$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

New York Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 85 West Street , at Albany Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ogdensburg
Aug 26, 2008

The perfect spot

The Marriott Downtown was very comfortable. The room was a perfect size for 4 people. I only wish there were a separate vanity area other than the bathroom. The view from our window was fantastic. For us; the location was perfect -- out of the way, not as busy traffic wise (ok somewhat), easy to find, and near smaller eateries and such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ground zero is only a few blocks from the hotel. There is a small restaurant 2-3 blocks away -- George's good food and reasonable prices. A little walk further will get you to Battery Park and the ferry to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Marshalltown
Aug 25, 2008

Staff were great

Very friendly, helpful staff. Beds were comfy. Elevators were pretty slow. Location is good if you want all the tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Battery park is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Racine
Aug 25, 2008

Surprisingly Friendly

Hotel staff from curb to the room to the restaurant were very professional, but much friendlier than one would expect in a big city. The lady cleaning our room was exceptional and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel and staff were great, but the location would be more convenient for business/financial district than for Broadway shows, etc. Room was well appointed and very clean. Surprised we could see the East River from our room. Iced cold water bottles given to us by Doorman calling cabs for us. Would recommend to anyone if location is right for their needs. Coffee drinkers might want to know a Starbucks is in the hotel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Financial district, Battery Park, City Hall, Trinity Church, St. Pauls Church, World Trade Center site, Pier 17, Wall Street, and more. View Statue of Liberty from Battery Park. Bus tours and cruises also avaialable nearby.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orlando
Aug 12, 2008

Walking distance from everything

The Marriot NY Downtown hotel in the middle of the financial district in South Manhattan is excellent. Walking distance from everything in the zone (Ground Zero, Wall St., Ferry Stations, Battery Park, and huge list). What wasn't nearby, metro stations and bus stops were also at walking distance. The staff were very helpful and very polite. The room had the perfect size for my family of four and since we were assigned a corner room in the 26th floor, the views were amazing. The only things to consider when staying at this hotel are: - Internet access is not free - There is no microwave oven in the room Should the above items be included, then prepare for the perfect experience (when you travel with kids). Other than that, I am very satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

- Battery Park is 2 blocks away - Ground Zero is one block away - Wall Street is 3 blocks away. - So.Manhattan ferry station (servicing ferry to Coney Island/Governor's Island) and Clinton Mansion (ferries to Ellis Island/Liberty Island) are 7 block

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jul 28, 2008

My review of New York Marriott Downtown

the marriott in new york city in the financial district was very easy and had a wonderful staff.The staff could answer any and all questions that we had.The room always was clean snf the hotel was also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the subways are close and easy to use and the cabs are great too.Shopping and dining are everywhere.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Brampton, *
Jul 13, 2008

Excellent in all ways!!!!!

We arrived at the hotel early and thought we would have to wait till 3pm to check-in. The staff was able to arrange our room within minutes with an amazing view! We also enjoyed the help from the friendly hotal staff on opinions on where to go for dinner since we were all from out of town. EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 is around the corner!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 11, 2008

2 day stay

I took my wife and 13 year old daughter to see the sights in New York. The Downtown New York Marriott is located in the business dist. From our room we had a view of the Hudson and the Jersey shore line. We could also see Ellis Island. It is a short 2 block walk to the number 1 train at Rector St. Station. It is about a 10 min. walk to South Sea Port, Staten Island ferry, and the Statue of Libirty boat dock. The room itself had a comfortable bed, large bath room and a fold out sofa. It was a great room, with a great view, in a great location, with the price being good for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Jul 6, 2008

Plesant surprise

The New York Marriott Downtown was more than we expected. At check in the clerk offered to find us a room with a view, and it was a great view. The staff was very helpful- we were given complimentary umbrellas when rain threatened our day, an elevator was out of service and we were escorted to a service elevator so we wouldn't have to wait. The conceirge lobby was very lovely: great food, and service. The location was excellent! Walking distance or a short cab or subway ride away from everything. Well Done!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

South street seaport-we enjoyed the Zepher ride. Broadway shows are a short subway or cab ride away. Shopping was very convenient by cab or subway.

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Highland Park
Jul 1, 2008

Perfect Location for Family Vacation

The downtown marriot was outstanding. The room was good sized. We fit 2 adults a 14 year old and and an 11 year old in the room comfortably. There was a desk with a huge work area, a flat Screen TV and a comfortable chair to sit in. Despite all that we were not squeezed in this room. We also had a nice view of the Hudson River. we could see Ellis Island and New Jersey. The statue of Liberty was blocked by another building. The bathroom was also very large and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were walking distance to Wall Street ( make sure you have a reservation to get into the New York Stock Exchange), The bull, Battery Park, the Ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the site of the World Trade Center. We were also a short walk to all subway trains. We used the trains every day of our trip. They were clean and safe!

Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Miami
Jun 17, 2008

very nice hotel.

the hotel was very comfortable and the room was clean ,and the hotel staff responds well to customer needs always willing to assits and help .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is near to batery park and the wiew to hudson river is great.

Back to menu Return to top