$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
A Good Stay

Clean room, courteous staff. No hassle with checkin and easy checkout. See full review

  • BusyJ
  • Jan 19, 2014
NYC post Christmas pre New Years

We had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown. The Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The... See full review

  • Special G
  • Dec 29, 2013
Downtown Manhattan hotel with chic units

Offering spacious event spaces, well-furnished accommodations, and convenient services right in the heart of New York's financial district, New York Marriott Downtown makes for an ideal base for corporate and leisure travelers in the Big Apple. This chic property in downtown Manhattan is close to the 9/11 Memorial, Statue of Liberty Ellis Island, Battery Park, and Museum of Jewish Heritage. Business hubs like New York Stock Exchange and Wall Street are also a short walk away.

New York Marriott hotel features 14 conference rooms and a grand ballroom that can accommodate up to 450 guests. Additional services include Wi-Fi access in public areas, concierge, business center, room service, valet parking (fees apply), and daily housekeeping. Guests at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center on site.

Diners can savor all-time American favourites at in-house Bill's Bar & Burger and Bill's West Side Bar . After touring the virant city, patrons can head back to the hotel and have signature frappes and coffee at Starbucks.

3 Reasons to Stay
  • Downtown Manhattan location
  • Modern units with up-to-date amenities
  • Flexible event spaces for social and business events
New York Marriott Downtown Rooms

New York Marriott Downtown offers spacious rooms and suites equipped with modern amenities. Each unit has Wi-Fi access, cable TV, safe deposit box, iPod docking station, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some units have scenic views of the Statue of Liberty and New York City Harbor and separate living room.

Things to Do
  • 9/11 Memorial (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • New York Stock Exchange (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Statue of Liberty Ellis Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wall Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Battery Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Chinatown (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5.0 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Times Square (3.7 mi/6.0 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Central Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Hotel Map

40.7097 -74.0147
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 22.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 13.50, MI, SW;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0.1 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.3 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.3 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Financial District: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.4 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi

Dining

Bill's Bar & Burger
A top New York burger joint, Bill's Bar & Burger features freshly ground, hand-pressed burgers with loads of options along with fries, shakes, salads, starters and even some big plates for a delightful culinary experience in the financial district of NYC.
Bill's West Side Bar
Enjoy the hearty and extensive menu of Bill's Bar & Burger in the secluded setting of Bill's West Side Bar. Available for dinner and private dining inside the New York Marriott Downtown.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy Starbucks offering busy travelers and locals a convenient option to restaurants in downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 6, 2009

6/27 Trip

The hotel staff was friendly. The room was clean. It was an exceptional deal for the price of the plan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catching the number 1 train closer to the hotel. We were instructed to catch other trains that made getting to the hotel with all of the construction a nightmare. We found out about the number 1 train on the last day of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, Ga.
Jun 10, 2009

Ron's review

Be careful with Cheap Tickets. They didn't do my reservation properly - the hotel didn't have it. They patiently called Cheap Tickets and resolved it, but it took 30 minutes. Kudos to the staff, boos to Cheap Tickets. All else good, except the main hotel restaurant - Roy's - is not open. Concierge could be more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 22, 2009

Good all purpose hotel with fabulous bed

Would stay at the hotel again, however, would not book through Orbitz as I was informed at the reg desk that I could not get Marriott reward points for my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Starbuck's onsite!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kmb5482
Business
Nashville, TN
Apr 26, 2009

Bryant's Review II

This is the second time we have stayed at the Marriott in the Financial District. We absolutely LOVE it!!! The lobby is gorgeous, and the staff is always there to greet you. When we arrived, there were candles lit all throughout the lobby. It was very beautiful. The rooms are just like all Marriott rooms. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms provide Bath & Body products, the LCD tv is excellent, the fridge is convenient, and the for a Manhattan hotel, the room is spacious. Even though you have to pay for internet, I was able to pick up free wireless internet. The elevators are no longer slow. They also have a Starbucks and a couple of restaurants, but if you walk a block to Rector Street, there is a pizza place, gyro place, deli, and convenience store. Another block away is a TGIFridays. The WTC Site is a block away, as well as Battery Park for the Statue of Liberty. Wall Street is a few blocks away. I was impressed to see that one of the front desk workers could speak French. The concierge was able to give us specific directions to our show, along with a small map. When you check-in, they also give you a very nicely detailed map of Manhattan. The number one reason why we keep picking the Downtown Marriott is because of its easy access to the subway and the Path. Two blocks away, there are two subway stops on Rector Street, which will take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. The Path is about three blocks away at the WTC stop. We take it to Newark Penn Station, and then we go to Newark airport, via the NJ Transit. Therefore, we can tote our luggage to and from the airport, straight to the Marriott, for about $10, which sure beats an $80 taxi ride from the airport! The hotel also held our luggage for us when we checked out since our flight was later that day. We will continue to stay at the Downtown Marriott every trip we take to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wheeling, wv
Apr 22, 2009

downtown option

We chose this location for proximity to battery park and launches to Statue and Ellis island tours. Nice walk to Brooklyn Bridge. Nice view of Ellis island. to get both Statue and Island view I think you have to be above 30th floor. Pre paid breakfast 20$/couple option was a good deal, half the price they charged on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stone street has charming outdoor dinning option for several restaurants inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westwood, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Conveniently located.

Good experience at hotel, nice breakfast. In NYC to see friends and sightsee. Close to subway and short drive to midtown. Battery Park location is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient to Soho and dinner in Little Italy. Although Little Italy currently consists of only one block, there are plenty of dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thornhill
Jan 1, 2009

Very family friendly

The hotel staff is very friendly and professional, check in/out takes 1 minute. Rooms are extremely clean and I guess it is a first time I'm having difficulties to point to some issues. OK, the worst thing just came to my mind is that check in time is 3pm, so do not plan to arrive early morning - that is what we did. But hotel staff offered to leave our baggage and we spend a great time around, so by the time our room was ready (~1pm, 2 hours earlier than check in time) we already visited some places around. Great hotel for family with kids, as the area is not busy and at the same time location is convenient - close to subway, so it takes 30 minutes to get to the Times Square. We enjoyed stay in this hotel and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is perfect if you want to explore NY. It is located in lower Manhattan, so somewhere between Manhattan and Brooklyn. To get to the Times square it takes ~30 minutes on subway, at the same time other attractions like Statue of Liberty, Wall street (10 minutes to walk) are around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 7, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

The staff was Very friendly and helpful with questions i had.. they gave us a Great room with a beautiful view as it was our first stay in NYC..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 a discount shopping complex is blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee
Sep 28, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

New York Marriott Downtown is a very nice hotel, in the middle of Financial District, walking distance to subway, with WTC site and Century 21 just around the corner. The staff was friendly, the elevators slow - but I was there on vacation and in no hurry, so this did not bother me... The beds were cozy, sheets of high quality - Marriott-style. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to do lots of sightseeing in its vicinity or are in NYC for business located in downtown. I usually come to NYC for the pure pleasure of being there and next time will try to book something in midtown - just to be closer to the majority of landmarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Starbucks in the lobby was very nice to start the day with, but I found wonderful cafes near the hotel for wonderful NY-style breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail
Sep 1, 2008

Great Stay at New York

Upon entering The New York Marriott Downtown, I was very pleased with my choice! The hotel was vibrant, full of happenings and staff very courteous and pleasant. I had an 8:00 a.m. flight into NY and took cab directly to hotel to ask about getting luggage held since checkin time was 4:00p.m. To my surprise, I was able to checkin promptly, proceed to my room to check out my accomodations, and start my tour of the city immediately!! Room was large (2 beds), had separate lighted closet for hangup clothes, nice flat screen TV and drawer safe which was a nice surprise. Hotel has a very safe environment/location and concierges very helpful with directions and map to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has two restaurants and a coffee shop. Is within walking distance of business district, World Trade Center site and the Fire Department Memorial Wall (several affordable restaurants close by).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top