$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sanctuary Hotel New York

4 stars
132 West 47 Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
68 reviews
Destination wedding

Far exceeded our expectations. The staff from top to bottom was so kind and helpful to our entire... See full review

  • DrHamilton
  • Feb 26, 2014
Lovely hotel in a great location

Lovely hotel, very comfortable beds. Great location. See full review

  • Cambridge family
  • Feb 21, 2014
Sanctuary Hotel brings an authentic Manhattan lifestyle hotel experience and European inspired hospitality to New York City. Situated in the heart of midtown and steps away from major tourist attractions as well as business corporations, we are pleased to offer 111 luxurious guest rooms as well as a unique rooftop Bar and Lounge. The S.T.A.R. Experience (Service Tailored to Any Request) runs on a simple, straightforward principle; our staff will do anything and everything to ensure the best possible experience for guests of the Sanctuary Hotel New York. We have dedicated S.T.A.R. Experience Managers who will go out of their way to make sure that our guests have an unparalleled experience. A leading Manhattan lifestyle hotel that offers personalized service and luxury at-home amenities that provide more than a restful night's sleep, but a New York City sanctuary of your very own. Preview our well-appointed guest rooms while immersing yourself in imported European linens, over-sized leather headboards and leater-printed wall tiles, peek-a-boo glass showers with rainfall fixtures and eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Adding to the glamour and sophisticated design are crystal chandeliers, Evolve Energy lighting system, HD TV's, and blue-tooth enabled iHome stereo systems that support iPod, iPhone and iPads. We also offer complimentary amenities such as: - Continental-style breakfast buffet - Wireless Internet access - Passes to Equinox gym The hotel has no smoking policy and is pet friendly (non refundable fee required).

Sanctuary Hotel New York Rooms

Superior - Queen
The starting room category, Sanctuary Superior Queen guest rooms feature 1 Queen size bed, imported European linens and a spacious glass enclosed spa shower featuring rain shower fixtures and organic bath amenities from 99-Sixty. Each rooms offers HD flat screen televisions complete with premium movie, sports and news programming. Bluetooth enabled iHome stereo systems support iPod and iPad technology and complimentary WiFi Internet is accessible throughout the hotel. (220sqf).
Deluxe - Queen
Sanctuary Deluxe Queen guest rooms feature 1 Queen size bed, imported European linens and a spacious glass enclosed spa shower featuring rain shower fixtures and organic, eco-friendly bath amenities from 99-Sixty. Each rooms offers HD flat screen televisions complete with premium on-command movies, sports and news programming. Bluetooth enabled iHome stereo systems support iPod and iPad technology and complimentary WiFi Internet is accessible throughout the hotel. (230sqf).
Deluxe - King
Sanctuary Deluxe King Room featuring 1 King size bed complete with imported European linens and bedding. Glass enclosed spa showers feature rain shower fixtures and organic bath amenities from 99-Sixty. All Deluxe guest rooms offer 47" HD flat screen televisions complete with premium on-command movies, sports and news programming. Bluetooth enabled iHome stereo systems support iPod and iPad technology and complimentary WiFi Internet is accessible throughout the hotel. (250sqf).

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7585 -73.9832
Area served
Sanctuary Hotel is located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from Broadway and Rockefeller Center.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) - 18 miles, LaGuardia Airport (LGA) - 10 miles, Newark International Airport (EWR) - 17 miles.
Area description
Located on 47th between Sixth Avenue and Seventh Avenue, Sanctuary Hotel is centrally located in NYC's Theater District with a short walk to all Broadway theaters, restaurants, nightlife and attractions. Guests of Sanctuary Hotel can easily walk to New York's premier shopping along 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, the Chrysler Building and the Empire State Building in addition to all major transportation hubs such as Grand Central Terminal, Penn Station and Port Authority.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities and special event space such as the Rooftop Lounge, Restaurant and Lobby Bar will be coming soon! Check back for more details.

Dining

Tender Restaurant
Coming Soon, Sanctuary Hotel will unveil a new lobby restaurant: Tender Restaurant.
Foxhole Lounge
Coming Soon, Sanctuary hotel will unveil a new lobby bar and lounge: Foxhole.
Haven Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
Nestled in the heart of Manhattan HAVEN cocktail lounge & restaurant offers a welcome retreat from the hectic streets below. The restaurant features an innovative cocktail menu using fresh juices & garnishes to quench your thirst. Chef Madison Belem (formerly of Le Bilboquet) has created a French-inspired menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CindyO
Sydney
Jul 4, 2014

Great if you like to be in the middle of action

We were greeted by a great doorman and the reception. They were very friendly, welcoming, energetic despite of it being 9pm. The first impression was really good! Their decor is very swanky ...very NY. Our room was tiny compared to what we r used to but it has everything we needed. After all...this is NYC. We loved the modern leather like tiles in the shower and seamless glass. Clever design. Our bedsheet had some stain...but we disnt complain as we were too tired! The next day it was changed. Three course Lunch at the roof top bar was superb! The chicken I had was so tender and creme brule was very nice. The coffee though was not cappucino and more like late'. We didn't complain as we do not expect much from American coffee. Location is a block from time square!! If u want to be around really busy busy area and where shops closed at 2 am, this is the place for you. However, we couldnt hear anything in our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trebman
Leesburg,va
Jun 28, 2014

low fewquency noise

I will not stay here again. There was a intermittent low frequency noise that was so loud - it woke me up 3 times. The bed sloped to the center of the room - I was sleeping on an incline. The hallways were so narrow - only one could pass at a time. i asked for a queen bed - got two twins. I arrived at 3.:30 and my room was not ready - I had to wait. This hotel was mis-rated.............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek25001
Toronto
Jun 23, 2014

Lovely - but TINY room

Generally great - but at $370/night (more or less) I would have expected a great hotel. The room was lovely but no room to move. Bed linen was clean and fresh but the comforter (inside a clean cover) smelled a bit funky. I almost complained - but I had better things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusyBusiness
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2014

Fine Stay

This hotel was conveniently located in the heart of NYC. Room was very small, but accommodations were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrHamilton
Florida
Feb 26, 2014

Destination wedding

Far exceeded our expectations. The staff from top to bottom was so kind and helpful to our entire party. They took time to make us feel so special from a free room upgrade, a premo dinner reservation 2 nights in a row, a bottle of complementary champagne and chocolates and even a tabletop firework and the wedding March played at Haven. I will stay there again. We were all blown away by the personal and very special treatment we received. Thank you. It was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cambridge family
Uk
Feb 21, 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location

Lovely hotel, very comfortable beds. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankolo
Miami FL
Feb 19, 2014

Fantastic getaway

Was perfect for a couple visiting New York for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheshire traveller
Cheshire UK
Jan 31, 2014

A very nice hotel with excellent staff

We stayed at the Sanctuary for 4 nights and enjoyed it. The service was excellent and all of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was included and was perfectly adequate. The rooms aren't huge but this is Times Square. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mcgee
Middlesbrough england
Jan 29, 2014

Best hotel in NYC

I WILL Be returning to the sanctuary on my next trip to NYC. It was our first time in NYC but everyone in the hotel give us tips an told us places to eat. Hotel was about 1 minute walk from Times Square. So close to everything it was untrue. Please visit this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like pizzas then I'd stop off at johns pizza just off broadway. STUNNING

Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30 something gal
Canada
Jan 3, 2014

Super close to Times Square and friendly staff

I stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for 4 nights in December 2013. Considering the location of the hotel and the amenities provided, I thought it was well worth the price. I am Canadian and I thought that the staff were unbelievably friendly. The cleaning lady for my room was also very sweet and personable. The room and the hotel was impeccably kept. The rooftop bar offers great views of the city. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The pastrami on rye at Katz Deli is beyond words.

Back to menu Return to top