$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
A Good Stay

Clean room, courteous staff. No hassle with checkin and easy checkout. See full review

  • BusyJ
  • Jan 19, 2014
NYC post Christmas pre New Years

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown. The Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The... See full review

  • Special G
  • Dec 29, 2013
Downtown Manhattan hotel with chic units

Offering spacious event spaces, well-furnished accommodations, and convenient services right in the heart of New York's financial district, New York Marriott Downtown makes for an ideal base for corporate and leisure travelers in the Big Apple. This chic property in downtown Manhattan is close to the 9/11 Memorial, Statue of Liberty Ellis Island, Battery Park, and Museum of Jewish Heritage. Business hubs like New York Stock Exchange and Wall Street are also a short walk away.

New York Marriott hotel features 14 conference rooms and a grand ballroom that can accommodate up to 450 guests. Additional services include Wi-Fi access in public areas, concierge, business center, room service, valet parking (fees apply), and daily housekeeping. Guests at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center on site.

Diners can savor all-time American favourites at in-house Bill's Bar & Burger and Bill's West Side Bar . After touring the virant city, patrons can head back to the hotel and have signature frappes and coffee at Starbucks.

3 Reasons to Stay
  • Downtown Manhattan location
  • Modern units with up-to-date amenities
  • Flexible event spaces for social and business events
New York Marriott Downtown Rooms

New York Marriott Downtown offers spacious rooms and suites equipped with modern amenities. Each unit has Wi-Fi access, cable TV, safe deposit box, iPod docking station, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some units have scenic views of the Statue of Liberty and New York City Harbor and separate living room.

Things to Do
  • 9/11 Memorial (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • New York Stock Exchange (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Statue of Liberty Ellis Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wall Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Battery Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Chinatown (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Times Square (3.7 mi/6.0 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Central Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Hotel Map

40.7097 -74.0147
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 22.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 13.50, MI, SW;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Financial District: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.4 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi

Dining

Bill's Bar & Burger
A top New York burger joint, Bill's Bar & Burger features freshly ground, hand-pressed burgers with loads of options along with fries, shakes, salads, starters and even some big plates for a delightful culinary experience in the financial district of NYC.
Bill's West Side Bar
Enjoy the hearty and extensive menu of Bill's Bar & Burger in the secluded setting of Bill's West Side Bar. Available for dinner and private dining inside the New York Marriott Downtown.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks offering busy travelers and locals a convenient option to restaurants in downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fontana
Aug 30, 2008

Very Family Friendly

This was my first trip to New York and my grandmother and i stayed at the New York Marriott Downtown and whether it?s your first or your twenty first time in New York this hotel is the one to stay at. It might be a little expensive but it?s worth the money. The hotel is centrally located your with five minutes of Battery Park which leads you to The Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island two blocks from Wall St. and a minute from Ground Zero. The Subway is only a block away too. This was the best hotel I ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrery Park Was Beautful And The Statue Of Liberty And Elis Island One word Amazing. Everything you do is within walking distance or within walking distance to the subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 13, 2008

business trip

Great, clean, comfy room. Perfect location for all of my meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 is the bomb

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ogdensburg
Aug 26, 2008

The perfect spot

The Marriott Downtown was very comfortable. The room was a perfect size for 4 people. I only wish there were a separate vanity area other than the bathroom. The view from our window was fantastic. For us; the location was perfect -- out of the way, not as busy traffic wise (ok somewhat), easy to find, and near smaller eateries and such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ground zero is only a few blocks from the hotel. There is a small restaurant 2-3 blocks away -- George's good food and reasonable prices. A little walk further will get you to Battery Park and the ferry to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Highland Park
Jul 1, 2008

Perfect Location for Family Vacation

The downtown marriot was outstanding. The room was good sized. We fit 2 adults a 14 year old and and an 11 year old in the room comfortably. There was a desk with a huge work area, a flat Screen TV and a comfortable chair to sit in. Despite all that we were not squeezed in this room. We also had a nice view of the Hudson River. we could see Ellis Island and New Jersey. The statue of Liberty was blocked by another building. The bathroom was also very large and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were walking distance to Wall Street ( make sure you have a reservation to get into the New York Stock Exchange), The bull, Battery Park, the Ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the site of the World Trade Center. We were also a short walk to all subway trains. We used the trains every day of our trip. They were clean and safe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando
Aug 12, 2008

Walking distance from everything

The Marriot NY Downtown hotel in the middle of the financial district in South Manhattan is excellent. Walking distance from everything in the zone (Ground Zero, Wall St., Ferry Stations, Battery Park, and huge list). What wasn't nearby, metro stations and bus stops were also at walking distance. The staff were very helpful and very polite. The room had the perfect size for my family of four and since we were assigned a corner room in the 26th floor, the views were amazing. The only things to consider when staying at this hotel are: - Internet access is not free - There is no microwave oven in the room Should the above items be included, then prepare for the perfect experience (when you travel with kids). Other than that, I am very satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

- Battery Park is 2 blocks away - Ground Zero is one block away - Wall Street is 3 blocks away. - So.Manhattan ferry station (servicing ferry to Coney Island/Governor's Island) and Clinton Mansion (ferries to Ellis Island/Liberty Island) are 7 block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tallahassee
Sep 28, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

New York Marriott Downtown is a very nice hotel, in the middle of Financial District, walking distance to subway, with WTC site and Century 21 just around the corner. The staff was friendly, the elevators slow - but I was there on vacation and in no hurry, so this did not bother me... The beds were cozy, sheets of high quality - Marriott-style. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to do lots of sightseeing in its vicinity or are in NYC for business located in downtown. I usually come to NYC for the pure pleasure of being there and next time will try to book something in midtown - just to be closer to the majority of landmarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Starbucks in the lobby was very nice to start the day with, but I found wonderful cafes near the hotel for wonderful NY-style breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Marcos
Aug 29, 2008

Awesome

This place was clean and plenty sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fredos Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Racine
Aug 25, 2008

Surprisingly Friendly

Hotel staff from curb to the room to the restaurant were very professional, but much friendlier than one would expect in a big city. The lady cleaning our room was exceptional and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel and staff were great, but the location would be more convenient for business/financial district than for Broadway shows, etc. Room was well appointed and very clean. Surprised we could see the East River from our room. Iced cold water bottles given to us by Doorman calling cabs for us. Would recommend to anyone if location is right for their needs. Coffee drinkers might want to know a Starbucks is in the hotel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Financial district, Battery Park, City Hall, Trinity Church, St. Pauls Church, World Trade Center site, Pier 17, Wall Street, and more. View Statue of Liberty from Battery Park. Bus tours and cruises also avaialable nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brampton, *
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent in all ways!!!!!

We arrived at the hotel early and thought we would have to wait till 3pm to check-in. The staff was able to arrange our room within minutes with an amazing view! We also enjoyed the help from the friendly hotal staff on opinions on where to go for dinner since we were all from out of town. EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 is around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kmb5482
Nashville, TN
Apr 26, 2009

Bryant's Review II

This is the second time we have stayed at the Marriott in the Financial District. We absolutely LOVE it!!! The lobby is gorgeous, and the staff is always there to greet you. When we arrived, there were candles lit all throughout the lobby. It was very beautiful. The rooms are just like all Marriott rooms. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms provide Bath & Body products, the LCD tv is excellent, the fridge is convenient, and the for a Manhattan hotel, the room is spacious. Even though you have to pay for internet, I was able to pick up free wireless internet. The elevators are no longer slow. They also have a Starbucks and a couple of restaurants, but if you walk a block to Rector Street, there is a pizza place, gyro place, deli, and convenience store. Another block away is a TGIFridays. The WTC Site is a block away, as well as Battery Park for the Statue of Liberty. Wall Street is a few blocks away. I was impressed to see that one of the front desk workers could speak French. The concierge was able to give us specific directions to our show, along with a small map. When you check-in, they also give you a very nicely detailed map of Manhattan. The number one reason why we keep picking the Downtown Marriott is because of its easy access to the subway and the Path. Two blocks away, there are two subway stops on Rector Street, which will take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. The Path is about three blocks away at the WTC stop. We take it to Newark Penn Station, and then we go to Newark airport, via the NJ Transit. Therefore, we can tote our luggage to and from the airport, straight to the Marriott, for about $10, which sure beats an $80 taxi ride from the airport! The hotel also held our luggage for us when we checked out since our flight was later that day. We will continue to stay at the Downtown Marriott every trip we take to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search