$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
A Good Stay

Clean room, courteous staff. No hassle with checkin and easy checkout. See full review

  • BusyJ
  • Jan 19, 2014
NYC post Christmas pre New Years

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown. The Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The... See full review

  • Special G
  • Dec 29, 2013
Downtown Manhattan hotel with chic units

Offering spacious event spaces, well-furnished accommodations, and convenient services right in the heart of New York's financial district, New York Marriott Downtown makes for an ideal base for corporate and leisure travelers in the Big Apple. This chic property in downtown Manhattan is close to the 9/11 Memorial, Statue of Liberty Ellis Island, Battery Park, and Museum of Jewish Heritage. Business hubs like New York Stock Exchange and Wall Street are also a short walk away.

New York Marriott hotel features 14 conference rooms and a grand ballroom that can accommodate up to 450 guests. Additional services include Wi-Fi access in public areas, concierge, business center, room service, valet parking (fees apply), and daily housekeeping. Guests at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center on site.

Diners can savor all-time American favourites at in-house Bill's Bar & Burger and Bill's West Side Bar . After touring the virant city, patrons can head back to the hotel and have signature frappes and coffee at Starbucks.

3 Reasons to Stay
  • Downtown Manhattan location
  • Modern units with up-to-date amenities
  • Flexible event spaces for social and business events
New York Marriott Downtown Rooms

New York Marriott Downtown offers spacious rooms and suites equipped with modern amenities. Each unit has Wi-Fi access, cable TV, safe deposit box, iPod docking station, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some units have scenic views of the Statue of Liberty and New York City Harbor and separate living room.

Things to Do
  • 9/11 Memorial (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • New York Stock Exchange (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Statue of Liberty Ellis Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wall Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Battery Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Chinatown (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Times Square (3.7 mi/6.0 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Central Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Financial District: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.4 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi

Dining

Bill's Bar & Burger
A top New York burger joint, Bill's Bar & Burger features freshly ground, hand-pressed burgers with loads of options along with fries, shakes, salads, starters and even some big plates for a delightful culinary experience in the financial district of NYC.
Bill's West Side Bar
Enjoy the hearty and extensive menu of Bill's Bar & Burger in the secluded setting of Bill's West Side Bar. Available for dinner and private dining inside the New York Marriott Downtown.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks offering busy travelers and locals a convenient option to restaurants in downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Aug 17, 2009

Good Commodation

I stayed at hotel just to sleep and the room was very confortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey CA
Jan 4, 2010

The best hotel we could have

The best location ever. Close to Rector station. We could go everywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago il
Sep 28, 2010

New York City Downtown Marriot-Financial

This is a great place to stay in new york city if you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of times square. It is close to a subway entrance and only a mile from the south street seaport. The hotel was very clean and welcoming with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. The bar called 85 west bar and grill had good food but poor service. The view of the Hudson River from our room was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Na
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Home Away from Home

Our trip to New York was amazing. Everything was perfect. The weather, the area, and espcially our stay at the hotel was awesome. It was not to far from time square, and it was right next to the world trade center memorial. The hotel staff was very helpful and generous. What ever we needed they provided. Our flight was later in the eveing to return back home, so they kept our luggage in a storage area so we can go hang out. Which i thought was the best! I will defiently stay at this hotel again and will recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is walking distance to the world trade center memorial, and also to the ferry to go to the statue of liberty! Also the meat packing district is a short drive and has awesome nightlife attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gingerbread man
Business
ohio
May 28, 2013

view

great view if you pay a little extra. it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Special G
Business
New Hampshire
Dec 29, 2013

NYC post Christmas pre New Years

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown. The Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was out of the normal hustle and bustle of the city. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bill's Bar and Restaurant perfect spot to eat and reasonably priced. We had a great window seat . Service was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BusyJ
Business
Albany, NY, USA
Jan 19, 2014

A Good Stay

Clean room, courteous staff. No hassle with checkin and easy checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail
Sep 1, 2008

Great Stay at New York

Upon entering The New York Marriott Downtown, I was very pleased with my choice! The hotel was vibrant, full of happenings and staff very courteous and pleasant. I had an 8:00 a.m. flight into NY and took cab directly to hotel to ask about getting luggage held since checkin time was 4:00p.m. To my surprise, I was able to checkin promptly, proceed to my room to check out my accomodations, and start my tour of the city immediately!! Room was large (2 beds), had separate lighted closet for hangup clothes, nice flat screen TV and drawer safe which was a nice surprise. Hotel has a very safe environment/location and concierges very helpful with directions and map to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has two restaurants and a coffee shop. Is within walking distance of business district, World Trade Center site and the Fire Department Memorial Wall (several affordable restaurants close by).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland Park
Jul 1, 2008

Perfect Location for Family Vacation

The downtown marriot was outstanding. The room was good sized. We fit 2 adults a 14 year old and and an 11 year old in the room comfortably. There was a desk with a huge work area, a flat Screen TV and a comfortable chair to sit in. Despite all that we were not squeezed in this room. We also had a nice view of the Hudson River. we could see Ellis Island and New Jersey. The statue of Liberty was blocked by another building. The bathroom was also very large and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were walking distance to Wall Street ( make sure you have a reservation to get into the New York Stock Exchange), The bull, Battery Park, the Ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the site of the World Trade Center. We were also a short walk to all subway trains. We used the trains every day of our trip. They were clean and safe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 13, 2008

business trip

Great, clean, comfy room. Perfect location for all of my meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 is the bomb

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top