Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

4 stars
Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue, at W. 48th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
50 reviews
Great weekend getaway

This hotel is located in the heart of Times Square. The staff was extrememly helpful and the rooms... See full review

  • Darcy K.
  • May 12, 2014
Great Place to Stay

This hotel was fantastic! The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was very convenient... See full review

  • Economical Traveller
  • Apr 7, 2014
Discover the convenient location and luxury at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel and rethink everything you know about staying in Times Square, New York. Rising 26 stories above Times Square, this full-service hotel has the soul of a boutique hotel with beautifully crafted interiors by renowned designer Jordan Mozer. Distinct among hotels in New York, we feature completely redesigned guest rooms with hardwood furniture, luxurious bathrooms and state-of-the-art technology. Only steps away from Midtown's famed entertainment, attractions and Fortune 500 headquarters, this hotel provides four intimate meeting spaces for private events that sets us apart from other Times Square hotels. Guests can enjoy cocktails or a snack at R Lounge, our on-site restaurant and lounge, before venturing out to Rockefeller Center or the Theater District. With a AAA Four-Diamond rating and a prime location on Broadway and Seventh, this luxury hotel is the epitome of urban oasis.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

40.7597 -73.9845
Area served
Manhattan
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 11.00, MI, SW; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Duffy Square: 0 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

R Lounge at Two Times Square
A grand location, spectacular views, "Blue Ribbon Classics" and specialty cocktails make R Lounge one of the most electrifying bars in Times Square. An inspired destination, the lounge features fare crafted by famed Chefs Bruce & Eric Bromberg.
VIVID Lounge
Delicious breakfast items are served from a buffet or traditional a la carte menu featuring classic favorites for a hearty jump start to any day. Located in the hotel's main lobby, breakfast is served daily from 6:30 to 11 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michelle Mama
California
Aug 9, 2010

fooled!!

Was ok with the location but the hotel was dirty. Not a clean freak but the beds were unmade when we checked in and I asked for another room and they denied my request and sent room service to make the beds. The carpet was filthy and I had wear shoes the entire time. I wanted to get my money back and go somewhere else but the Manager denied my request. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michelle Mama
California
Aug 9, 2010

fooled!!

Was ok with the location but the hotel was dirty. Not a clean freak but the beds were unmade when we checked in and I asked for another room and they denied my request and sent room service to make the beds. The carpet was filthy and I had wear shoes the entire time. I wanted to get my money back and go somewhere else but the Manager denied my request. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momiiof2
Ohio, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good location, not a lot of amenities

Our room was nice, but not a lot of amenities no mini fridge, just mini bar which only crazy people use. Also bathroom did not have a fan so steam makes the room humid. Good for the amount of money I had to spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the heart of times square but if you are looking for amenities select another hotel.

Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2nd city to NY
Chicago, IL
Oct 12, 2009

Girls NY Trip

First girls trip with my Mom and Sister. Location was excellent, centrally located to everything. In the middle of Times Square, yet you would never know it unless you opened the blinds. Extremely clean, updated amentities and friendly staff. Bar was stylish enought that it was fun to stop in and have a drink before hitting the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fabulous Pizza at Posto. Completely out of the way, absolutely worth it.

Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Dec 27, 2011

Great Stay in NYC

The Renaissance Hotel staff and crew is first class. The location is excellent, right in the heart of Times Square. The internet isn't free in the rooms, but you can go to the lobby if you need it. Overall, this was a great place to stay and take in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a good subway map if you're looking to travel for a low price.

Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

Ny one nite

Great location for a tourist visit to NY. In the middle of theater district. Discount ticket booth directly across the street. Double decker tour bus stops in front of hotel. The tour bus is great for 1st time visitors. See all the highlights of the city and tour guides on bus are really good. On and off worked out well. Room was the ususal small as you get in NY. Picked this hotel because of 2 double beds, but when we checked in there were none available. King was very comfortable and worked out fine. Room was modern, clean. We go there at 10AM on Saturday morning and the room with king was available immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom with three teenagers and a child
West Hartford, CT
Apr 24, 2010

Beautiful room in fantastic location

The Renaissance was absolutely beautiful! The lobby is lovely (upstairs) and the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The sheets and the pillows were as good as home's (ultra soft, extra white, super clean). The view of Broadway was spectacular. The bathroom is modern and well lit, with a vessel sink and all the supplies a traveler wishes for. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous dinner at a Brazilian restaurant called Emporium on 46th (Little Brazil). We all loved it, from appetizer to dessert.Also the teenagers enjoyed Tim Burton's exhibit at the MOMA and King Tut's at the Discovery Exhibition Center. All three were a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

Ny one nite

Great location for a tourist visit to NY. In the middle of theater district. Discount ticket booth directly across the street. Double decker tour bus stops in front of hotel. The tour bus is great for 1st time visitors. See all the highlights of the city and tour guides on bus are really good. On and off worked out well. Room was the ususal small as you get in NY. Picked this hotel because of 2 double beds, but when we checked in there were none available. King was very comfortable and worked out fine. Room was modern, clean. We go there at 10AM on Saturday morning and the room with king was available immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bemineni
Houston, Texas
Jul 7, 2012

Praisy Parking.

If you are dreaming to stay right at the center of the worlds most popular city. Then this is the hotel to stay. As soon as you come out of the hotel and few steps from there you will at the center of the times square surrounded by so many digital bill boards. I would definitely recommend this hotel to experience the best of new york. Most of the places in new york are either walkable distance or 10$ away if you are taking the famous new york yellow cabs. The one big mistake i made is I took a rented car which turned to be a 58$ per day curse on my pocket. The hotel charges really a lot for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are a company of three or more then I would recommend taking the cabs instead of the metro's

Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THM33
Dallas, TX
Jan 19, 2010

Location, Location, Location

My daughter picked the hotel. It was great. We could walk to every place we wanted to go to. Neither of us however liked the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top