$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ireland
May 11, 2010

Delighted with our choice

We were extremely pleased with our decision to stay out of midtown as this area is perhaps somewhat underated. The subway connections are only two blocks away from the hotel and getting uptown is exceptionally easy. The hotel is very close to a lovely promenade and Battery Park which is very scenic and a complete break from the hustle of the city. Century 21 is very close by and is a serious bargain hunter's delight. As you are so close to it, it is easy to get there very early, do some shopping and still have the rest of the day to sightsee. Restaurants are a little limited in the area but George's Restaurant on Greenwich Street provides an excellent breakfast. The World Trade Centre site is beside the hotel and makes for a sobering visit. The hotel itself is very pleasant, clean and quiet, the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable so we had no complaints at all. All in all, we would return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 10, 2010

"Standard accommodations, so so service"

The television did not work at all and the room service was terrible. Overall staff interaction wasn't bad but it wasn't exemplary either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpak
Friends
Boston, MA
May 3, 2010

Marriott Downtown

Staff very friendly and able to give recommendations for dining and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by the water with a playground and walking/running path!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ohio
Apr 5, 2010

Nice hotel!

This was our first trip to NYC. This is a very fine hotel. We were able to check in at 9 am and it we were in our room within 10 minutes of entering the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. It was clean, the pillows were WONDERFUL and the lounge had numerous TVs where we could watch the NCAA tourney. :) Lots of construction around at this time, but that is to be expected. You could get cabs quickly and it's within walking distance of a lot of downtown sites, but it's a haul to the midtown sites. On our next trip I will probably stay closer to midtown for a family vacation. There's just more going on up there and it would have been a lot easier and cheaper to walk to than to get cabs. I suppose we could have rode the subway, but as newbies, we felt more comfortable walking or cabbing it. The only other thing about the hotel was that the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan. When you have a few people taking showers, it's like a rainforest. Overall, it's a very nice hotel, although probably more for business travelers. I would stay at a Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to the Liberty Island/Ellis Island tour, GO EARLY. We got down to Battery Park around 11:30 and waited FOUR HOURS to get on the boat. (On a Thursday). By that time, we couldn't get off at Liberty Island since it was the last ferry and could only spend 1 hour at Ellis Island. While we were waiting for the ferry, the park employees, kept saying "only about an hour from here" which was completely false. Their lines have no order to them and if you're honest and don't cut, you'll be there forever...

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CT
Mar 29, 2010

Good choice, competitive rate for locale

Was pleasant experience. A bit expensive to park ($50) but not unexpected in NYC. Room was super clean and well kept...great updated technology in the room. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near all of the Hudson River ferries and attractions

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Great hotel, Location was great.

Hotel location was great. Easy walk to Battery Park. Easy access to Subway and lots of Taxi's around. Hotel staff was very helpfuL. Rooms were great. Would definately stay here again. Be prepared to take some sort of transportation to get to mid town. But atleast you experience all of Manhattan that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes to get around.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Carlisle, PA
Feb 15, 2010

New York Marriott Downtown

We did not spend much time at the hotel. It is three blocks from Battery Park. Battery Park is where you catch the ferry going to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. This Marriott is two blocks from the World Trade Center construction site (Ground Zero). There is an Irish pub on the next block. We had dinner there the first night. It was called O'Hara's. We had breakfast every morning at Roy's (in the Marriott). The food and service were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is three blocks from the hotel.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Korsario
Family
Mex
Feb 2, 2010

Excellent PRice, location, quality!!!

Very recommended. [...] Subway y just 2 blocks away. 5 blocks to batery park. Restaurants, shops, coffes, etc, in a radius of 2-3 blocks. Rooms very clean, warm, nice bathroom, etc. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A medium Mall 3 blocks away.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Toronto
Jan 14, 2010

Good

Good...Standard hotel..no real complaints...Decent location right by the World Trade Center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy Bottles!!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Utah
Jan 11, 2010

Loved it

The hotel was in a great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top