$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Park Central New York

4 stars
870 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
104 reviews
Great hotel close to Times Square

This was my second time staying there and it was great. See full review

  • Uzi does It
  • Aug 13, 2014
NYC Getaway

Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Staff! Very accommodating! See full review

  • James Kelly
  • Jul 29, 2014
Overview
Midtown Manhattan's Park Central Hotel is famous for its illustrious past and current design. Built in 1927, the hotel combines the glamor of 'The Roaring Twenties' with a contemporary feel that was enhanced through a massive renovation in 2013, headed by award-winning firm Jeffrey Beers International.  From the dark-stained milkwork detailing to the geometrically-patterned carpets and tufted fabric headboards, the hotel has quirky attitude and the bathrooms' porcelain tiles arranged in a piano-like pattern give a nod to neighbor Carnegie Hall.  

Ever since it was constructed, the Park Central Hotel in New York has seen many acclaimed guests walk its halls, including First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, and legendary comic Jackie Gleason. Today, the hotel's 761 rooms and over 15,000 square feet of meeting space accommodate both leisure guests and business people. 
Key Facts
  • 761 guestrooms
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 15,000 sq. ft meeting space - 15 conference rooms
  • Several small meeting rooms
  • Restaurant
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood
Set on 7th Avenue in historic Midtown Manhattan, The Park Central Hotel is surrounded by New York City's theater district; world-famous performance center Carnegie Hall is right across the street and Central Park's tree-lined pathways wind around several landmarks nearby.

Think shopping and look no further than Macy's or Midtown Manhattan's famed 57th Street and 5th Avenue, or take a stroll to stumble across The Museum of Modern Art, Columbus Circle and the Rockefeller and Lincoln Centers.
Park Central New York Rooms

All 761 newly-renovated and plush guest rooms are equipped with 46-inch flat-screen televisions, and the option of internet access (fees apply). Guests will enjoy bath products from C.O. Bigelow, a writing desk, iron and ironing board, safe deposit box and hairdryer supplied in every room.

Hints and tips
If you have a question about the hotel facilities, or you want to book tours during your stay, the multilingual staff at the concierge desk can help. For just a daily facilities charge, you'll receive access to a 24/7 gym, luggage storage, unlimited phone calls, Wi-Fi for up to five devices and a free drink with a Park Kitchen entree.

Try Sara Beth's Central Park South, an eatery just next door, if you're looking for tasty but simple fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7648 -73.9814
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport La Guardia International Airport
Area description
We're close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to the shops on 57th Street and Fifth Avenue. The Javits Convention Center and other business destinations are close by.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Central New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Park Central New York Rooms

Premiere Two Queen
Our newly renovated Premier Two Queen rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 300 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Superior Double Double
Designed to accommodate up to four guests, each room has Hi Speed internet access and flat screen television with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels to unwind with at the end of your day in the big apple. Extra person charges apply for more than 2 persons.
Superior Room
This guest room offers one king bed. Includes dual line telephones, data ports and voicemail, in room fax machine, in room safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, pay per view movies and Nintendo. Requests for rooms with 2 beds must be made with the hotel directly.
Concierge King
Each room, located on floors 18 to 25, includes wireless internet access, along with a full bath and 32" flat screen television, with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels, for your convenience.
Classic King
Our newly renovated Classic King rooms are an average of 270 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Classic Double Double
Our newly renovated Classic Two Double rooms are an average of 285 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Premiere King
Our newly renovated Premier King rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 270 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Deluxe Two Queen
Our newly renovated Deluxe Two Queen rooms are an average of 300 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Park Central New York

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wanted a 1 night vacation
New Jersey
Feb 13, 2014

We had a lot of aggravation for a one night getaway

Went away for 1 night in NYC. First problem was hotel front desk called our room at midnight. My husband answered the phone and they said that they were calling to see if I checked out. He said of course not, we were staying the night and I was sitting right there with him! No apologies. If that was not bad enough, they added 2 $55 charges on to my bill in addition to the room charge. I did not receive these charges until after we got home and I received the credit card bill. I called the hotel and they said that the charges were for parking. This was quite funny as we took the bus to NY and had no car with us to park. I fought with the hotel about this for 6 months! In the end they agreed to credit back one $55 charge, but not the other. My credit card company, because we are good customers and understood that we did not incur this charge absorbed the other $55 charge, but this really should have been taken off by the hotel as we never incurred this charge! I do not know what kind of operation the Park Central Hotel in NY is running! I would not recommend this hotel as they caused me much more aggravation than the one stay was worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cherie Bohler
Toms River
Mar 15, 2014

Horrible

We checked in at 6pm and we were told that the electric would be turned off for about 2 hours. Well the electric was off all night and did not come back on until 9am. We asked to switch rooms and were told that we would get a refund. That was over 2 months ago and still no refund and we left. "O" and the hotel are both responsible for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diana from Vegas
Las Vegas
Feb 25, 2014

Convenient location, affordable prices

Stayed here over the weekend. We got a double room. Checked in early at 2pm and got a room on the 3rd floor. I was dissapointed at first but this ended up benefiting us because their elevators did not work 3/4 of the time! We had to use the emergency staircase to go up and down for most of the stay. We were not the only ones because there were plenty other guests using the stairs. They only had one operating elevator from the lobby. Kind of ridiculous for how many rooms this hotel has. Check in and check out was easy. There was no line so no complaints there. The only thing that sucked was that they requires a $50 deposit per night on a credit card even though the room was already paid for beforehand. Not a big deal but be prepared for that deposit. The room itself was nice. Very clean and modern look. Full bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Requested an extra blanket and towels and they brought it up within 15 minutes. Oh.. There is no free wifi offered at this hotel. I believe it was somewhere between $14-15 per day. I would stay here again because of the price and location. Taxis are always available and subways are easily accessible. Central Park is a block away and Times Square is visible down the street. If I stay here again, I hope the elevators are working or hope I have a room on a lower floor. Carrying 4 suitcases down the flight of stairs was no fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park! Halal guys stand down the street and Times Square a little further up.

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Esther Disapointed Mother
New Mexico
Mar 4, 2014

Great Location/Not Great Room

We stayed at this hotel because our daughter and her husband wanted to get married in New York. All who attended the wedding flew to New York for this event. The pics on the internet made this hotel look like the perfect hotel. We were very disappointed when we checked into our room. Our room had very little lighting, very small bathroom, no place to hang towels, no frig, no coffee pot. The pillows were not comfortable. I would not stay there again. The location is about all that was good since she got married on central park. We were able to walk there. Even the cheap motels have bigger bathrooms and better lighting. They even have a frig and racks to hang towels. Ours were put under the sink and were hard to get to. We definitely expected better for the price. Very disappointing. I think that this hotel needs a lot of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Time Square and shops.

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EDSERR61
Long Beach, CA
Jul 13, 2014

Very Ordinary

With the description and the price, I was expecting a little more. I booked the Premium King room. The room was rather small, I had a view of offices in the building next door. The bathroom had a very strong musty odor. A mini bar would also be nice. The restaurant had a very limited menu. As for the staff, pretty non-existent. The desk clerk was quite rude on check-in. Other than that, I never really saw any staff. There was a cocktail waitress, Nancy, who was absolutely wonderful! Overall, it was a very ordinary experience for a high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Bird
Business
New York
Mar 3, 2014

Okay for a short stay

When I checked in, they didn't have my reservation. I had booked the room three hours earlier. The woman checking me in told me to wait and sit in the lobby---it would take about 2 minutes and she would get me. On half hour later, I went to the counter; she had forgotten about me. I had a particularly grueling week and all I wanted to do was get to my room. This overshadowed my stay. The room was fine; limited TV channels encouraging one to watch a movie---for $20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKC13
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 9, 2014

A little tired

Great location. Hotel common areas could use a little sprucing up. Elevator call button lights were out. One elevator was out of service causing long waits. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Across Hudson
Hoboken, NJ
Mar 31, 2014

Average Stay

Nice enough hotel for price, but you get what you pay for. Walls are thin. Hallways are noisy. Elevators are crowded and there are not enough. There was a line 25 people deep just to drop your bag off in luggage check on Sunday (i.e. to leave your bags after you check out but before you perhaps leave for the airport or train station). The place seemed understaffed and the staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed - though they did try to accomodate us for our requests for help when given explicit instructions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carnegie Fan
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 1, 2014

Overall nice, perfect location for us

This hotel is well decorated and the bed was very comfortable! Also it is basically next to Carnegie Deli and across the street from Carnegie Hall - our two planned destinations. It's also an easy walk to Broadway shows. On the other side, there was no way to take a shower without flooding the bathroom. Very few towels were provided. One of the lamps didn't work. Our view was of a brick wall, literally. If we looked to either side we could see in other peoples hotel rooms. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many broadway shows nearby. Many have standing room only lines, or even lotteries that can provide a cheaper way of seeing these shows.

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephMartins
Boston, MA
Apr 9, 2014

Disappointed

It was my birthday and my husband and I decided to go to NY for 2 days to make it special. I was very excited with the hotel by looking at the pictures online and also due to the location. Upon arrival the staff member told us that they were out of king beds though I had made sure to have it all reserved. He was not too courteous and I felt like he was just ready to go home. The website of the hotel does not give us an option to choose the view, all of the pictures of the rooms have views but we ended up being placed in a double bed room with no view at all, we could see the wall of the building. Although the decor was beautiful I was extremely disappointed because I had everything planed for this to be a special day. The room had no toothpaste and room services had their phone busy the whole time. I feel like the hotel is too big for the staff to be able to assist their guests' individual needs. The location was great but I was disappointed with this change which kind of ruined my experience and with the treatment of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search