$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

New York Marriott East Side

5 stars
525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
86 reviews
Great business hotel

Great business hotel well located and at a decent price for New York City See full review

  • Winter warmth
  • Sep 17, 2014
Comfortable, romantic couples weekend

Staff was amazing and cater to all your needs. Had a female emergency, and without hesitation hotel... See full review

  • Stephanie5297
  • Jun 23, 2014
Indulge in elegance, great service, and an incredible location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan at the New York Marriott East Side. Explore the grandeur of Midtown Manhattan just steps from our midtown east hotel and visit the Chrysler Building, or perhaps do some shopping at Grand Central Station. Our hotel offers over 640 immaculately-appointed rooms and suites, featuring deluxe new bedding and marble bathrooms. Upgrade to Executive accommodations for enhanced amenities and M Club Lounge access. Stop by 525LEX Restaurant & Lounge in the morning for a satisfying breakfast, or for an evening meal paired with a cocktail. If you're planning a meeting or event here on the East Side, we are pleased to offer 18,000 square feet of recently updated venue space, as well as the services of an experienced onsite planning team. Be sure to take time to unwind before or after your event, with a workout in our hotel's modern fitness center. Quiet luxury is waiting for you at the New York Marriott East Side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott East Side also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi

Dining

525LEX Restaurant & Lounge
Putting a new twist on American classics at this East side Manhattan restaurant, 525 LEX uses top quality ingredients to create a simple and flavorful menu with shareable bites, a burger bar, craft beers, wine and signature cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MA
Mar 7, 2010

Very nice, great location

We had a great stay at this Marriott hotel. the location was convenient to Grand Central and to 5th Avenue, and Times Square. The room was a pretty good size, by New York standards, and very clean (I'm pretty picky, I used to clean rooms at Marriott while in school). Check in was quick and our room was ready prior to the 4pm check-in, which was nice. the staff was helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but we did find a place to eat breakfast across the street, Longwood Gourmet, that was quick and inexpensive, open 24 hours. The fitness room was small, but the equipment was good, with treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, and weights. It had a great view of the skyline, from the 35th floor. Check out was quick and easy. We've come to NYC many times and this is the first hotel that I would definately return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Longwood Gourmet was great to find across the street. It served fresh salads, hot dishes and breakfast made to order, plus had a little market. We ate breakfast for ten dollars, instead of fifty dollars that it would of cost at the hotel, where you pay for the nice dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Epifaness
Business
Dallas, GA
Mar 5, 2010

February 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful from [...] checking us in and considering our family side for the room selected and its location, to the friendly and helpful doorman and staff that gave us toothbrushes, a cot and extra blankets all free upon request and in a timely manner. The room and hotel in general was great! It was a wonderful stay and I would recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reading PA
Feb 1, 2010

how did this hotel get 4 stars?

room was very noisy all night--sirens, horns, etc. Also, breakfast was supposed to be included in the price but the hotel said it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 11, 2010

NYC Weekend Getaway

The hotel staff was nice. This hotel is greatly located with walking distance to multiple interesting places. Compared to previous trips to New York this was not much different since I chose a hotel in the near by from last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are various attractions close by like shops at 5th ave, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Times Square, and great restaurants like the Delicadetian which had great food and affordable prices and very nice staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Kim
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Oct 11, 2009

Great location!

We had a great weekend getaway! Quiet clean room, but just blocks from all the action. I plan to revisit NYC soon and bring our whole family to stay at the Marriot Eastside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View, Delaware
Sep 11, 2009

Good location

It was fine - great location - With the economy the way it is, I thought I would get a better rate. It was OK; however, I have booked with Orbitz before in NYC and have had better rooms at a better rate. This was the best I could find this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Comfort diner on 45th - great breakfast at a fair price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mika in MI
Business
Michigan
Aug 27, 2009

Mommy and Daughter Getaway

I took my 16yrs old daughter to NY for some mommy and me time and we had a ball. The hotel is in walking distance to Rockfeller Center, NBC Studios and Radio City Music Hall. There are several shop on Lexington like Victoria Secret, H&M, Kenneth Cole and Bloomingdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdale is right up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewiston, NY
Aug 27, 2009

lovely hotel and great flights

The Marriott East Side was perfect for my daughter and myself. It was very clean, comfortable and within walking distance to mid-town and Grand Central Station. We pre-ordered City Pass for NYC-great program if you want to visit the great art galaries and famous landmarks. We also went to the ticket office for the broadway play we wanted to see and got great seats with our Triple A Auto card. The subway was our way to get around Manhattan-very efficient and reasonable for a day pass or more-too easy! NY City is very alive!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

City Pass for major attractions in NYCity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Great Location

The staff was friendly and helpful. The convenience to my office location was terrific. And, most of all, because it was just too hot outside to run, I really made good use of the treadmills in the Fitness Center. Their was plenty of equipment in the Fitness Center and everything was clean and in good working order. I especially loved having the TV to watch during my runs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many types of restuarants within a four-block radius of the hotel, you never have to go too far to get something wonderful to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 26, 2009

Great NYC Weekend

Due to weather conditions in LaGuardia, our flight was delayed and we were tired and grumpy when we finally arrived at our hotel. I had confirmed our late arrival as well as our request for a room with two double beds earlier that day. Yet when we checked in, we were informed that the only room available was a single king and that our request is just that, a request, and not a confirmation. The staff was very quick to bring up a cot and set up in the already tight room. We were finally moved into a bigger room with two double beds for the last night. Other than that, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was ideal - close to the sights without the noisy crowds and traffic. i'd certainly recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Desk has a list of places that ware within walking or dleivery distance. We picked up Chinese food to bring back to the room...very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top