$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

New York Marriott Marquis

5 stars
1535, Broadway, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
424 reviews
Access

The location of the hotel made it perfect for us to walk to almost anything we wanted to see or do. See full review

  • grandpa6
  • Aug 19, 2014
Stiil a Great Weekend

Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district. Easy walk to all theatres. Pedestrian... See full review

  • Theatre snob
  • Aug 8, 2014
The New York Marriott Marquis was founded in 1980, and is run as part of the Marriott International Hotel chain. Designed by architect John Portman, the New York hotel boasts the city's only revolving rooftop lounge and restaurant. Every hour, guests can gaze out on a new district of the Big Apple as The View rotates while they dine, taking in sights like the Empire State Building; the Chrysler; the City Spire; and the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum. Spend early mornings with your favorite coffee fix inside the hotel's Starbucks, or pick up casual pre-theater snacks and drinks at the Broadway Lounge before watching a major New York City performance. An on-site beauty shop caters to pampering needs, while the fitness center allows health-focused guests to maintain regiments while on vacation.
Key facts
  • 1,957 guestrooms
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Business center
  • 10,000-square-foot meeting facilities, with 55 conference rooms
  • Fitness center
  • Ballroom
Neighborhood
Located in Times Square at 45th Street and Broadway, a stay at the Marquis sets its guests right inside the heart of the Broadway scene. This globally-recognized intersection in Midtown Manhattan offers some of the world's best gourmet dining, music, film and stage shows. Visit Ripley's Believe It Or Not! for oddities and interactive exhibits, see the celebrity waxworks inside Madame Tussauds, or enjoy evenings at either SWING 46 Jazz and Supper Club or the Victory Theater, all of which are close to the hotel.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the concierge team -the best way to get the inside scoop regarding current shows, ticket discounts, dining recommendations and directions for getting around New York City.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7586 -73.9854
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.50, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.50, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

The View Restaurant & Lounge
This restaurant's menu includes savory flavors and exquisite spices as guests enjoy The View from the heart of Times Square. All menus are prepared with the freshest of New York ingredients for an exceptional dining experience.
Broadway Lounge
Overlooking Times Square, the Broadway Lounge offers exciting dinner menus, snacks, appetizers and drinks to fit the schedule of those looking for pre- or post-theatre fare, or a vibrant atmosphere for watching the game or relaxing with friends.
Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar
Starting with a breakfast buffet and a la carte favorites and moving into fresh ground Angus beef burgers, soups, salads and more for lunch and New York modern classics served for dinner, the Crossroads serves tantalizing favorites for every appetite.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, the tasty favorites of Starbucks® are served all day long featuring everything from gourmet coffee and tea to pastries and quick snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (424)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Girls
Morgantown, WV
Jun 25, 2009

Perfect location in New York City.

Lovely time and two Starbuck's in the hotel. Service was very good and requests were attended quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your transfers through Cheap Tickets. This makes the connection much easier.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winona, MN
Jun 23, 2009

The Best Hotel Ever

I won't stay anywhere other than the Marriott Marquis!! Absolutely the most enjoyable place I have stayed in NY. The location was perfect and the fitness center was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Row- Bourbon Street Bar & Grill

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gnadenhutten, Ohio
Jun 23, 2009

great place to stay

We decided to take our daughter to New York City to celebrate her 30th birthday. Not knowing anything about the city, we opted to stay at the Marriot because of all of the ammenitites listed in the description. We weren't really interested in the workout facility but it was amazing. The hotel exceeded out expectations. We were surprised by how friendly the hotel staff was to us. The bell men were very curteous and polite, checking in and out was a breeze, and the food was excellant. We will stay at the Marriot the next time we visit the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobandSue
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Jun 22, 2009

Great service and location worthy of the

Great location and staff. We simply wanted a place to sleep at night and the Marriott far exceeded that. Comfort, service, location, dining options, fitness centre, oh did I mention location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We paid $18 each ($36 total) for the Super Shuttle to the hotel from the airport. Taxi's are a fixed rate of $35 (LaGuardia) and $45 (JFK) and you avoid multiple stops and being crammed into one of the glorified vans like sardines. Pay the extra $10 or so and take the cab!

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baylor81
Tyler, Texas
Jun 20, 2009

Smack dab in the center of Time Square

This was our first trip to New York and if I ever go again I would probably stay here. It is right in the center of everything. I was worried about the staff being rude ( it is NYC ) but all staff we came in contact with were very helpful and polite. Most of the major theaters flank each side of the hotel and Hell's Kitchen starts just a block behind it. The hotel room has Bath and Body Works amenities. I would suggest getting the highest floor possible. We stayed on the 24th floor and could still hear the street performers that hang out in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a TKTS just 1 block up from the hotel in Times Square for half price Broadway theater tickets showing that very day. Beware, you will be waiting in line for HOURS!!!Instead go to the Downtown location where there is little to no wait AND you can get you tickets the day of or PRIOR to the show you want to see.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tired from fun
los angeles, ca
Jun 18, 2009

not cheap, but lovely place

we weren't in the room much, but when we were, it was wonderful. it was comfortable, easy to access (right next to time square. we could see it from out window) newspaper delivered to the door every morning, comfortable, clean beds, easy elevator system! don't eat at the hotel. food is expensive, and there are so many better/interesting places to eat in new york. on a side note (but it was important to me)the ventilation kept all nasty smells away! even the bathroom... =D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowling Family
North Carolina
Jun 17, 2009

Walking Distance to Many Attractions !!

Great location. It was our first time in NY and this location provided us walking distance to many attractions, eating and broadway shows. If we got tired, we could run back to the room - rest up and then head out for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

WAY expensive. There is great food all around. Don't waste the $$$ on the hotel dining.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wonder mom
minnesota
Jun 16, 2009

breath taking view and fun for all ages!

We all enjoyed the convenience of the location and the easy access to many things to view! The warm and friendly staff made it easy for us to find our location and were quite informative. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all as it applied to all ages. My sixteen year old and six year old wanted to stay and just watch the billboards and night life!!! This is the life!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to most attractions. You would need to walk in order to see the city best and definitely taxis are everywhere to travel to further locations! I felt very safe traveling with two children.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MD
Jun 16, 2009

Marriott Marquis

A great spot to see all of the action in Times Square and a one minute walk to Broadway shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cit Line hop on and hop off bus are a definite must if this is your first visit to New York. We also purchased the City Pass with entry to lots of the most popular exhibits. The night time tour of the city on the hop on was very nice.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend traveler!
NorthCarolina
Jun 16, 2009

Best location ever!

Best time ever, great location. Had a blast. Everything went perfect, just not enough time to do it all. Need at least a week for first time visit. It was the 1st time using Orbitz to book a vacation and everything was perfect. Will go back and use them again and will stay at the same hotel. Went to the first Broadway show (9 to 5) and it was actually in the hotel. What a vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wait to purchase broadway show tickets for half price at Time Square daily. Go to China Town.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search