$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Pod 51 Hotel

3 stars
View map of 230 East 51st Street, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
161 reviews
great location and very affordable

Only there a few daysbut location was great and room was cozy See full review

  • Julie h
  • Apr 17, 2015
Friend trip

Really good Experience, you get what you paid for. Clean friendly good location! See full review

  • Kellsie H.
  • Apr 9, 2015
The hip, affordable and trendy Pod Hotel offers convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Pod 51 Hotel, is the original Pod located in the heart of Manhattans Midtown East. Pod Hotels are New Yorks number one choice to visit New York City on a budget.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pod 51 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Pod 51 Hotel Rooms

ECONOMY - ROOM
Economy Room offers two bunk beds with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 2 bunked twin beds, each with its own reading light and 10-inch LCD TV with headphones. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.
DOUBLE - ROOM
Double Room offers one double size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 100 square feet, this guestroom has 1 double bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
QUEEN - ROOM
Queen Room offers one queen size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 125 square feet, this guestroom has 1 queen bed and a 20-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 1 single bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • International Building: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.6 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pod 51 Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 161
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer T.
Business
carrollton
Apr 22, 2015

Two night stay with SO

We booked this hotel because I had reward money and I couldn't complain for the price! Our room was very small and cramped. We are college students so it reminded us of our freshman years. So if you don't mind being cramped then it's a great deal, especially for those who are trying to save money! It didn't bother us much since we were always gone anyways! Showers are communal as well. Overall you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coley1967
Business
Columbus
Apr 15, 2015

Great trip

Great location especially for the price. We would recommend and will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pw6281
Business
Northfield
Mar 26, 2015

Good location

Booked this hotel during a weekend in the city around the holidays. The location was easily accessible by the subway which made for easy transportation around the city. The room is very small but was aware of this when booking the hotel. We stayed in a private room with a double bed. The room was clean but there is not much space if you are bringing luggage or spending a prolonged period of time there. However for one night there was ample space. There was no way to adjust the heat so had to sleep with the windows open. Did not feel secure doing this. Later came to realize the windows did not lock at all and there was the hotel entrance/canopy directly below us (1 story) which made me quite concerned about accessibility to our room with no locks on the windows. The radiators were VERY loud at night there room was very modern but heating system seemed to old cast iron heaters. There was a loud banging noise that came on and off throughout the night from the heater which was very disruptive to sleep. Not sure if this was just our room or happens in all the different rooms as I believe the heating system is the same throughout the hotel. There is no ice offered at this hotel, so do not plan on having this. When asking about ice, I was told I could purchase some from their coffee bar if I would like. The hotel was very good about check in we had stayed at another hotel lower in Manhattan the night before and came to this hotel around 9am to drop off belongings they will hold your luggage/belongings before you can check in and also after check out. The room was available, so even though check in was not technically until 3PM we were able to have access to the room at 9AM with no additional charge. Check out was also very easy. You get what you pay for -not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia P.
Business
N/A
Feb 25, 2015

Good hotel for the money!

I really like the hotel as far and the guest, cafe, and the employees. The room was clean, it's was just really small and took about an hour to ajust to. The shared bathrooms weren't bad, but I would still choose to have one in my room next time. Overall I have a great experience at this hotel and I would stay again! It's super close to the subway and only takes about 5 minutes to Times Square via subway. Also only a couple blocks down from 5th Ave, which is where I spent most of my time! I enjoyed my stay! Oh, and the breakfast is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean T.
Business
Kalamazoo
Jan 19, 2015

Exactly what we expected

The pod hotels are small. We saw a lot of complaints about the size. Don't expect a big room and you won't be disappointed. They do a great job with trying to provide storage space and a little room to move. At about 100sqft there isn't much though. We expected this and were very satisfied with the room. This hotel is very reasonable priced for its location and you could do a lot worse. So with a great staff and clean and comfortable rooms I can say that I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep in mind that I don't travel to stay in the hotel room. I use a hotel for sleeping and washing. Nothing more. If you enjoy lounging around in a hotel room instead of being out seeing the sights ID recommend a more upscale hotel with bigger room and much bigger prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tao L.
Business
Monrovia
Jan 19, 2015

Tiny hotel

The room we stayed was very warm. There's no control of A/C or heat. It's very small but clean. The bathroom is modern and very cute. The wash sink is by the bed and is like the ones on airplane. Our room was noisy at night cause there's a club nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edjan
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Nice for a single person

Small but well designed and big enough a one person- nice cafe downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Guy 87
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 5, 2014

Weekend Gataway

It was a good experience and great room for the price. Small is small but you got everything you needed. I wish the bathroom was a little bigger but for this price in the middle of NYC, you cannot beat that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sassysher
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 1, 2014

This is a great hotel for NYC

While the rooms are small they are everything you need because why would you go to NYC if you wanted to stay in your room. The staff is friendly and it is in walking distance from all sorts of stuff. There is also just across the street an awesome hidden waterfall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Grannie
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 15, 2014

Nice trip to New York

The hotel is in a great location. It's more for younger people. Room very small-hardly any room to walk around the bed. Bathroom extremely small. No washcloths provided. No remote for TV-we had to ask for one. Nice lobby area and eating choices at hotel. It was very noisy for us...you could hear people talking in rooms, toilets flushing, showers, street noises also. Staff very nice. We felt it was expensive for the bare minimum amenities and space. Not a place for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top