly wasn't a king...more likely queen. Bathroom was similarly small but both bathroom and guest room were both clean & modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lindy's Diner and the 53rd Street Deli are both right around the corner and are great casual dining choices. Azalea Ristorante (Italian) on W 51st was an excellent choice for our pre-show dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willy222
Business
NY
May 5, 2013

Very convenient and a good value.

The place is clean and convenient to Broadway if you're attending a show. Nice bar area for after show relaxing. The price is right too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top