$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

New York Marriott East Side

5 stars
525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
90 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel has a very nice location! The staff was very kind from the very beginnng. I stayed in a... See full review

  • Chiqui G
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great business hotel

Great business hotel well located and at a decent price for New York City See full review

  • Winter warmth
  • Sep 17, 2014
Indulge in elegance, great service, and an incredible location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan at the New York Marriott East Side. Explore the grandeur of Midtown Manhattan just steps from our midtown east hotel and visit the Chrysler Building, or perhaps do some shopping at Grand Central Station. Our hotel offers over 655 immaculately-appointed rooms and suites, featuring deluxe new bedding and marble bathrooms. Upgrade to Executive accommodations for enhanced amenities and M Club Lounge access. Stop by 525LEX Restaurant & Lounge in the morning for a satisfying breakfast, or for an evening meal paired with a cocktail. If you're planning a meeting or event here on the East Side, we are pleased to offer 18,000 square feet of recently updated venue space, as well as the services of an experienced onsite planning team. Be sure to take time to unwind before or after your event, with a workout in our hotel's modern fitness center. Quiet luxury is waiting for you at the New York Marriott East Side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott East Side also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi

Dining

525LEX Restaurant & Lounge
Putting a new twist on American classics at this East side Manhattan restaurant, 525 LEX uses top quality ingredients to create a simple and flavorful menu with shareable bites, a burger bar, craft beers, wine and signature cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Jan 31, 2011

Pleasant Stay in NYC

Visited friends, dined out, shopped, and strolled Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains at upscale stores on winter merchandise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 30, 2011

Unbeatable location and charm.

The trip to NYC was made even more enjoyable by the location - charm and cleaniness of the hotel. We had never been to NYC before and the location made it great to walk all around Times Square, see the Today Show in progress and was able to go see SNL "Saturday nite Live". Plenty of fine dining places along with the pub settings for the good ole Rueben and a beer. All of this and did I mention we arrived the day after the 19 inches of snow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimmyee
Business
Cleveland
Jan 24, 2011

NYC weekend

We chose this hotel only becasue it was a Marriott and we like to collect points. The hotel lobby is quiet and clean. I wouldn't say that it goes out of its way to be welcoming. Our check in was smooth on a Friday night at 6pm. When we arived at our room there was a cleaning spray bottle on the counter, and the glasses were dirty next to the ice bucket. There was paint chipping from the ceiling, and the bathroom renovations felt cheap. Evertime you stepped into the tub you could feel the liner moving around. Location wise the hotel is perfect, but would probably stay in a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are two blocks from 5th, Madison, and Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob & Norma
Business
Stockton, CA
Dec 29, 2010

New York Marriott East

Great staff . . . great location . . . nice room - clean and spacious for New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorCouple
Business
Greer, SC
Dec 26, 2010

Wonderful Accommodations

Walking distance to many wonderful NY sights. Hotel personnel are highly professional, yet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soon-to-be-Local
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 23, 2010

Showing Its Age

I'm a Marriott Rewards member. It's my first choice of hotel when traveling. My wife and I have stayed at this Marriott several times. The good includes wonderful doormen and house-cleaning; the bad includes awful quality breakfast food with prices that are outrageous and service that is surly; the ugly is that the rooms are deteriorating. Regulating the heat is a challenge. The elevators are very slow. I think we're done with this particular Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Massachusetts
Nov 29, 2010

Great central location, nice size rooms

We met our son from D.C. in NYC for the Thanksgiving holiday. Arrived on Wednesday afternoon and left Friday. The hotel is a few short blocks from Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, the Theater District; downtown and uptown are not far. The deluxe room was a bit tight for three people but more than adequate for two. It was extremely clean and the shower worked fine. The staff was very friendly and welcoming -- from housekeeping to the concierge to security. My only complaint was that I had requested two double beds and had confirmed the request by telephone, but was informed at check-in that the hotel did not guarantee such a request. The accommodations consisted of a king-size bed and a very uncomfortable foldaway that my son slept on. It would have been nice to know that information at booking. We enjoyed our stay immensely, but now that I am aware that Marriott does not guarantee accommodations, I might book a different hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive but satisfying dinner, try Le Relais de Venise. The only menu option is salad, steak and fries, but all are simple and delicious and fit the bill just fine the night before a big meal day. Dessert and wine/beer are extra. Waitstaff is a hoot, atmosphere is relaxed. Breakfast and lunch in the National, at 50th and Lex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Nov 8, 2010

Great Business Trip Experience

Given the chance I would stay at the Marriott East Side the next time I'm in NY. The rooms were larger than the usual fishbowl size you get in NY and the rate was great for the space and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to a great restaurant called Mama Mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 15, 2010

Great Stay!

Went down to the city for my sister's bachelorette party for the night. The room was spacious, beautiful and comfortable... compared to other NY hotels who have rooms the size of a bathroom and charge a lot of $400 + for it. The staff were friendly and didn't mind taking time to take pictures (with all the cameras) of the girls night out! We went to the Habana Room for dinner (good food, but SLOW service! We were waiting for our food for almost an hour and they ran out of some favorite appetizers by 8:00pm?!?!) There are other places you can eat around the corner, however eating there got us FREE entrance to the Latin Quarters (LQ) Club (saved us $15), but you have to hunt them down for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Quarters (LQ) Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austria
Sep 12, 2010

Very good hotel for a fair price

easily working hotel in every sense...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SoHo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top