$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Park Central New York

4 stars
View map of 870 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Park Central New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jenny
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

room does not have coffee maker.

This hotel was worse then a motel. The outside of the rooms has a huge noise-making equipment. We could not fall sleep at all. very noisy and nothing (except of bed and bedding) in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michael K.
Business
Northbrook
Jul 15, 2015

just an ok hotel in good location

Hotel is in a very good locations. Room are so small, there is pretty much nothing but the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Bird
Business
New York
Mar 3, 2014

Okay for a short stay

When I checked in, they didn't have my reservation. I had booked the room three hours earlier. The woman checking me in told me to wait and sit in the lobby---it would take about 2 minutes and she would get me. On half hour later, I went to the counter; she had forgotten about me. I had a particularly grueling week and all I wanted to do was get to my room. This overshadowed my stay. The room was fine; limited TV channels encouraging one to watch a movie---for $20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKC13
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 9, 2014

A little tired

Great location. Hotel common areas could use a little sprucing up. Elevator call button lights were out. One elevator was out of service causing long waits. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Across Hudson
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Mar 31, 2014

Average Stay

Nice enough hotel for price, but you get what you pay for. Walls are thin. Hallways are noisy. Elevators are crowded and there are not enough. There was a line 25 people deep just to drop your bag off in luggage check on Sunday (i.e. to leave your bags after you check out but before you perhaps leave for the airport or train station). The place seemed understaffed and the staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed - though they did try to accomodate us for our requests for help when given explicit instructions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carnegie Fan
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 1, 2014

Overall nice, perfect location for us

This hotel is well decorated and the bed was very comfortable! Also it is basically next to Carnegie Deli and across the street from Carnegie Hall - our two planned destinations. It's also an easy walk to Broadway shows. On the other side, there was no way to take a shower without flooding the bathroom. Very few towels were provided. One of the lamps didn't work. Our view was of a brick wall, literally. If we looked to either side we could see in other peoples hotel rooms. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many broadway shows nearby. Many have standing room only lines, or even lotteries that can provide a cheaper way of seeing these shows.

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephMartins
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 9, 2014

Disappointed

It was my birthday and my husband and I decided to go to NY for 2 days to make it special. I was very excited with the hotel by looking at the pictures online and also due to the location. Upon arrival the staff member told us that they were out of king beds though I had made sure to have it all reserved. He was not too courteous and I felt like he was just ready to go home. The website of the hotel does not give us an option to choose the view, all of the pictures of the rooms have views but we ended up being placed in a double bed room with no view at all, we could see the wall of the building. Although the decor was beautiful I was extremely disappointed because I had everything planed for this to be a special day. The room had no toothpaste and room services had their phone busy the whole time. I feel like the hotel is too big for the staff to be able to assist their guests' individual needs. The location was great but I was disappointed with this change which kind of ruined my experience and with the treatment of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hfurudhdhddjdjjd
Business
NJ
Apr 29, 2014

Great Hotel but..

Loved everything except the 3 bathroom stalls for the entire lobby and hotel bar. Line was 8-10 people deep every time we needed to go! They did not have a changing table in the bathroom so my wife changed our son on the floor. They need to rethink the bathroom setup!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking. Go online and print parking coupon for local parking garage. For 24hr parking $40 vs. $58 at hotel!

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler win
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jun 9, 2014

Close to Time Square and Central Park

This was worth the price. Central Park Hotel has been newly renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Locked in Room
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
May 16, 2014

Nothing Special except location

Location terrific. Staff Professional, not friendly. Long lines for the elevator. Watch for the 20 dollar a day fee when booking through a third party website. It gives you internet access and a voucher for one drink as long as you eat in their restaurant. I was locked in the bathroom when the door handle fell off. When I called SIRI for the hotel information to have someone come and let me out the phone number on the website was wrong. I had to call someone to come to the hotel and inform the desk I needed to be let out of the room. I immediately brought the wrong number up to the front desk and they agreed it was a wrong number on the website. Three days later it still hasn't been changed. Rooms are very tight, but this is NYC Bed is comfortable and it's minimally noisy. Looking for a good location this is great. Looking for luxury, not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top