$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Pod 51 Hotel

3 stars
View map of 230 East 51st Street, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
174 reviews
Continue education trip

Small room, very clean, in a very good location. I would recommend to anyone. See full review

  • Maria del R. S.
  • Jul 1, 2015
Good one night expirience

Needed a place to stay for one night. The room was pretty small, but it's New York, so if you want... See full review

  • Konstantin V.
  • Jul 1, 2015
The hip, affordable and trendy Pod Hotel offers convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Pod 51 Hotel, is the original Pod located in the heart of Manhattans Midtown East. Pod Hotels are New Yorks number one choice to visit New York City on a budget.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pod 51 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Pod 51 Hotel Rooms

ECONOMY - ROOM
Economy Room offers two bunk beds with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 2 bunked twin beds, each with its own reading light and 10-inch LCD TV with headphones. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.
DOUBLE - ROOM
Double Room offers one double size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 100 square feet, this guestroom has 1 double bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
QUEEN - ROOM
Queen Room offers one queen size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 125 square feet, this guestroom has 1 queen bed and a 20-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 1 single bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • International Building: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.6 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pod 51 Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MOCKYPOOH
Business
New York City
Jul 31, 2014

An Upscale School Dormitory

I've stayed here a few times. It reminds me of school dormitories. But upscaled. The rooms have everything that a student needs. A bed, a desk, a TV, a stereo, and a sink for small washings. Shared bathrooms. To be really honest, the property could be a medical clinic. For people who need to be away from all the hustle and bustle of city life. Yet, a closed community by itself that provides care. At the same time, it's great for overseas summer abroad, semester abroad students. As an entire group (monitored), taking an entire level of rooms. Which gets to experience NYC with an educational program along with it. Don't know what the hotel management/owner is doing though. First updating the next door outlet to a bar and now renovation of the hotel lobby completely when it was perfectly inviting and promotes community/sharing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ravi Teja B.
Business
Norman
Jun 16, 2015

Okay

Felt very uncomfortable, have to cancel my reservation and reserve new hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never going here again...
Business
Massachusettes
Jan 13, 2014

Not what I expected

Reviews of this hotel raved about its cleanliness and amazing staff.. But I found something far different. So the room is extremely small... But for $100 a night in Manhattan it's understandable. The room was not exceptionally clean. There was dirt smeared on one wall and some sort of brown fluid splattered on the back of the room door. Our toilet wouldn't flush and we had to wait thirty minutes for a maintenance man to come and then another ten minutes for him to go back and get the proper equipment. We sat there wasting our night waiting for this maintenance man. While the maintenance man was very nice and helpful, the rest of the staff really weren't. Our television didn't work, the cable was fuzzy and kept cutting in and out, so we went downstairs to the restaurant/bar to grab some soda and watch the football game down there for minute. The waitress at the pub brought us our drinks and never came back to check on us, offer refills, or offer us the check. She looked right at us, refilled the drinks of the man next to us, and never said a word to us. When my boyfriend finally walked over to her and asked for the check, she charged me double the advertised price for a tiny cup of coffee. Later on in the night we were awoken twice by people's blaring televisions and loud talking right in the hallway. This was not a case of thin walls, people were actually sitting In the hallways on chairs drunkenly (loudly) talking. When we called the front desk, the man said they do have a quiet policy but he never sent anyone up to handle the situation as promised. My boyfriend had to get out of bed at 3 am get dressed and shush the people in the hallway. Unfortunately, the people never stopped talking so we were left to try and sleep through it. While I understand it wasn't the hotels fault that drunken people decided to sit in the hall, the hotel should have come upstairs as promised to handle the situation. When we left, we stored our things in the free storage for the rest of the day as our bus wasn't leaving until that night. The bell hops were plain rude. The wall plug didn't work, they didn't give us wash cloths, it was just not a pleasant experience in the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bostonightgirl
Business
NYC
Feb 3, 2014

Good place

The room was really tight, almost felt like I was in a closet, But a comfortable closet. The place in general is wicked nice and affordable, nice location and staff. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mad Men
Business
Kansas City
Jun 16, 2013

Something different

The hotel was nothing overly fancy. Close enough to the sites and subways that getting around wasn't much of an issue. Indoor pool or gym for walking when it rains would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PA for customers
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 8, 2013

worst service

I booked the hotel for my customers for their stay in NY. One thing they asked if it is common for the front desk to refuse call taxi for them. I was shocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Absolutely1
Business
Texas
Jul 13, 2014

How Much Are You Willing To Do To Save Some $$$?

If you get the cheapest room, you also share a bathroom down the hall. The rooms are tiny but clean and well-maintained. The room has a sink and mirror, so you can do a lot of the "bathroom stuff" like brushing your teeth and cleaning your contacts in the room. All you really need the shared bathrooms for are the commode and the shower. It sounds gross, but the bathrooms were clean and guests were considerate. There are no ice machines, and you have to go to the kitchen for ice (open 6 a.m.-10 p.m.). Other small things like this make the hotel definitely no frills. That said, I kept thinking "never again." If you have to get up in the middle of the night, you then have to walk down the hall -- and don't forget your room key! I was willing to give it a try on a friend's recommendation, but I wouldn't do it again, even if the $150/night was ridiculously cheap by Manhattan standards. I'd rather pay more, but others might be fine with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small park across the street on 53rd with a huge waterfall and lots of seating areas. It's incredibly peaceful and you forget you're in the middle of the city.

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaundicedFerret
Business
Arlington, VA, USA
Aug 31, 2014

You get what you pay for

For the area, this place is really cheap, and is basically in between a hostel and a normal hotel. I got a private room without my own bathroom, although it did have a sink. The room was super small, no desk or chair or anything, just a bed, small sink, and a TV in the wall that only partially worked (remote control worked about 50% of the time, the engineer came by with a box of 5 of them and none of them worked even with new batteries, but eventually it started working occasionally). There is a strong perfume smell in the lobby, super slow elevators, and slow wireless, but the bed was comfortable, the A/C worked more or less (full blast or off only, but it cooled the room), and the room was quiet. Next time I'm in town I'll look for somewhere else to stay, but this was OK in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ravi Teja B.
Business
Norman
Jun 16, 2015

ok

Very uncomfortable rooms. have to shift to new hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArcticMonkey
Business
Pasadena, California
Feb 11, 2014

NYC Getaway

With a beautiful bar and cafe inside the hotel, the room itself lacks something. A private bathroom was a must for us, pay a little extra. Overall i would stay here again, decent location to where you can get to where you need to go with an easy subway transfer. Brooklyn was our city of choice. For our first time visiting the city it was a memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top