$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

New York Marriott East Side

4 stars
View map of 525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob & Norma
Business
Stockton, CA
Dec 29, 2010

New York Marriott East

Great staff . . . great location . . . nice room - clean and spacious for New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorCouple
Business
Greer, SC
Dec 26, 2010

Wonderful Accommodations

Walking distance to many wonderful NY sights. Hotel personnel are highly professional, yet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soon-to-be-Local
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 23, 2010

Showing Its Age

I'm a Marriott Rewards member. It's my first choice of hotel when traveling. My wife and I have stayed at this Marriott several times. The good includes wonderful doormen and house-cleaning; the bad includes awful quality breakfast food with prices that are outrageous and service that is surly; the ugly is that the rooms are deteriorating. Regulating the heat is a challenge. The elevators are very slow. I think we're done with this particular Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Massachusetts
Nov 29, 2010

Great central location, nice size rooms

We met our son from D.C. in NYC for the Thanksgiving holiday. Arrived on Wednesday afternoon and left Friday. The hotel is a few short blocks from Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, the Theater District; downtown and uptown are not far. The deluxe room was a bit tight for three people but more than adequate for two. It was extremely clean and the shower worked fine. The staff was very friendly and welcoming -- from housekeeping to the concierge to security. My only complaint was that I had requested two double beds and had confirmed the request by telephone, but was informed at check-in that the hotel did not guarantee such a request. The accommodations consisted of a king-size bed and a very uncomfortable foldaway that my son slept on. It would have been nice to know that information at booking. We enjoyed our stay immensely, but now that I am aware that Marriott does not guarantee accommodations, I might book a different hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive but satisfying dinner, try Le Relais de Venise. The only menu option is salad, steak and fries, but all are simple and delicious and fit the bill just fine the night before a big meal day. Dessert and wine/beer are extra. Waitstaff is a hoot, atmosphere is relaxed. Breakfast and lunch in the National, at 50th and Lex.

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Nov 8, 2010

Great Business Trip Experience

Given the chance I would stay at the Marriott East Side the next time I'm in NY. The rooms were larger than the usual fishbowl size you get in NY and the rate was great for the space and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to a great restaurant called Mama Mexico.

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 15, 2010

Great Stay!

Went down to the city for my sister's bachelorette party for the night. The room was spacious, beautiful and comfortable... compared to other NY hotels who have rooms the size of a bathroom and charge a lot of $400 + for it. The staff were friendly and didn't mind taking time to take pictures (with all the cameras) of the girls night out! We went to the Habana Room for dinner (good food, but SLOW service! We were waiting for our food for almost an hour and they ran out of some favorite appetizers by 8:00pm?!?!) There are other places you can eat around the corner, however eating there got us FREE entrance to the Latin Quarters (LQ) Club (saved us $15), but you have to hunt them down for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Quarters (LQ) Club

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austria
Sep 12, 2010

Very good hotel for a fair price

easily working hotel in every sense...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SoHo

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Friendly helpful staff

Obviously NYC has changed! Such friendly helpful people at the hotel and throughout the city. Had a wonderful tim.e

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Aug 24, 2010

location was great.

Over all no complaints about the hotel. Location was great, staff very friendly and clean but over all a bit pricey. The room was smaller than my bedroom, very close quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We did the double decker bus ride which helped us to decide where and what to do.

Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Collins, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Excellent!

Perfect location close to Grand Central Station so it was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. The room was very clean, the beds comfy and the bathroom sparkled. The coffee maker did not work but I am sure it would have been replaced if I had bothered to ask. I just went to the Starbucks on the next block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a City Pass in advance - just buy it online. Great value for money and you don't have to line up at the payment kiosks. Saves time and money.

Back to menu Return to top