Pod 51 Hotel

3 stars
View map of 230 East 51st Street, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
160 reviews
Continue education trip

Small room, very clean, in a very good location. I would recommend to anyone. See full review

  • Maria del R. S.
  • Jul 1, 2015
Good one night expirience

Needed a place to stay for one night. The room was pretty small, but it's New York, so if you want... See full review

  • Konstantin V.
  • Jul 1, 2015
The hip, affordable and trendy Pod Hotel offers convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Pod 51 Hotel, is the original Pod located in the heart of Manhattans Midtown East. Pod Hotels are New Yorks number one choice to visit New York City on a budget.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pod 51 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Pod 51 Hotel Rooms

ECONOMY - ROOM
Economy Room offers two bunk beds with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 2 bunked twin beds, each with its own reading light and 10-inch LCD TV with headphones. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.
DOUBLE - ROOM
Double Room offers one double size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 100 square feet, this guestroom has 1 double bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
QUEEN - ROOM
Queen Room offers one queen size bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 125 square feet, this guestroom has 1 queen bed and a 20-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The private glass-enclosed bathroom has a rainfall shower-head and a stainless steel sink. Non-smoking.
SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities. Measuring approximately 90 square feet, this guestroom has 1 single bed and a 15-inch LCD TV. The clock radio has an iPod dock, and wireless Internet access is complimentary. The room has a stainless steel sink, and guests have access to multiple shared bathrooms with granite and marble interiors, streaming music, and showers with rainfall shower-heads and water jets. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.4 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.5 mi
  • International Building: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.6 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pod 51 Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Green
Business
Bromsgrove England
Feb 21, 2014

Fantastic location.

Great trendy hotel right in midtown Manhattan . Perfect location for sight seeing , either walking or jumping on the subway which is on the same street. Clean, comfortable and warm !( snowing & -8 while we were there!) Will deffinatley stop here again on our next visit - too much to see & do to get everything done our first visit to NYC. Great bars & places to eat near by also. We just wanted somewhere clean & comfortable to sleep as we were out all day visiting places & out at night visiting bars. This was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smith a bar just around the corner a great place to eat & drink.

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aspiring Actress
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Mar 10, 2014

Short visit

This hotel was amazing!! Comfortable rooms and customer service. The room was little hot as you cannot adjust the air but crack open a window and you are golden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whatever2
Business
Philadelphia, Pa.
Mar 19, 2014

good hotel

The Pod 51 is a terrific hotel, but I do wish they would supply wash cloths. Other than that, near perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeorgeTraveller
Business
New Orleans
Apr 18, 2013

Love staying here would always like to return

Great location well located near many bus lines, lots of good restaurants and the area is quiet as compared to some areas of New York. I always enjoy staying there. Staff are quite nice, rooms are clean and QUIET. Bell staff, esp. Luis, are quite friendly and helpful also. I recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PAX on the corner has great sandwiches and bagels and friendly staff!

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hazza
Business
West Springfield, Virginia
Jun 24, 2013

Great for the single guy

I'm from Australia and did not have high expectations. I was so happy with everything at the hotel. The double bed was huge, the air-conditioner so effective that I had to turn it down, the basin in the room was a great idea for cleaning teeth, the security safe was large enough for my notebook computer and all my valuables, TV large enough for the compact room, I was concerned about a "shared bathroom" but it was just across the hall and always available. The bathroom was for one person at a time. One toilet,one basin and one shower. It was ultra modern with waist high nozzles, a huge over- head shower, water-proof light and piped music. it has a roof top table and chairs above the 14th floor plus a side outdoor area for breakfast and snacks. There are 3 elevators which were slow and occassionally stopped on 4th floor for no reason. A service was required. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very trendy hotel, bright modern colours close to the cheap extensive subway system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It is essential to learn the subway system. Saves a lot of walking. It is simple to use.

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bramalea Rocks
Business
Brampton, Ontario Canada
Jun 17, 2013

Great Girls Weekend Away!

The rooms are small and compact, no doubt about it, so knowing this going in, the room was perfect! It was clean and fresh and how much time do you really spend in your room anyway? I would definitely stay at Pod 51 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucyloo
Business
Pod51, NYC
Sep 3, 2013

New York Trip with the Girls

I stayed by myself. My travel companions were in an apartment 3 blocks away. Most important, I felt safe, everything I needed was provided, cute room with all the basics needed including a blow dryer. Rooms are small but compact with great storage. I chose a double room so I did not have to share a bath. I loved the Roof Top! The hotel serves drinks and food with inside and outside seating. Very nice. The location seemed safe, always people around, lots of activity, several restaurants, deli's, bakeries, bars in the neighborhood. My friends and I felt very comfortable walking back and forth to visit one another. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S D Campbell
Business
California
Nov 12, 2013

Perfect

Exactly as described. Will be a frequent guest at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zanderson
Business
Nashville, Tennessee
Dec 11, 2013

Have the right expectations

As long as you go in with the right expectations, this hotel is a fantastic place to stay. I came to New York for a girl's trip with my best friend, and we stayed in one of the bunk-bed rooms without a private bathroom. Here's what you can expect if you're going into a similar situation: -The hotel is located in a safe place walking distance from Times Square. I never worried about my safety while walking to or from there. -The room is TINY. My friend and I couldn't even walk past each other without turns. I cannot stress how small the room is. There are some walk-in closets that are larger than this room. As long as you go in expecting a closet, you won't be disappointed. That said, we were never uncomfortable in there. The beds are comfortable and we didn't ever feel too crowded. -The other reviews are true - this hotel keeps their rooms, lobby, and especially bathrooms exceptionally clean. This made sharing bathrooms with the other guests as convenient and pleasurable as it possibly could. -My only complaint would be that the housekeeping crew came through to clean the rooms starting at 8:45AM, which was around when my friend and I were waking up. If we didn't have our "Do Not Disturb" out, they would knock on our door and wake us up. Other than that though, the staff was very friendly. It's a great place to stay, if you go in expecting the room to be tiny but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ice Skating in Rockefeller Center! Such a blast and worth the price.

Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swhelan
Business
Ireland
Dec 13, 2013

great pre-Christmas break

The four/five star reviews of this hotel on various travel advisory sites are very much justified as it most definitely lives up to its description and more considering it is a budget hotel. It is situated right in the middle of everything and just a short ten minute walk from fifth Avenue and the Rockefeller centre. We stayed in a bunk bed room which was small but very adequate for our needs. The beds were extremely comfortable and each had its own tv which was lovely. The shared bathrooms were beautifully clean with rainfall showers and we never had to wait to use one while there and we stayed for a week. Staff were always helpful and they run a very convenient shuttle service to all airports every hour. They also provide a free left luggage on check out day which makes life so much easier. I would most definitely return to this hotel without hesitation. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fab diner for great breakfast around the corner from hotel called morning star. Great blueberry pancakes will fill you up for the day!

Back to menu Return to top