$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

New York Marriott East Side

4 stars
View map of 525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
90 reviews
Great hotel

The hotel has a very nice location! The staff was very kind from the very beginnng. I stayed in a... See full review

  • Chiqui G
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great business hotel

Great business hotel well located and at a decent price for New York City See full review

  • Winter warmth
  • Sep 17, 2014
Indulge in elegance with easy access to the excitement of the city at New York Marriott East Side. Explore the grandeur of Midtown Manhattan, just steps from our hotel, and visit the Chrysler Building, or take advantage of all the shopping surrounding our hotel near Grand Central Station. With 655 immaculately appointed rooms and suites, guests are invited to relax in style with luxury bedding and spacious marble bathrooms. Stop by 525LEX Restaurant & Lounge in the morning for a satisfying breakfast, or for an evening meal paired with a cocktail. Planning a meeting or event here on the East Side? Take advantage of our Midtown East hotel's 18,000 square feet of elegant event space, paired with our professional planning team. During downtime, unwind with a workout in our modern fitness center, which offers state-of-the-art machines and LCD TVs. Whether visiting on business or leisure, quiet luxury is waiting for you at New York Marriott East Side.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi

Dining

525LEX Restaurant & Lounge
Indulge in creative comfort cuisine and handcrafted cocktails at 525LEX, one of the premier restaurants in Midtown East. Our seasonal menu features an array of locally sourced meats, produce and cheeses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RN Case Manager
Business
Cranston, RI
Mar 18, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

My sister and I were accused of smoking in our room and were charged 250.00. There were no signs in the room stating it was non-smoking room, let alone a sign that said "There is a 250.00 fine if you do smoke in this room".The housekeeper that came to our door knocked so hard My sister and I were "Frightened". We are a 60 and 63 year old sisters going to the "big city " from Rhode Island to celebrate the 60th birthday of one of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St Patricks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reading PA
Feb 1, 2010

how did this hotel get 4 stars?

room was very noisy all night--sirens, horns, etc. Also, breakfast was supposed to be included in the price but the hotel said it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Giorgio21
Business
Switzerland
Apr 14, 2014

perfect location, very kind people....but

We - a family of 4 - where pretty happy with our room and the people we had to deal with where all very kind, but there is one thing that did disturb: Maybe it was just the room and all the other rooms are way better, but at least our room had very bad windows. OK, there is a lot for traffic out there...even during the night, but if you close all windows you shouldn't hear much of it. In our roam we heard the noise from the surrounding streets day in day out. It was almost impossible to sleep...the kids even used earplugs to get at least some sleep. And no, it wasn't just one night...it was each and every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

https://davios.com/nyc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randwulf
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Aug 6, 2012

Likes and Dislikes

Liked: Very courteous staff. Dislikes: Charge for Internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnDee2906
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 4, 2013

Decent enough for the money

Our room had a smell like it used to be a smoking room. Our friends room smelled fresh. The staff are nice and the hotel is centrally located. Close to Rockefeller Center, Time Square. It's not luxurious but clean and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great B'fast place on 3rd between 49 & 50. Le Pain Quotidien. French bakery with yummy organic food and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View, Delaware
Sep 11, 2009

Good location

It was fine - great location - With the economy the way it is, I thought I would get a better rate. It was OK; however, I have booked with Orbitz before in NYC and have had better rooms at a better rate. This was the best I could find this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Comfort diner on 45th - great breakfast at a fair price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma Treat
Business
Atlanta GA
Apr 25, 2011

Very Disapointed

We were there for my daughters 21 birthday and we have never been more disapointed in a Marriott, we have stay in NYC before a another Marriott which is normally our choice of hotels, but when we arrived they did not have our room as we requested and were very rude to us because ce went through [...]instead of them directly. I do not care who you book through all customers should be treated with respect, which we were not. Marriott put it all off on [...]. I do not care who made the mistake the point is my husband had to sleep on the floor, because they gave us one king bed for three adult people knowing there way not another hotel in the entire city of NY that had any opening. I made my reservation a month ago and I double check the bed request twice which they say that was not done. I don't know about anybody else but in my house the parents do not sleep with there grown daughter in the same bed. I asked for a full refund but they just laughed at me. We traveled from GA to NY to celebrate our daughter and this put a huge damper on our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 21, 2010

location is the best thing here.

-Requested early check in - didn't happen.-Requested a phone call when the room was ready - didn't happen.-Requested king size bed - initially assigned two queen beds.-The few times I tried calling the concierge (3) I always got an answering machine.-The "outside staff" was more helpful than the front desk. The one clerk at the front desk was nice - but this was after the other one - what felt like - "didn't want to be bothered with my checking in."[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey N.L. Mexico
Jul 24, 2009

Good location

Very good in general, two issues, Restaurants closed in the afternoon,the councirege lounge access is an extra 70 USCY not included in the regular rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to St patrick Ch, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Grand central Station (subways)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Jan 31, 2011

Pleasant Stay in NYC

Visited friends, dined out, shopped, and strolled Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains at upscale stores on winter merchandise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top