$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

NYLO New York City

4 stars
2178 Broadway Avenue, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
218 reviews
Great hotel at a great price

This hotel always meets our expectations from their amenities and high end bathroom products to the... See full review

  • Jeff Blums
  • Dec 8, 2014
UWS Gem

I Travel to NYC every 2 weeks . And I will only stay at Nylo . This is an Upper West Side Gem ! See full review

  • Blonde Kitty
  • Dec 5, 2014
Upper West Side style on Broadway near Central Park, museum and subway

A sophisticated and classic New York City hideaway, NYLO New York City boasts a location on famed Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. Guests experience authentic NYC life within walking distance of its best attractions, including the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park, both only a few blocks away. Distinctive guest rooms invite serenity, and some feature private balconies as well as dramatic views of the Hudson River or Central Park. 

Highlights

  • The 14th- and 16th-floor guest-access balconies provide views across the city
  • Serafina Bar and Restaurant

  • Walk to nearby Central Park to experience one of the greatest urban parklands in the world

Location

Experience Manhattan right on Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood. The American Museum of Natural History and Central Park are both within a few blocks, as is the subway station.

Rooms

Serene and contemporary with a touch of trendy, NYLO New York City's atmospheric guest rooms and suites deliver comfort with style. Views might include the Hudson River or Central Park. Choose from standard to deluxe double, with a range of amenities from flat-screen TV and Egyptian cotton bed linens to Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

At Serafina Bar and Restaurant, indulge in a burst of Italian flavors in a vibrant setting. Work it off at the 24-hour fitness center, with state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight equipment. Or retreat to the lofty guest-access balcony zone to relax and take in the city skyline.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.7 mi/7.8 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.5 mi/31.5 km)

Attractions

  • American Museum of Natural History (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Times Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Please note we accept pets at an additional charge of $40 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NYLO New York City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

NYLO New York City Rooms

NYLO New York
Boasting 240 square-feet of contemporary elegance, combined with Upper West Side charm and tranquility - there's nothing "Standard" about these rooms. Perfect for NYC getaways or getting work done, you'll find all the comforts of home and more at NYLO New York City. 1 Queen Bed or 1 King Bed. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
NYLO Superior
With 260 square-feet of comfortable modern design, our Superior Rooms offer a choice of King or Queen-size beds. Step off our cheery, sunlit hallways into these spacious rooms for an Upper West Side retreat like no other. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
Deluxe Double Double
280 square-feet of space make our Deluxe Double Double Rooms ideal for family and friends traveling together. Each room accommodates up to 4 people, with 2 Double Beds. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
NYLO Deluxe King
Offering 340 square feet of oversized and contemporary elegance. Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee.
NYLO Panoramic Deluxe
Showcasing 300 square feet of space, with private outdoor balcony and sit-out. Located on floors 14 and 15, offering amazing Central Park, Hudson River, or Upper West Side views. Upgrade yourself to something special! Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door.
NYLO Deluxe Queen Queen Suite
With 450 square feet of space. An amazing option for family or friends traveling together. Your home away from home! Suite amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, two queen beds with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door
Lifestyle Loft
450 square feet with private outdoor balcony and a sitout - located on floors 14 through 16, offering breathtaking Central Park, Hudson River or Upper West Side views. Amenities include; Signature turn down service, Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee, Daily Newspaper delivered to your door. Ideal for a romantic weekend escapade or weekday getaways far from the maddening midtown crowd. The ideal location for a proposal or celebrate a special occasion - the rest will be history!

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Serafina
Vibrant frescos grace the walls while the pizza oven and its aroma is the center of attraction. Offering delicious Northern Italian cuisine, Serafina Upper West prepares fresh pastas, pizzas, seafood and meats. Choose from lunch or dinner ad dine in or take-out. Friendly destination for everyone craving a fabulous Italian meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for NYLO New York City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donnajillgutman
Business
Chicago, il
Nov 25, 2014

Incarcerated at the NYLO

The worst experience checking in. I have stayed in this hotel before, I had my confirmation in hand, my son & daughter-in-law were also checking in and they would not accept that my husband was not standing by my side. At least 30 minutes of back and forth until they insisted I called the booking company if I wanted to get into my room - and that came from the GM. My verified booking documents , my credit card, my husband's credit card, my drivers license and that wasn't enough. I will never stay there again nor recommend. It took another 30 minutes at the front desk after the booking agent called into reservations to get the room. Sidebar, the bathroom was dirty, an old pill melting on the tile floor. I took a photo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Serafina is a delicious restaurant. Fortunately it is not a reflection on the NYLO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindz12
Business
Upstate NY
Nov 18, 2014

Great location

We had a great experience at NYLO, the staff was very attentive and we had no problem when we arrived early to check in, they had a room available for us. The only problem that I had was the walls in the room had a lot of scuff marks on them,almost as if someone kicked them, just wished the cleaning staff would've wiped them down a bit. Otherwise fantastic location and great atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSKatDC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 26, 2014

Perfect for Central Park Explorations

The NYLO (pronounced NI-LOW) is the new name for another hotel and the recent renovation was nicely done. Located at the intersection of West 77th Street and Broadway, it is a short walk to the American Natural History Museum (ANHM), Central Park, and Riverside Park. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. No frills, but everything you need. Plenty of places to eat nearby. If you have business or plan to see the best parts of Central Park and/or the ANHM, which also houses the Hayden Planetarium, you should definitely consider the NYLO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Farm, a popular restaurant just around the corner, features Chinese cuisine with a green-market philosophy. In other words, they use higher quality ingredients and appeal to modern tastes. Dumplings are their specialty but everything else being carried past our table by the wait staff also looked fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
It's a Good Life
Business
Powell River, BC, Canada
Oct 14, 2014

Excellent New York experience!

Room was great! Felt like we were in New York and not just an ordinary hotel room. Bathroom was modern and new. Room was a bit small but bed and bedding very comfortable! We loved the lobby piano bar! It was a great first impression when we arrived. Location was not too far from time square....20 minute walk but lots to look at on the way! What an amazing city and we found people very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

So much to do! We really enjoyed Wicked!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdough
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Good Stay

Nice location, close to the subway. Clean hotel and very easy check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mfss
Business
Encino, CA
Oct 6, 2014

Very good Staff!

Very nice experience and amazing Staff. Very cordial and helpful!! For sure would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Erminia Ristorante Italiano Good Food Romantic place Small Place Need a Reservation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Chavez
Business
New York, NY
Sep 16, 2014

Staff was great!

We really enjoyed our staff. Hat tip to the staff, who were willing and eager to help make our (and our pets') stay a special one. The doormen / bellmen are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiev35
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Perfect stay - just what we hoped for

The lobby is chic but comfortable. Every interaction we had with the staff was cordial and pleasant. Free internet in the lobby was adequate for my needs, and gave me an excuse to hang out in the posh bar area. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhah
Business
columbus, ohio
Aug 27, 2014

magical weekend

NYLO was wonderful. The best feature was the rooftop terrace - just wish it would stay open later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Attorney Lee
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jul 29, 2014

NYLO; One of MYC's Best!

We stayed at this Hotel Last Year when it had it was called "On the Avenue." We came back because we like it. Now, in addition to the splendid 16th floor balcony view point, it boasts new design, and completely homey new lobby, a proper and informative realm of information, great service with the guests, incredible location near the Museum, we couldn't ask for more. A little pricey; but worth it! ALL FIVE ***** STARS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

KNOW the area; ZABAR's, like the Museum just blocks away!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top