$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Park Central New York

4 stars
View map of 870 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
202 reviews
Excellent location

Great hotel in a great place. 5 mins from Central Park so great for a morning run. 10 mins from... See full review

  • Tracey P.
  • Jul 20, 2015
amazing

clean,quiet, perfect....definite will book again. Staff was helpful, and location was perfect. See full review

  • Emi mom of 3
  • Jul 16, 2015

Boasting vaulted arches above the entrance, the Park Central New York will make a grand first impression on you. With marble counters and pendant lighting fixtures, the modern interior design of the main lobby contrasts starkly with the brick exterior of this historic 31-story hotel built in the 1920s. When you stay at the Park Central New York, you can receive the same hospitality that high-profile guests such as Eleanor Roosevelt and Jackie Gleason have enjoyed over the years.

Location
Set on 7th Avenue in historic Midtown Manhattan, The Park Central Hotel is surrounded by New York City's theater district; world-famous performance center Carnegie Hall is right across the street and Central Park's tree-lined pathways wind around several landmarks nearby.

Think shopping and look no further than Macy's or Midtown Manhattan's famed 57th Street and 5th Avenue, or take a stroll to stumble across The Museum of Modern Art, Columbus Circle and the Rockefeller and Lincoln Centers.
Rooms

All 761 newly-renovated and plush guest rooms are equipped with 46-inch flat-screen televisions, and the option of internet access (fees apply). Guests will enjoy bath products from C.O. Bigelow, a writing desk, iron and ironing board, safe deposit box and hairdryer supplied in every room.

Highlights

Situated in Midtown Manhattan, the Park Central New York is within walking distance of Central Park, Broadway, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) and a myriad of NYC's other top attractions. The multilingual concierge staff will also gladly help you purchase tickets to Knicks games or performances at Radio City Music Hall. At the Park Kitchen, you can enjoy a drink in the modern lounge or order continental dishes in the elegant dining room. Head to the Central Market to grab some sweets and beverages in the hotel's lobby. This grab-and-go kitchen serves products from popular local suppliers, like pastry chef Jacques Torres and Amy's Bread. At 7th Avenue Fitness, you can jump on the elliptical trainer or lift some free weights at any time of the day or night.

Fees
  • The hotel charges an increased mandatory resort fee of $25 plus tax per room and per night.  Amenities included in this fee are: high-speed Wi-Fi access in rooms and public areas, unlimited local, domestic long distance and international calls, luggage storage on arrival and/or departure up until 9 PM, and unlimited use of the 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness centre.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Rollaway bed fee is $75 per day.
Policies
If you have a question about the hotel facilities, or you want to book tours during your stay, the multilingual staff at the concierge desk can help. For just a daily facilities charge, you'll receive access to a 24/7 gym, luggage storage, unlimited phone calls, Wi-Fi for up to five devices and a free drink with a Park Kitchen entree.

Try Sara Beth's Central Park South, an eatery just next door, if you're looking for tasty but simple fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Central New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Park Central New York Rooms

Premiere Two Queen
Our newly renovated Premier Two Queen rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 300 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Superior Double Double
Designed to accommodate up to four guests, each room has Hi Speed internet access and flat screen television with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels to unwind with at the end of your day in the big apple. Extra person charges apply for more than 2 persons.
Superior Room
This guest room offers one king bed. Includes dual line telephones, data ports and voicemail, in room fax machine, in room safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, pay per view movies and Nintendo. Requests for rooms with 2 beds must be made with the hotel directly.
Concierge King
Each room, located on floors 18 to 25, includes wireless internet access, along with a full bath and 32" flat screen television, with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels, for your convenience.
Classic King
Our newly renovated Classic King rooms are an average of 270 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Classic Double Double
Our newly renovated Classic Two Double rooms are an average of 285 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Premiere King
Our newly renovated Premier King rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 270 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Deluxe Two Queen
Our newly renovated Deluxe Two Queen rooms are an average of 300 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi

Dining

Central Market
Central Market, a fine foods grab-and-go, offers guests fresh and flavorful bites from artisanal New York vendors such as North Fork Chips, juices by Red Jacket Orchard, and chocolates by Jacques Torres, New Yorks Mr. Chocolate. In addition, Central Market also serves the best in delicious breakfast pastries, sandwiches, salads, coffee, Nespresso, and other enjoyable treats such as wine and beer to guests at our New York City hotel.
Park Lounge
Park Kitchen features an inviting lounge with two large communal tables, as well as an elegant dining area. Designed by Jeffrey Beers International, this beautifully designed space in the Park Central hotel presents a distillation of both new and traditional cocktail lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Park Central New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 202
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wanted a 1 night vacation
Business
New Jersey
Feb 13, 2014

We had a lot of aggravation for a one night getaway

Went away for 1 night in NYC. First problem was hotel front desk called our room at midnight. My husband answered the phone and they said that they were calling to see if I checked out. He said of course not, we were staying the night and I was sitting right there with him! No apologies. If that was not bad enough, they added 2 $55 charges on to my bill in addition to the room charge. I did not receive these charges until after we got home and I received the credit card bill. I called the hotel and they said that the charges were for parking. This was quite funny as we took the bus to NY and had no car with us to park. I fought with the hotel about this for 6 months! In the end they agreed to credit back one $55 charge, but not the other. My credit card company, because we are good customers and understood that we did not incur this charge absorbed the other $55 charge, but this really should have been taken off by the hotel as we never incurred this charge! I do not know what kind of operation the Park Central Hotel in NY is running! I would not recommend this hotel as they caused me much more aggravation than the one stay was worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cherie Bohler
Business
Toms River
Mar 15, 2014

Horrible

We checked in at 6pm and we were told that the electric would be turned off for about 2 hours. Well the electric was off all night and did not come back on until 9am. We asked to switch rooms and were told that we would get a refund. That was over 2 months ago and still no refund and we left. "O" and the hotel are both responsible for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dcmjb
Business
washington dc
Oct 13, 2014

unacceptable

not acceptable for that amount of money -- even in great location. help is not really that helpful. its not dirty, but certainly not really clean either. on our floor they just left the cleaning carts with towels and sheets just all up and down the halls -- for days. seems like they think its ok if they put a vinyl cover over them. for over 400 a night -- it not ok. maybe ok for families with kids on a budget. there certainly were a lot of kids. someone later told me its a grade C hotel. I agree and seems like the people who work their want to keep it that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EDSERR61
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 13, 2014

Very Ordinary

With the description and the price, I was expecting a little more. I booked the Premium King room. The room was rather small, I had a view of offices in the building next door. The bathroom had a very strong musty odor. A mini bar would also be nice. The restaurant had a very limited menu. As for the staff, pretty non-existent. The desk clerk was quite rude on check-in. Other than that, I never really saw any staff. There was a cocktail waitress, Nancy, who was absolutely wonderful! Overall, it was a very ordinary experience for a high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MFiori
Business
Chicago
Sep 7, 2014

Trying to be a 4 star hotel, but really only a 2

I have been to NYC so many times and have never had an issue with a hotel until this trip. Could not check into our room until 4pm. Had to call 4 times to see if anything was available early because no one wanted to deal with me so they kept putting me in vmail. When we finally got to the room there was no fridge or water of any sort. They had a small store in the hotel for water, etc. but closed early. So you'd have to go out to a store for anything you need. Only had 2 very small elevators so there was almost always a line to get up or down. Have never waited longer for elevators like at this place. Won't be going back to this one again. Bottom line... This hotel had almost no amenities that a 3-4 star has, except the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Across Hudson
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Mar 31, 2014

Average Stay

Nice enough hotel for price, but you get what you pay for. Walls are thin. Hallways are noisy. Elevators are crowded and there are not enough. There was a line 25 people deep just to drop your bag off in luggage check on Sunday (i.e. to leave your bags after you check out but before you perhaps leave for the airport or train station). The place seemed understaffed and the staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed - though they did try to accomodate us for our requests for help when given explicit instructions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carnegie Fan
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 1, 2014

Overall nice, perfect location for us

This hotel is well decorated and the bed was very comfortable! Also it is basically next to Carnegie Deli and across the street from Carnegie Hall - our two planned destinations. It's also an easy walk to Broadway shows. On the other side, there was no way to take a shower without flooding the bathroom. Very few towels were provided. One of the lamps didn't work. Our view was of a brick wall, literally. If we looked to either side we could see in other peoples hotel rooms. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many broadway shows nearby. Many have standing room only lines, or even lotteries that can provide a cheaper way of seeing these shows.

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephMartins
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 9, 2014

Disappointed

It was my birthday and my husband and I decided to go to NY for 2 days to make it special. I was very excited with the hotel by looking at the pictures online and also due to the location. Upon arrival the staff member told us that they were out of king beds though I had made sure to have it all reserved. He was not too courteous and I felt like he was just ready to go home. The website of the hotel does not give us an option to choose the view, all of the pictures of the rooms have views but we ended up being placed in a double bed room with no view at all, we could see the wall of the building. Although the decor was beautiful I was extremely disappointed because I had everything planed for this to be a special day. The room had no toothpaste and room services had their phone busy the whole time. I feel like the hotel is too big for the staff to be able to assist their guests' individual needs. The location was great but I was disappointed with this change which kind of ruined my experience and with the treatment of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Taiwanlady
Business
Taiwan
Jun 26, 2014

Great location but a couple disappointments

Its the perfect location for a short stay in NY, but I was disappointed that I had reserved a room with a King bed and they put us in one with 2 Queens for the first night saying that The company I booked through does not allow one to choose the room type. We then had to pack up again if we wanted to change to the King sized bed room the next day which turned out to be worth the trouble. Don't know who is to blame ? There was also an extra $20 a day charge they attributed to the company I booked through for Internet and other charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmsquared
Business
Chicago
Jul 20, 2014

Okay

Location great, rooms small, no coffee, and powerless hair dryer. Elevators down in morning were next to impossible to ride; stairs utilized. Bellman at curbside not helpful at all; other bellman inside were very kind. Kids in rooms across the hall were very loud in the morning....of course not the hotels fault...but contributed to a not so great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top