$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil from Colorado
Business
Golden, CO
Aug 17, 2010

Mid-August visit

Hotel was close to downtown sites, such as Ground Zero and the ferry for the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island as well as being near the Rector Street station for the 1 (subway) train. New York (Manhattan) hotels have outrageous prices, but the weekend prices here were LESS outrageous and we found a rate that added only $5.00 to the per night room rate, but bought 3 breakfast buffets for the family that we would have had to pay $66 for otherwise. Rooms were a little small, but we expected that in New York. We had wanted two double beds, but no such rooms were available, so we had to make do with a king-size and a roll-away for the four of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchant's, suggested by the concierge, had good food, friendly staff and moderate prices less than a five minute walk from the hotel's back door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juarez, chih. mex
Aug 11, 2010

closed to busness

I like the coffe and the beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 14, 2010

New York Marriott Downtown

Friendly staff with very fast response time and elevators with very little wait time. Great location near transport and water. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
COLORADO
Jul 6, 2010

NICE HOTEL GOOD LOCATION,

NICE CLEAN, GOOD LOCATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BATTERY PARK, STAUE OF LIBERTY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheryl B
Business
Chino, CA
Jun 23, 2010

Best Value!

This Marriot is in a great location. Walking distance from the Hudson River, Battery Park and the Ellis Island tour. Also walking distance to all the subway lines. After spending the day at places like Times Square and Coney Island it was great to come back to this location in Manhattan. Our teen kids were able to explore the local neighborhoods on thier own and still be walking distance to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great places in walking distance from the hotel that we tried many different ones. However, we found Izzy & Nat's Deli one block up towards the riverfront which turned out to be a favorite place for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 7, 2010

had a very nice visit

Great location for Statue of Liberty and other attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 4, 2010

Superb staff.

A two day trip to see the Statue of Liberty and Empire State building could have been too much for the children if they hadn't been so comfortable in the hotel. Excellent breakfast facillities and incredible consideration of the front desk personel made it a trip to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado travelers
Business
Colorado
Jun 1, 2010

New York Marriott Downtown

This was our second time in New York and my mom and I were there for my little brother's graduation over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel location was WONDERFUL and easy to get to by taxi, subway or walking. Pretty good distance form the LaGuardia airport (About $30 tax ride). The staff was always professional and helpful. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were SOOO luxurious! We looked forward to coming back to the hotel and sleeping in the comfortable beds each night! We will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When taking a taxi to the hotel SPECIFY the downtown Marriott financial district or make sure you have the address. When we first arrived the cab from the LaGuardia airport took us to the wrong hotel! Very frusterating, time and money consuming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Jun 1, 2010

Fantastic staff and wonderful rooms

We stayed one night for a Yankee game. We choose a downtown location to stay at because of less traffic. It was a great time and the staff here Is great. Early check in, cabs without hesitation, and good company at the hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
May 11, 2010

Delighted with our choice

We were extremely pleased with our decision to stay out of midtown as this area is perhaps somewhat underated. The subway connections are only two blocks away from the hotel and getting uptown is exceptionally easy. The hotel is very close to a lovely promenade and Battery Park which is very scenic and a complete break from the hustle of the city. Century 21 is very close by and is a serious bargain hunter's delight. As you are so close to it, it is easy to get there very early, do some shopping and still have the rest of the day to sightsee. Restaurants are a little limited in the area but George's Restaurant on Greenwich Street provides an excellent breakfast. The World Trade Centre site is beside the hotel and makes for a sobering visit. The hotel itself is very pleasant, clean and quiet, the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable so we had no complaints at all. All in all, we would return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top