$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
A Good Stay

Clean room, courteous staff. No hassle with checkin and easy checkout. See full review

  • BusyJ
  • Jan 19, 2014
NYC post Christmas pre New Years

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown. The Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The... See full review

  • Special G
  • Dec 29, 2013
Downtown Manhattan hotel with chic units

Offering spacious event spaces, well-furnished accommodations, and convenient services right in the heart of New York's financial district, New York Marriott Downtown makes for an ideal base for corporate and leisure travelers in the Big Apple. This chic property in downtown Manhattan is close to the 9/11 Memorial, Statue of Liberty Ellis Island, Battery Park, and Museum of Jewish Heritage. Business hubs like New York Stock Exchange and Wall Street are also a short walk away.

New York Marriott hotel features 14 conference rooms and a grand ballroom that can accommodate up to 450 guests. Additional services include Wi-Fi access in public areas, concierge, business center, room service, valet parking (fees apply), and daily housekeeping. Guests at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center on site.

Diners can savor all-time American favourites at in-house Bill's Bar & Burger and Bill's West Side Bar . After touring the virant city, patrons can head back to the hotel and have signature frappes and coffee at Starbucks.

3 Reasons to Stay
  • Downtown Manhattan location
  • Modern units with up-to-date amenities
  • Flexible event spaces for social and business events
New York Marriott Downtown Rooms

New York Marriott Downtown offers spacious rooms and suites equipped with modern amenities. Each unit has Wi-Fi access, cable TV, safe deposit box, iPod docking station, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some units have scenic views of the Statue of Liberty and New York City Harbor and separate living room.

Things to Do
  • 9/11 Memorial (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • New York Stock Exchange (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Statue of Liberty Ellis Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wall Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Battery Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Chinatown (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Times Square (3.7 mi/6.0 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Central Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Hotel Map

40.7097 -74.0147
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 22.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 13.50, MI, SW;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Financial District: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.4 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi

Dining

Bill's Bar & Burger
A top New York burger joint, Bill's Bar & Burger features freshly ground, hand-pressed burgers with loads of options along with fries, shakes, salads, starters and even some big plates for a delightful culinary experience in the financial district of NYC.
Bill's West Side Bar
Enjoy the hearty and extensive menu of Bill's Bar & Burger in the secluded setting of Bill's West Side Bar. Available for dinner and private dining inside the New York Marriott Downtown.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks offering busy travelers and locals a convenient option to restaurants in downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 109
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paparicio
Maryland
Apr 28, 2014

Great stay, bad location

I loved the hotel, the staff was fantastic and quick in response. My only thing was that there was sooo much track work that weekend that made it almost impossible to quickly get home and out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 is not to far away and you could definitely get loads of name brand clothing for a fraction of the price.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ceemoyo
DC
Jul 30, 2012

Great location

Unfortunately i did not get the room with a view that i had requested and paid for. Otherwise i had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daisy1017
DC
Jul 23, 2012

Beautiful View of 9-11 Memorial

We were on the 33rd floor and could see the reflection of the Memorial Waterfall in the windows of the building outside our window. When we requested a bit more coffee for the machine provided in the room, it was brought right up. Loved that there was a mini frig in the room. Staff was very helpful in finding a place to eat late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bravo- open 24-7 with the best NY pizza, fresh homemade cannolli and wonderful cheesecake

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Na
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Home Away from Home

Our trip to New York was amazing. Everything was perfect. The weather, the area, and espcially our stay at the hotel was awesome. It was not to far from time square, and it was right next to the world trade center memorial. The hotel staff was very helpful and generous. What ever we needed they provided. Our flight was later in the eveing to return back home, so they kept our luggage in a storage area so we can go hang out. Which i thought was the best! I will defiently stay at this hotel again and will recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is walking distance to the world trade center memorial, and also to the ferry to go to the statue of liberty! Also the meat packing district is a short drive and has awesome nightlife attractions!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nycgirl
New York, NY, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great downtown spot!

WONDERFUL! Attentive and friendly staff. Clean rooms-even a sign under the bed stating that it HAD been cleaned! Stayed here for a bachelorette party-it was fantastic. They brought us a roll-away bed for a fifth guest-no charge. Decently priced for a saturday night NYC hotel stay! Allowed us to check in early without a problem! OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

New freedom tower/ground zero site Wall street bull world financial center south street seaport statue of liberty!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iloveny4
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

marriot downtown

I've come to new York a few times and have always stayed in hotels closer to midtown..... This downtown hotel was close to battery park, walking distance to he train and was still easy to catch a cab. The staff was friendly.... Jean was particularly helpful.... The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
maryland
Jan 4, 2011

New York Marriott Downtown

Location is a plus-point. Walking distance from Rector St metro station, NY Stock Exchange, Trinity Church and the ferry terminal (Statue of Liberty).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New york
Jun 1, 2010

Fantastic staff and wonderful rooms

We stayed one night for a Yankee game. We choose a downtown location to stay at because of less traffic. It was a great time and the staff here Is great. Early check in, cabs without hesitation, and good company at the hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpak
Boston, MA
May 3, 2010

Marriott Downtown

Staff very friendly and able to give recommendations for dining and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by the water with a playground and walking/running path!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D Myers
Independence, MO
Apr 21, 2010

Comfortable Beds-That was it.

This was my second trip to New York and let me say I was very disappointed with the service from the hotel staff. We arrived a little early and were told to take a seat until our room was ready and they would call us and that did not happen. After waiting approx. 45 minutes to an hour we went back downstairs and "oh my gosh, the guy had went home for the day." My friend who traveled with us had was an "Elite Member" and I do not fee that we received any "Elite" treatment. When we tried to get on the internet on our laptop, there was a charge and then we didn't receive 24 hours of internet. We found someone else's socks in the drawers so apparently the staff doesn't check to see if anything was left behind. It was just a mess. We will stay at the Marriott near Times Square next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Entertainment in New York is great, but it isn't easy to get to from this Marriott.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search