$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 7, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

The staff was Very friendly and helpful with questions i had.. they gave us a Great room with a beautiful view as it was our first stay in NYC..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 a discount shopping complex is blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee
Sep 28, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

New York Marriott Downtown is a very nice hotel, in the middle of Financial District, walking distance to subway, with WTC site and Century 21 just around the corner. The staff was friendly, the elevators slow - but I was there on vacation and in no hurry, so this did not bother me... The beds were cozy, sheets of high quality - Marriott-style. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to do lots of sightseeing in its vicinity or are in NYC for business located in downtown. I usually come to NYC for the pure pleasure of being there and next time will try to book something in midtown - just to be closer to the majority of landmarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Starbucks in the lobby was very nice to start the day with, but I found wonderful cafes near the hotel for wonderful NY-style breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail
Sep 1, 2008

Great Stay at New York

Upon entering The New York Marriott Downtown, I was very pleased with my choice! The hotel was vibrant, full of happenings and staff very courteous and pleasant. I had an 8:00 a.m. flight into NY and took cab directly to hotel to ask about getting luggage held since checkin time was 4:00p.m. To my surprise, I was able to checkin promptly, proceed to my room to check out my accomodations, and start my tour of the city immediately!! Room was large (2 beds), had separate lighted closet for hangup clothes, nice flat screen TV and drawer safe which was a nice surprise. Hotel has a very safe environment/location and concierges very helpful with directions and map to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has two restaurants and a coffee shop. Is within walking distance of business district, World Trade Center site and the Fire Department Memorial Wall (several affordable restaurants close by).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fontana
Aug 30, 2008

Very Family Friendly

This was my first trip to New York and my grandmother and i stayed at the New York Marriott Downtown and whether it?s your first or your twenty first time in New York this hotel is the one to stay at. It might be a little expensive but it?s worth the money. The hotel is centrally located your with five minutes of Battery Park which leads you to The Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island two blocks from Wall St. and a minute from Ground Zero. The Subway is only a block away too. This was the best hotel I ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrery Park Was Beautful And The Statue Of Liberty And Elis Island One word Amazing. Everything you do is within walking distance or within walking distance to the subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Great Location

The Downtown Marriott had everything you would need for a 4 day stay, it was very clean and comfortable, we all slept good at night. The staff were very helpful and willing to please. It is in a excellent location. We have already recommended it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were a short walk to the hudson River & the East River, Wall street and battery park as well as the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Marcos
Aug 29, 2008

Awesome

This place was clean and plenty sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fredos Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogdensburg
Aug 26, 2008

The perfect spot

The Marriott Downtown was very comfortable. The room was a perfect size for 4 people. I only wish there were a separate vanity area other than the bathroom. The view from our window was fantastic. For us; the location was perfect -- out of the way, not as busy traffic wise (ok somewhat), easy to find, and near smaller eateries and such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ground zero is only a few blocks from the hotel. There is a small restaurant 2-3 blocks away -- George's good food and reasonable prices. A little walk further will get you to Battery Park and the ferry to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshalltown
Aug 25, 2008

Staff were great

Very friendly, helpful staff. Beds were comfy. Elevators were pretty slow. Location is good if you want all the tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Battery park is a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine
Aug 25, 2008

Surprisingly Friendly

Hotel staff from curb to the room to the restaurant were very professional, but much friendlier than one would expect in a big city. The lady cleaning our room was exceptional and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel and staff were great, but the location would be more convenient for business/financial district than for Broadway shows, etc. Room was well appointed and very clean. Surprised we could see the East River from our room. Iced cold water bottles given to us by Doorman calling cabs for us. Would recommend to anyone if location is right for their needs. Coffee drinkers might want to know a Starbucks is in the hotel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Financial district, Battery Park, City Hall, Trinity Church, St. Pauls Church, World Trade Center site, Pier 17, Wall Street, and more. View Statue of Liberty from Battery Park. Bus tours and cruises also avaialable nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Aug 12, 2008

Walking distance from everything

The Marriot NY Downtown hotel in the middle of the financial district in South Manhattan is excellent. Walking distance from everything in the zone (Ground Zero, Wall St., Ferry Stations, Battery Park, and huge list). What wasn't nearby, metro stations and bus stops were also at walking distance. The staff were very helpful and very polite. The room had the perfect size for my family of four and since we were assigned a corner room in the 26th floor, the views were amazing. The only things to consider when staying at this hotel are: - Internet access is not free - There is no microwave oven in the room Should the above items be included, then prepare for the perfect experience (when you travel with kids). Other than that, I am very satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

- Battery Park is 2 blocks away - Ground Zero is one block away - Wall Street is 3 blocks away. - So.Manhattan ferry station (servicing ferry to Coney Island/Governor's Island) and Clinton Mansion (ferries to Ellis Island/Liberty Island) are 7 block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top