$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

New York Marriott East Side

4 stars
View map of 525 Lexington Avenue, at 49th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott East Side

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walking mom and daughter
Business
Boca Raton, fl
Feb 16, 2011

Great location, great price

We walked everywhere because the hotel was very well located. Near Grand central so even coming with the shuttle from JFK we were at walking distance. Nice rooms, decent size and really nice gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Jan 31, 2011

Pleasant Stay in NYC

Visited friends, dined out, shopped, and strolled Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains at upscale stores on winter merchandise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 30, 2011

Unbeatable location and charm.

The trip to NYC was made even more enjoyable by the location - charm and cleaniness of the hotel. We had never been to NYC before and the location made it great to walk all around Times Square, see the Today Show in progress and was able to go see SNL "Saturday nite Live". Plenty of fine dining places along with the pub settings for the good ole Rueben and a beer. All of this and did I mention we arrived the day after the 19 inches of snow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimmyee
Business
Cleveland
Jan 24, 2011

NYC weekend

We chose this hotel only becasue it was a Marriott and we like to collect points. The hotel lobby is quiet and clean. I wouldn't say that it goes out of its way to be welcoming. Our check in was smooth on a Friday night at 6pm. When we arived at our room there was a cleaning spray bottle on the counter, and the glasses were dirty next to the ice bucket. There was paint chipping from the ceiling, and the bathroom renovations felt cheap. Evertime you stepped into the tub you could feel the liner moving around. Location wise the hotel is perfect, but would probably stay in a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are two blocks from 5th, Madison, and Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob & Norma
Business
Stockton, CA
Dec 29, 2010

New York Marriott East

Great staff . . . great location . . . nice room - clean and spacious for New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorCouple
Business
Greer, SC
Dec 26, 2010

Wonderful Accommodations

Walking distance to many wonderful NY sights. Hotel personnel are highly professional, yet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soon-to-be-Local
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 23, 2010

Showing Its Age

I'm a Marriott Rewards member. It's my first choice of hotel when traveling. My wife and I have stayed at this Marriott several times. The good includes wonderful doormen and house-cleaning; the bad includes awful quality breakfast food with prices that are outrageous and service that is surly; the ugly is that the rooms are deteriorating. Regulating the heat is a challenge. The elevators are very slow. I think we're done with this particular Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Massachusetts
Nov 29, 2010

Great central location, nice size rooms

We met our son from D.C. in NYC for the Thanksgiving holiday. Arrived on Wednesday afternoon and left Friday. The hotel is a few short blocks from Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, the Theater District; downtown and uptown are not far. The deluxe room was a bit tight for three people but more than adequate for two. It was extremely clean and the shower worked fine. The staff was very friendly and welcoming -- from housekeeping to the concierge to security. My only complaint was that I had requested two double beds and had confirmed the request by telephone, but was informed at check-in that the hotel did not guarantee such a request. The accommodations consisted of a king-size bed and a very uncomfortable foldaway that my son slept on. It would have been nice to know that information at booking. We enjoyed our stay immensely, but now that I am aware that Marriott does not guarantee accommodations, I might book a different hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive but satisfying dinner, try Le Relais de Venise. The only menu option is salad, steak and fries, but all are simple and delicious and fit the bill just fine the night before a big meal day. Dessert and wine/beer are extra. Waitstaff is a hoot, atmosphere is relaxed. Breakfast and lunch in the National, at 50th and Lex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Nov 8, 2010

Great Business Trip Experience

Given the chance I would stay at the Marriott East Side the next time I'm in NY. The rooms were larger than the usual fishbowl size you get in NY and the rate was great for the space and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to a great restaurant called Mama Mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 15, 2010

Great Stay!

Went down to the city for my sister's bachelorette party for the night. The room was spacious, beautiful and comfortable... compared to other NY hotels who have rooms the size of a bathroom and charge a lot of $400 + for it. The staff were friendly and didn't mind taking time to take pictures (with all the cameras) of the girls night out! We went to the Habana Room for dinner (good food, but SLOW service! We were waiting for our food for almost an hour and they ran out of some favorite appetizers by 8:00pm?!?!) There are other places you can eat around the corner, however eating there got us FREE entrance to the Latin Quarters (LQ) Club (saved us $15), but you have to hunt them down for it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Quarters (LQ) Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top