$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

4 stars
811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
111 reviews
great locatin and great staff

The hotel is in times square area, great location, near theaters, bars and Radio City Music Hall,... See full review

  • dominican couple
  • Sep 17, 2014
Yankees/NYC trip and tours

The staff was fantastic! Beca was wonderful when checking in, when I explained to her it was our... See full review

  • Mary Ellen the traveler
  • Sep 14, 2014
The Sheraton brand is synonymous with quality and style, and the Sheraton Times Square Hotel New York takes this idea to heart. Visitors are welcomed with views overlooking the bright neon lights of Times Square, and a recent multi-million dollar renovation has brought on-site services up to a cutting-edge level. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, visitors have the option of upscale dining in the Hudson Market or a more laidback experience in the Hudson Market Burger - where steaks are served up nightly. Don't forget to enjoy drinks in the Lobby Lounge for a relaxing end to your evening in the Big Apple.
Key facts
  • 1,781 guestrooms and suites
  • Hudson Market and Hudson Market Burger
  • Fitness center with spa facilities
  • Lobby bar
  • Meeting and event spaces
  • Parking garage (charges apply)
  • Expert concierge services
Neighborhood
This hotel is THE place to stay, play, and enjoy New York. Aside from the Statue of Liberty, Times Square is one of the most popular destinations for travelers stopping in New York City. The local cuisine ensures that guests are well fed, and the shopping on 5th Avenue provides opportunities for obtaining upscale souvenirs. Be prepared to see people milling around the area at all times of the day and night -  this is New York's epicenter, after all, where the excitement of Broadway is ever-present.
Hints and tips
Be sure to book a room that overlooks Times Square for an amazing view, especially in the evening, when all the glittering signs are lit up.

A trip to New York wouldn't be complete without a Broadway show; at the Lobby Theater Desk, guests can get help gaining access to some of the top shows. Fortunately, because of the hotel's convenient location, many theaters are just a couple of steps away.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7628 -73.982
Area served
Brooklyn, Bronx, East Rutherford, Newark, Harlem, Jersey City, Long Island, Long Island City, New Brunswick, Queens, Stamford, Staten Island, Teterboro, White Plains, Westchester
Nearby airports
Newark International, (EWR), 11.75, MI; New York John F Kennedy International, (JFK), 13.29, MI; New York La Guardia, (LGA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Multilingual
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dian LaCoste
Oregon
Jul 31, 2012

save your money

Shoe box room & tiny bathroom with outdated decor. Beds were terribly uncomfortable. Extremely expensive & our room was not ready until 11:30 PM! To make up for our room not being ready they did give us a dining voucher where they serve burgers & fried foods. Huge stomach ache!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
miss. oliveira
coral springs, fl
Feb 25, 2013

very unhappy with the service and treatment.

Very upset being that i paid for a room with a king size bed, and when i checked in i was given a room with one full size bed. I tried to change it for what i paid for, but there was no more room with king size bed available. I find it very disrespectful and would not recomebd to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dissappointedtraveller
Los Angeles
May 12, 2013

Ridiculously overpriced

Usually stay at the Sheratton Times Square across the street, but Ihad always been curious about this one. It looks stunning from the outside in the pics, and thought it must have something very different. I thought it would have that special something at 380 a night, considering I have paid far less for a stay at the Waldorf and the Hudson. Not that anything in the hotel is especially bad, but for that price, I was expecting something... different. The rooms are small, not Hudson hotel small, but very small for the price being paid; they are not especially fancy either. The staff is just OK. Something weird that had never happened me at any hotel: the hotel charges you USD $10.00 for any package or mail you receive at the hotel, which I thought was outrageous. All in all, if you are looking for price/location, you can do much better. If you are looking for luxury you can also do much better. I would stay again at this place maybe for USD $200, don't spend a dollar above that amount on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracylynn
Fredericksburg, VA
Aug 3, 2013

Women's Conference

Initially my encounter with staff was unpleasant because they were unfriendly, not welcoming. The luggage check-in staff that was apparently contracted out was rude. They did not return all my luggage, I found someone else's belongings in my bag and he threw my pillows on the floor at my feet. A hotel of this caliber should have coffee and tea available around the clock. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was clean, however I could forego the snack machine and would rather have a microwave and mini-frig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Diner across the street is open 24 hours and has great coffee, food, and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy000001
Business
NYC
Jun 4, 2012

Poor Room Service

Our hotel room was not properly cleaned. There was dirt and dust everywhere. The trash was not taken out, our beds were not made, and none of the typical "tidy up" was done by room service. For the amount of money paid for this room, the service was unacceptable. Also, the ice machine was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1313
San Angelo, tx
Jan 10, 2013

No free wi-fi

The over all experience was good .. There were a lot of hidden charges that a regular hotel would not charge . I.e .. Wi-fi charge (super 8 hotel would not charge for that service ) , to hold my luggage there was a charge, to use the gym there was a charge.. Location was great but I really expected more from a Sheraton chain hotel ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

5th avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren Birthday Girl
Boston
Jun 25, 2012

Birthday Weekend

Great location, small room, service OK. A little pricy but you really can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinkers
Edinburgh Scotland
May 20, 2013

Average

Hotel was situated in a very good location on Times Square, Initial reactions were very good, lobby was very attractive. Check in was smooth only a 5 minute wait. Our room was on floor 28 with a poor view of high rise buildings. We were not impressed with housekeeping it was very hit and miss, sometimes you received your full quota of towels, coffee, milks etc and sometimes you would receive nothing. Overall a reasonable hotel, but I have stayed in much better Shearton hotels elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try and dine away from Times Square, better quality and better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melanie Bham
Birmingham, AL
Jan 7, 2013

Great trip...no sleep

The location was fantastic and the concierge were very helpful and offered great suggestions. The room was not comfortable. My husband and I and our 20-year-old son had a room with 2 full beds, which are only slightly larger than a twin, so we did not rest well at all. Those beds just do not hold 2 adults comfortably! The staff put us off for 3 days promising a room with a king bed and sleeper, but it never happened and was a pain to keep dealing with every day. I would not stay there again unless I was guaranteed better sleeping arrangements. The room was very tiny as well, although very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benjamin's Steakhouse was fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unit 14
Swanley Kent UK
Jun 17, 2014

When we arrived

First as soon as we arrived they said we don't seem to have that room available, do you want to upgrade. No, so they eventually found a room on level 6, the room was dark as we were close to an office building. The 4 No lifts were very slow arriving either at the ground level or 6th level. When our flight was cancelled by BA, they organised an additional night stay (obviously at a cost) it was sorted with ease. Its position in New York Times Sq was good and for that reason only I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Georgio's Grill on 53rd St 9th Avenue. If you are offered any deal keep saying NO until the price comes down or the deal gets better. We got 4 days on the Greyline tour bus for the price of two, and a reduction on the Ellis Island Statue of Liberty trip. Possibly avoid Comedy Central you can get the ticket price down but have to buy 2 drinks each at the venue, they are not cheap. It is also not in the best of areas for late night walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search