$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

New York Marriott Marquis

5 stars
1535, Broadway, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
427 reviews
Access

The location of the hotel made it perfect for us to walk to almost anything we wanted to see or do. See full review

  • grandpa6
  • Aug 19, 2014
Stiil a Great Weekend

Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district. Easy walk to all theatres. Pedestrian... See full review

  • Theatre snob
  • Aug 8, 2014
The New York Marriott Marquis was founded in 1980, and is run as part of the Marriott International Hotel chain. Designed by architect John Portman, the New York hotel boasts the city's only revolving rooftop lounge and restaurant. Every hour, guests can gaze out on a new district of the Big Apple as The View rotates while they dine, taking in sights like the Empire State Building; the Chrysler; the City Spire; and the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum. Spend early mornings with your favorite coffee fix inside the hotel's Starbucks, or pick up casual pre-theater snacks and drinks at the Broadway Lounge before watching a major New York City performance. An on-site beauty shop caters to pampering needs, while the fitness center allows health-focused guests to maintain regiments while on vacation.
Key facts
  • 1,957 guestrooms
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Business center
  • 10,000-square-foot meeting facilities, with 55 conference rooms
  • Fitness center
  • Ballroom
Neighborhood
Located in Times Square at 45th Street and Broadway, a stay at the Marquis sets its guests right inside the heart of the Broadway scene. This globally-recognized intersection in Midtown Manhattan offers some of the world's best gourmet dining, music, film and stage shows. Visit Ripley's Believe It Or Not! for oddities and interactive exhibits, see the celebrity waxworks inside Madame Tussauds, or enjoy evenings at either SWING 46 Jazz and Supper Club or the Victory Theater, all of which are close to the hotel.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the concierge team -the best way to get the inside scoop regarding current shows, ticket discounts, dining recommendations and directions for getting around New York City.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7586 -73.9854
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.50, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.50, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

The View Restaurant & Lounge
This restaurant's menu includes savory flavors and exquisite spices as guests enjoy The View from the heart of Times Square. All menus are prepared with the freshest of New York ingredients for an exceptional dining experience.
Broadway Lounge
Overlooking Times Square, the Broadway Lounge offers exciting dinner menus, snacks, appetizers and drinks to fit the schedule of those looking for pre- or post-theatre fare, or a vibrant atmosphere for watching the game or relaxing with friends.
Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar
Starting with a breakfast buffet and a la carte favorites and moving into fresh ground Angus beef burgers, soups, salads and more for lunch and New York modern classics served for dinner, the Crossroads serves tantalizing favorites for every appetite.
Starbucks®
Newly renovated Starbucks. Quick and easy, the tasty favorites of Starbucks® are served all day long featuring everything from gourmet coffee and tea to pastries and quick snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (427)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
427 out of 427
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loveland Visitor
Business
Michigan
Mar 13, 2013

No Complaints!

The view of the river was fantastic (I prefer it to Times Square) and the bed was comfortable. I often have a hard time sleeping in motel rooms. I slept soundly and woke up refreshed. Staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant. I have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
Jul 21, 2009

Greatest vacation ever!

While we were there we experienced our first Broadway musical and got carried away by the experience later on watching 2 more. The location is perfect for touristic reason, it made us feel like it was a very safe place for the family. We all enjoyed it and would hope to visit very soon, and our hotel had very honest housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone should at least try to see one Broadway show and stay at the Marriott Marquis because everything is a good distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York traveler Kaye
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 20, 2009

A great location for a fabulous city

This was my first time back to New York in over 30 years. We had an absolutely awesome trip. The Marriott Marquis was a wonderful location to take in all of New York. The staff was extremely helpful. Our first room smelled like smoke and they quickly changed it. We had an awesome view of Times Square and could people watch to our hearts content. My husband appreciated the great black-out curtains though when we actually wanted to sleep. The room was large with a great bed and a sofa for people watching. They extended our check out time on the last day and stored our luggage for us until it was time to leave. The staff gladly gave directions whenever we needed them. The elevators reminded us of Star Trek. The lobby is not quite as impressive as the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta but definitely well worth the expense!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thrilled with hotel
Business
Burlington, ON Canada
Jul 13, 2009

A fantastic weekend getaway

The hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was amazing and the fact that the Marquis theater was in the hotel was a bonus when we booked our Broadway show. The only disappointment was that booth that sold Broadway tickets in the lobby. They quoted $169 for tickets that I was later able to secure on-line for $71. I wish that the hotel would look for the best deal for its clients (I heard that other concierges had done this for their clients at a neighboring hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to NYTIX.com for discounted Broadway tickets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry Super Vacation Planner
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 13, 2009

New York Trip 2009

We were met at the front entrance of the New York Marriott Marquis where they book our bags from the Carmel Limo Service vehicle. They checked us right in at 11:20 am with a ezcellent room on the 35th floor with a breath taking view of time square below. They full filled our every need. The room was roomy and the beds were very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. L Gann

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a ride on the Staten Island Ferry. It's FREE and you sail right by the Statue of Liberty where you can take pictures as you pass. The lines were too long to take a trip to the Statue of Liberty so this was an excellent alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 13, 2009

Trip Review

The hotel was at a pretty good location, but it was loud, crowded, and to simply take the elevator it took you about 20 minutes. But then again its New York what can you expect. It was also not extremely clean as other hotels I have stayed at. However, it is way better compare to others in New York. The location is very good, and it is a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robin super Mom
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 12, 2009

excellent stay

Went to two Broadway shows (loved Wicked), Empire State bldg, Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island, all the typical sites. We got 48 hr passes for the hop on hop off buses and that was reasonably priced and we went on a couple of excellent tours. The hotel was great - very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were sound proofed quite well and noise was not a problem, even directly on Times Sq. Very convenient to theatre district, subways, restaurants. Times Square is chaotic so be prepared! But lots of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans, la
Jul 3, 2009

Great location

Loved the lounge overlooking Times Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tbstorm
Business
Florida
Jul 1, 2009

Happy in NY Marquis

The hotel was great. Great location right in the middle of Times Square, close to subway, walking distance of many of the tourist locations. The staff was friendly, no wait on the elevators. Room was clean and good size. I loved my first trip to NY and would stay at the Marquis again. TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT-Wow what an experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the hop on - hop off bus tours, saw so much more and learned more than we could have walking or taking subways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cindyb1255[@]
Business
deerfield beach florida
Jul 1, 2009

quick business getaway

we had a lot of busniss, by the time we got back to the room we were exausted, bed was very comfortable. nothing was missing that I can think of. I enjoyed stayting there very much, comparred to other trips I've taken, I rate it very high. Everything was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Guiding Mom
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 30, 2009

Times Square - Living the Dream

If you enjoy lots of people and bright lights, there isn't a hotel closer to the action than the Marriot Marquis. Their staff is always courteous and helpful. Great hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the local restraurants 1 to 2 blocks off of Broadway in either direction. Good selection and reasonable prices for the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top