$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

NYLO New York City

4 stars
2178 Broadway Avenue, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
256 reviews
One of the best

Just love this hotel . Can't ask for better. Will go back again See full review

  • Kazan
  • Jul 10, 2014
Hotel

Love this place. Will go back again. Everything was great. Love the roof top . See full review

  • Kazan
  • Jul 8, 2014
Upper West Side style on Broadway near Central Park, museum and subway

A sophisticated and classic New York City hideaway, NYLO New York City boasts a location on famed Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. Guests experience authentic NYC life within walking distance of its best attractions, including the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park, both only a few blocks away. Distinctive guest rooms invite serenity, and some feature private balconies as well as dramatic views of the Hudson River or Central Park. 

Highlights

  • The 14th- and 16th-floor guest-access balconies provide views across the city
  • Serafina Bar and Restaurant

  • Walk to nearby Central Park to experience one of the greatest urban parklands in the world

Location

Experience Manhattan right on Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood. The American Museum of Natural History and Central Park are both within a few blocks, as is the subway station.

Rooms

Serene and contemporary with a touch of trendy, NYLO New York City's atmospheric guest rooms and suites deliver comfort with style. Views might include the Hudson River or Central Park. Choose from standard to deluxe double, with a range of amenities from flat-screen TV and Egyptian cotton bed linens to Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

At Serafina Bar and Restaurant, indulge in a burst of Italian flavors in a vibrant setting. Work it off at the 24-hour fitness center, with state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight equipment. Or retreat to the lofty guest-access balcony zone to relax and take in the city skyline.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.7 mi/7.8 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.5 mi/31.5 km)

Attractions

  • American Museum of Natural History (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Times Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Please note we accept pets at an additional charge of $40 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

NYLO New York City Rooms

NYLO Deluxe King
Offering 340 square feet of oversized and contemporary elegance. Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee.
NYLO Panoramic Deluxe
Showcasing 300 square feet of space, with private outdoor balcony and sit-out. Located on floors 14 and 15, offering amazing Central Park, Hudson River, or Upper West Side views. Upgrade yourself to something special! Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door.
NYLO Deluxe Queen Queen Suite
With 450 square feet of space. An amazing option for family or friends traveling together. Your home away from home! Suite amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, two queen beds with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door
Lifestyle Loft
450 square feet with private outdoor balcony and a sitout - located on floors 14 through 16, offering breathtaking Central Park, Hudson River or Upper West Side views. Amenities include; Signature turn down service, Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee, Daily Newspaper delivered to your door. Ideal for a romantic weekend escapade or weekday getaways far from the maddening midtown crowd. The ideal location for a proposal or celebrate a special occasion - the rest will be history!
NYLO New York
Boasting 240 square-feet of contemporary elegance, combined with Upper West Side charm and tranquility - there's nothing "Standard" about these rooms. Perfect for NYC getaways or getting work done, you'll find all the comforts of home and more at NYLO New York City. 1 Queen Bed or 1 King Bed. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
NYLO Superior
With 260 square-feet of comfortable modern design, our Superior Rooms offer a choice of King or Queen-size beds. Step off our cheery, sunlit hallways into these spacious rooms for an Upper West Side retreat like no other. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
Deluxe Double Double
280 square-feet of space make our Deluxe Double Double Rooms ideal for family and friends traveling together. Each room accommodates up to 4 people, with 2 Double Beds. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NYLO New York City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7825 -73.9807
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport Newark Airport JFK Airport
Area description
The NYLO New York City offers a location in Manhattan's prestigious Upper West Side. At the corner of Broadway and West 77th Street, the hotel is just two blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. La Guardia Airport is nine miles from this hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Serafina
Vibrant frescos grace the walls while the pizza oven and its aroma is the center of attraction. Offering delicious Northern Italian cuisine, Serafina Upper West prepares fresh pastas, pizzas, seafood and meats. Choose from lunch or dinner ad dine in or take-out. Friendly destination for everyone craving a fabulous Italian meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for NYLO New York City

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bennettie
Ohio
Aug 4, 2009

"Con"cierge

Upon arrival we asked about theater and exhibition tickets and were informed by the Concierge that he could get theater tickets for $250. a piece for a Broadway show if we booked through him and that tickets would not be available elswhere for less. We were also told that "The Bodies" exhibit tickets were $46. We were so discouraged in the cost of theater tickets that we didn't check the actual price but we did find out that tickets for the exhibit were only $23. The Concierge was going to charge us double for what he called a "Brokerage Fee". We also found as we were booking transportation back to the airport that the Concierge wanted to book us transportation at $21. per person (four of us) and we could pay him in cash and he would pay the driver. It only cost us $56. at the airport for a shuttle to the hotel. We ended up taking a cab at $26 and only a twenty min. ride. There were other minor issues with the hotel such as a TV remote that did't work properly, not enough towels,a door that didn't close all the way, an elevator out of service, and a very slow draining sink. Customer service was customer no service and we will not book at this hotel in the future nor will we recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Planet Hollywood was the best service and food we recieved. Better than ESPN Zone or Hard Rock Cafe'.

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Apr 25, 2010

Not for us!!

Check in staff was pleasant and accomodating. This venue was rated as a four star destination. We were greeted with a room with multiple, large stains on the carpets; white paint spatters on the bathroom, tile floor; and battered, scratched, dirty furniture. The TV didn't work until we called for repair. The bathroom was inexpensively, and sparsely decorated. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bennettie
Ohio
Aug 4, 2009

"Con"cierge

Upon arrival we asked about theater and exhibition tickets and were informed by the Concierge that he could get theater tickets for $250. a piece for a Broadway show if we booked through him and that tickets would not be available elswhere for less. We were also told that "The Bodies" exhibit tickets were $46. We were so discouraged in the cost of theater tickets that we didn't check the actual price but we did find out that tickets for the exhibit were only $23. The Concierge was going to charge us double for what he called a "Brokerage Fee". We also found as we were booking transportation back to the airport that the Concierge wanted to book us transportation at $21. per person (four of us) and we could pay him in cash and he would pay the driver. It only cost us $56. at the airport for a shuttle to the hotel. We ended up taking a cab at $26 and only a twenty min. ride. There were other minor issues with the hotel such as a TV remote that did't work properly, not enough towels,a door that didn't close all the way, an elevator out of service, and a very slow draining sink. Customer service was customer no service and we will not book at this hotel in the future nor will we recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Planet Hollywood was the best service and food we recieved. Better than ESPN Zone or Hard Rock Cafe'.

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dcruz68
SPAIN
Apr 10, 2013

AWFULL SERVICE

I ARRIVED WITH MY 10 YEAR OLD CHILD AND 3 LUGGAGES. NO ONE CAME OUT TO HELP. THEY JUST STARED AT ME AND NO ONE HELP ME!! THE ROOM HAD A NOICE FROM THE AA, AND I ASK THEM IF THEY COULD FIX IT. THEY DIDN´T DO ANYTHING. I´VE BEEN TRAVELLING AROUND THE WORLD FOR A LONG TIME. THIS IS ONE OF MY WORST EXPERIENCES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

BURGUER JOINT AT THE HOTEL LE MERIDIEN.

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Apr 25, 2010

Not for us!!

Check in staff was pleasant and accomodating. This venue was rated as a four star destination. We were greeted with a room with multiple, large stains on the carpets; white paint spatters on the bathroom, tile floor; and battered, scratched, dirty furniture. The TV didn't work until we called for repair. The bathroom was inexpensively, and sparsely decorated. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

not a good hotel to stay

over price hotel for the location, size, room, or anything. will not stay there anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

not a good hotel to stay

over price hotel for the location, size, room, or anything. will not stay there anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Great Falls, VA
Jul 13, 2011

Mediocre top to bottom- and pricey

Bell man would not take my bag but rather stood and gave directions to a passerby while I lifted the bag up the steps.Clerk at front desk was deliberately slow. Room was on the small side no view. Hotel staff party at 9AM in the morning repeatedly slamming the door next door. By 3PM the room is not cleaned . I had to ask the maid if she would clean it. It was clear by her response that she would not have if she was not asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good barbecue at Dallas Barbeque on 72nd between Columbus and Central Park

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
new zealand
Jun 14, 2010

great location, hotel average

Hotel was in great location with excellent surrounding area and restaurants. Hotel itself was underwhelming, basic things like reasonable selection of cable TV channels, drinking glasses in room were missing : other 'cheaper' hotels we have stayed at in New York provided these. Very slow lifts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Great Falls, VA
Jul 13, 2011

Mediocre top to bottom- and pricey

Bell man would not take my bag but rather stood and gave directions to a passerby while I lifted the bag up the steps.Clerk at front desk was deliberately slow. Room was on the small side no view. Hotel staff party at 9AM in the morning repeatedly slamming the door next door. By 3PM the room is not cleaned . I had to ask the maid if she would clean it. It was clear by her response that she would not have if she was not asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good barbecue at Dallas Barbeque on 72nd between Columbus and Central Park

Back to menu Return to top