$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

New York Marriott East Side

4 stars
View map of 525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View, Delaware
Sep 11, 2009

Good location

It was fine - great location - With the economy the way it is, I thought I would get a better rate. It was OK; however, I have booked with Orbitz before in NYC and have had better rooms at a better rate. This was the best I could find this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Comfort diner on 45th - great breakfast at a fair price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mika in MI
Business
Michigan
Aug 27, 2009

Mommy and Daughter Getaway

I took my 16yrs old daughter to NY for some mommy and me time and we had a ball. The hotel is in walking distance to Rockfeller Center, NBC Studios and Radio City Music Hall. There are several shop on Lexington like Victoria Secret, H&M, Kenneth Cole and Bloomingdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdale is right up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewiston, NY
Aug 27, 2009

lovely hotel and great flights

The Marriott East Side was perfect for my daughter and myself. It was very clean, comfortable and within walking distance to mid-town and Grand Central Station. We pre-ordered City Pass for NYC-great program if you want to visit the great art galaries and famous landmarks. We also went to the ticket office for the broadway play we wanted to see and got great seats with our Triple A Auto card. The subway was our way to get around Manhattan-very efficient and reasonable for a day pass or more-too easy! NY City is very alive!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

City Pass for major attractions in NYCity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Great Location

The staff was friendly and helpful. The convenience to my office location was terrific. And, most of all, because it was just too hot outside to run, I really made good use of the treadmills in the Fitness Center. Their was plenty of equipment in the Fitness Center and everything was clean and in good working order. I especially loved having the TV to watch during my runs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many types of restuarants within a four-block radius of the hotel, you never have to go too far to get something wonderful to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 26, 2009

Great NYC Weekend

Due to weather conditions in LaGuardia, our flight was delayed and we were tired and grumpy when we finally arrived at our hotel. I had confirmed our late arrival as well as our request for a room with two double beds earlier that day. Yet when we checked in, we were informed that the only room available was a single king and that our request is just that, a request, and not a confirmation. The staff was very quick to bring up a cot and set up in the already tight room. We were finally moved into a bigger room with two double beds for the last night. Other than that, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was ideal - close to the sights without the noisy crowds and traffic. i'd certainly recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Desk has a list of places that ware within walking or dleivery distance. We picked up Chinese food to bring back to the room...very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother- Daughter Trip
Business
TX
Aug 17, 2009

great location

We loved the location of the Hotel. The staff was OK. Loved the security, they would check for a hotel key before you entered the elevator area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is right at 51 st and Lexington. A very short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jettle
Business
Columbus, Georgia
Aug 7, 2009

Covenient and Clean

Good location, very clean rooms but rather small, good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Less than impressed vacationer
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 31, 2009

Marriott missed the mark

Overall, our experience was average. I was disappointed because I expected more from a 4-star Marriott hotel. On a positive note, bellhops were super! Concierge was knowledgable and quite helpful. Bedding linens were plush, clean and very comfortable. However, the room was quite small, especially for the oversized furniture and enormous desk chair (I had to move it constantly in order to maneuver around the bed). The only full-length mirror was on the inside of a closet door that only opened at a 45 degree angle because of a wall. The water pressure in the shower was awful- it took ten minutes to rinse shampoo/conditioner out of my hair (I can't imagine how long it would take if I had super thick or long hair). The maid staff was annoyingly persistent, and arrived very early to clean the rooms (between 8:00 and 9:00 a.m.) One morning the maid knocked three times within an hour, before we were ready to leave for the day. The maid staff also turned the A/C down to 64-65 degrees before leaving, and we nearly froze when we returned to the room each day. To end, our experience was not horrible, but it was less than most would expect from a 4-star hotel in New York City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jul 29, 2009

Manhattan trip

Very crowded lobby, but everything else fantastic. Location couldn't be beat, just a block and a half from the subway and many restaurants. Walk to the Theatre District. Great beds, clean bathrooms, fast elevator, flat-screen tv and a great little work-out facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jul 29, 2009

Great location, walk to Times Square

Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top