$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 26, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Pod 39 Hotel

3 stars
145 East 39th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
176 reviews
Great hotel

This hotel is great! Nice, modern and really well located See full review

  • Rafael S.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Simple, Convenient Stay at the Pod

The Pod 39 is a nice, simply hotel for quick stays in NYC. I stay here regularly for business as I... See full review

  • Nick W.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Pod 39 offers a hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Manhattan and is the best value for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that's designed to maximize your comfort and your living space.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pod 39 Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Pod 39 Hotel Rooms

Double Pod
The Double Pod offers one double bed. Its comfy full sized bed sleeps up to two people and offers a sleek workspace with a dimmer control light system that give you a place to think and write, while a flat panel LCD TV and free Wi-Fi offer a number of ways to relax. The cleverly in-built storage drawers for your personal effects and an open closet keep larger items out of the way and a glass enclosed private bathroom features a luxurious rain-head shower and environmentally conscious and organic Red Flower bath products. Each room contains an in-room safe for your valuables.
Single Pod
Single Pods offer one twin bed. Perfect for singles on the go, the room includes a comfy twin bed, an open closet and a sleek workspace with a dimmer control light system give you a place to think and write. The flat panel LCD TV and free Wi-Fi offer a number of ways to relax, while the in-room safe eases your mind and keeps your valuable secure. A glass enclosed private bathroom features a luxurious rain-head shower and environmentally conscious and organic Red Flower bath products.
Queen Pod
Our Queen Pods offers one queen bed. It is one of the most spacious options for two. Its smartly outfitted queen bed features in-built storage drawers for your personal effects, an open closet to hold larger items and an in-room safe for your valuables. A comfortable workspace and dimmer control light system give you a place to think and write, while a flat panel LCD TV and free Wi-Fi offer a number of ways to relax. The glass enclosed private bathroom includes a luxurious rain-head shower and environmentally conscious and organic Red Flower bath products.
Mini Bunk Pod
The Mini Bunk Pod offers two twin beds. These budget friendly Bunk Pods features two cleverly bunked twin beds, each of which includes a personal reading light and a 10 LCD TV. The free Wi-Fi and dimmer control light system offer further relaxation. An open closet and in-room safe keeps your personal effects out of the way and secure. A glass enclosed private bathroom features a luxurious rain-head shower and environmentally conscious and organic Red Flower bath products.
Bunk Pod
Measuring 85 square feet (8 square meters), this room overlooks the city or courtyard. Settle onto the pillowtop bed with premium bedding and cotton linens for a good night's rest. The private bathroom has a shower with a rainfall showerhead, as well as designer toiletries and complimentary toiletries. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the LCD television is offered for your entertainment. Air conditioning, a cordless phone with free local calling, and a desk with ergonomic chair are conveniently included. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi

Dining

Salvation Taco
A casual taqueria from Ken Friedman and April Bloomfield in collaboration with Roberto Santibanez. The menu has traditional Mexican tacos prepared with homemade tortillas along with non-traditional tacos, like: skirt steak with pecans and braised lamb with naan. Also featuring drinks by mixologist Sam Anderson.
Playroom
A comfortable space for you to sit back and people watch, get some work done, have a bite to eat, challenge another guest or staff member to a game of ping pong. Favorite team playing? Ask one of the staff to turn on the game in one of two private rooms. Have a seat by the fireplace and warm up with a cocktail.
Rooftop Lounge
Kick back and lounge on our beautiful rooftop space. Open year round for maximum relaxation.
Rooftop Bar
Soak up the city and a few drinks from above on our beautiful seasonal rooftop space. You can hang out on the rooftop during sunset. Take in the gorgeous view and have a cocktail while you're at it!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Pod 39 Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JONAS P.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Tiny but clean and convenient location

tiny hotel that reminds me of capsule hotel in Japan. very small but efficiently planned. Not much service should be expected when staying here. and also it is buzzing with travellers from all walks of life (many foreign visitors), lobby crowded and noisy. but lively. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC FAN 777
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Can't not beat the value and locations

Great Place for a stay. the location is great always friendly and quiet. would return no doubt. staff is very helpful. rooms are small but super clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milcee
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

good for overnight stay

cold draft from window located directly above bed. had to sleep with head at foot of bed because of this. toilet paper roll was only half roll. sink rather small but given space it served purpose. good for location and providing basics for overnight stay in nyc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rafael S.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Great hotel

This hotel is great! Nice, modern and really well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayako H.
Business
Horsham
Jan 17, 2015

A good accommodation for a single traveler

Used this hotel for a trip to NYC to see a Broadway show. For a single girl on budget, the hotel was suitable. The location is convenient, close to Grand Central Station, and there were several eateries and shops nearby. The room was clean. I would recommend this hotel for someone who just need a bed to sleep in and doesn't need anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris F.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Early Winter NYC Trip

Going into the pod 39, my friend and I knew the rooms were going to be tiny. But tiny is not a small enough word. My friend and I couldn't get dressed at the same time, one of us had lay on the bed while the other got ready in the only standing room/ partily bathroom area. The window with the view of just the other side of the hotel wouldn't open, even the shade could barely open because the bunk bed was right up against it. Of course all of the pictures online showed Full view windows but that was not the case and our room. Checking in was tiresome, the staff was quite rude and felt like they did not want to be there. The person checking me and said nothing by credit card for deposit. After asking my name and taking my card she handed me a envelope with our keys on it told us a room number and said the Wi-Fi password and walked away. Not even how to get her room or anything about the area. I have had better service and roach motels. At one pointA hotel front desk worker was walking into the hotel lobby before us and didn't even try to hold the door almost shutting it in our face. So completely rude I was baffled. The food and the restaurant was subpar, I would not eat there ever again. The view from the rooftop lounge was one of the only redeeming qualities of this hotel. Great views of the city. ThisHotel by far is not somewhere I want to stay ever again even if I'm getting an amazing deal. I am planning another trip to the city and will be staying far away from the pod 39.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cj.836
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

worth the price I paid

Pod 39 is a nice hotel. It was is in a nice location for tourist. The rooms are clean and very small (hints the word POD), The size will not matter if you intend to stay out and tour the entire time your in New York. It fit my price range and sleep need. Next time I go I intend on spending more time in their bar and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick W.
Business
Arden Hills
Jan 7, 2015

Simple, Convenient Stay at the Pod

The Pod 39 is a nice, simply hotel for quick stays in NYC. I stay here regularly for business as I am rarely in my room, so the extremely small space does not bother me. Overall, I find it conveniently located (4 blocks to Grand Central), clean and sufficient for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen A.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great hotel for the money

We wanted to spend a night in NYC & this was the perfect hotel to do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robin S.
Business
Bridgeport
Jan 5, 2015

Last minute deal Perfect Location

The room was small, but more than got the job done. Stayed in the bunk. Great deal for a nice hip place in a very convenient location. A short walk from Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top