$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

NYLO New York City

4 stars
2178 Broadway Avenue, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
197 reviews
Perfect stay - just what we hoped for

The lobby is chic but comfortable. Every interaction we had with the staff was cordial and... See full review

  • Kiev35
  • Sep 2, 2014
NYLO; One of MYC's Best!

We stayed at this Hotel Last Year when it had it was called "On the Avenue." We came back because... See full review

  • Attorney Lee
  • Jul 29, 2014
Upper West Side style on Broadway near Central Park, museum and subway

A sophisticated and classic New York City hideaway, NYLO New York City boasts a location on famed Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. Guests experience authentic NYC life within walking distance of its best attractions, including the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park, both only a few blocks away. Distinctive guest rooms invite serenity, and some feature private balconies as well as dramatic views of the Hudson River or Central Park. 

Highlights

  • The 14th- and 16th-floor guest-access balconies provide views across the city
  • Serafina Bar and Restaurant

  • Walk to nearby Central Park to experience one of the greatest urban parklands in the world

Location

Experience Manhattan right on Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood. The American Museum of Natural History and Central Park are both within a few blocks, as is the subway station.

Rooms

Serene and contemporary with a touch of trendy, NYLO New York City's atmospheric guest rooms and suites deliver comfort with style. Views might include the Hudson River or Central Park. Choose from standard to deluxe double, with a range of amenities from flat-screen TV and Egyptian cotton bed linens to Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

At Serafina Bar and Restaurant, indulge in a burst of Italian flavors in a vibrant setting. Work it off at the 24-hour fitness center, with state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight equipment. Or retreat to the lofty guest-access balcony zone to relax and take in the city skyline.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.7 mi/7.8 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.5 mi/31.5 km)

Attractions

  • American Museum of Natural History (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Times Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Please note we accept pets at an additional charge of $40 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7825 -73.9807
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport Newark Airport JFK Airport
Area description
The NYLO New York City offers a location in Manhattan's prestigious Upper West Side. At the corner of Broadway and West 77th Street, the hotel is just two blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. La Guardia Airport is nine miles from this hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NYLO New York City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

NYLO New York City Rooms

NYLO Deluxe King
Offering 340 square feet of oversized and contemporary elegance. Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee.
NYLO Panoramic Deluxe
Showcasing 300 square feet of space, with private outdoor balcony and sit-out. Located on floors 14 and 15, offering amazing Central Park, Hudson River, or Upper West Side views. Upgrade yourself to something special! Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door.
NYLO Deluxe Queen Queen Suite
With 450 square feet of space. An amazing option for family or friends traveling together. Your home away from home! Suite amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, two queen beds with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door
Lifestyle Loft
450 square feet with private outdoor balcony and a sitout - located on floors 14 through 16, offering breathtaking Central Park, Hudson River or Upper West Side views. Amenities include; Signature turn down service, Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee, Daily Newspaper delivered to your door. Ideal for a romantic weekend escapade or weekday getaways far from the maddening midtown crowd. The ideal location for a proposal or celebrate a special occasion - the rest will be history!
NYLO New York
Boasting 240 square-feet of contemporary elegance, combined with Upper West Side charm and tranquility - there's nothing "Standard" about these rooms. Perfect for NYC getaways or getting work done, you'll find all the comforts of home and more at NYLO New York City. 1 Queen Bed or 1 King Bed. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
NYLO Superior
With 260 square-feet of comfortable modern design, our Superior Rooms offer a choice of King or Queen-size beds. Step off our cheery, sunlit hallways into these spacious rooms for an Upper West Side retreat like no other. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
Deluxe Double Double
280 square-feet of space make our Deluxe Double Double Rooms ideal for family and friends traveling together. Each room accommodates up to 4 people, with 2 Double Beds. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Serafina
Vibrant frescos grace the walls while the pizza oven and its aroma is the center of attraction. Offering delicious Northern Italian cuisine, Serafina Upper West prepares fresh pastas, pizzas, seafood and meats. Choose from lunch or dinner ad dine in or take-out. Friendly destination for everyone craving a fabulous Italian meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for NYLO New York City

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bowie, Maryland
Jan 3, 2010

Not a 4 Star hotel but offers a lot

We went to New York to welcome 2010 by going to a few shows. The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy access by foot or subway to any of the theaters, restaurants, and some great food markets. Our room was very small and our windows faced a wall but it was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were of high quality. We could have used more closet space to hang our clothes. This type of room would not work for a stay longer than a couple of days. The bathroom was nice and clean. When we arrived, we had to request the adequate number of towels needed for 2 people as well as an extra roll of toilet tissue. The bath towels were thick and very big which was very pleasant except that we had nowhere to hang them once wet. Another bad surprise was that the only ice machine in the hotel was broken. The hotel staff was very prompt in bringing us any missing items as well as ice. The bottom line is that this hotel needs to set-up their bathrooms so towels can be hang as well as making sure that the rooms are fully equipped with all the expected amenities. In spite of the few thinks that need t improvement, I will return for another stay to give the place another chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant right off the hotel lobby was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KristyLou
Pretoria, South Africa
Nov 17, 2009

Friendly staff nice rooms

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall hotel has nice modern decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice restaurants within a block or 2.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed former West-sider
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 10, 2009

Great potential, disappointing execution

I have stayed here before and love the location and the amenities. In fact, it used to be my favorite hotel in Manhattan. This time, I was truly disappointed. I communicated a feather allergy and asked that my bedding be changed to foam. When I came to my room late at night, over nine hours since requesting the change, there was a feather cushion under the sheets. It took forever for them to come and remove it. After a 16 hour day, all I wanted was to go to sleep. Rather than resolve the problem quickly, they asked me to move rooms to upgrade me and engage in a serious of additional steps which kept me up 45 minutes in limbo. They meant well, but I was exhausted and I couldn't go to sleep. They didn't listen and they didn't execute effectively. [...] The staff is friendly, but they need training on service excellence. This would never happen, for example, at a Four Seasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pwh
utah
Sep 27, 2009

perfect location

Boutique hotel with small rooms but perfect location. Close to subway, many small quaint restaurants, great shopping, grocery stores and outdoor fruit and flower stands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

zagat rated grocery store across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torrance, CA
Sep 26, 2009

On the Ave Hotel Review

We checked in late due to continental flight 7 hour delay and were given a room that was so small I had to go into the hall to change my mind. This room had one tiny window, and just enough space for a queen bed. I mean literally, my wife and I couldn't go by the bed at the same time. When asked the next day to change, we were met with an unfriendly attitude. When my wife suggested we would need to change hotels, we were told that since we prepaid (through Orvitz) we could not get our money back. The hotel did upgrade us, late the next day, but not in a very friendly way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Sep 22, 2009

On the Ave Great Location

The rooms were small but bathroom upgrades compensated, plus the bed sheets fabulous, like sleeping on a cloud. Rooms were quiet, and the neighborhood interesting and safe for nightly explorations. Views for all means all can go to the 16th floor balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Terre Haute, Indiana
Sep 14, 2009

New York Trip

My first trip to New York. The staff was extremely helpfull, polite and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethesda., MD
Sep 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

A perfect place to stay for a long weekend. Close the the IRT. And Zabar's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skippy the Enjoyer
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2009

Beacon Hotel or no Beacon Hotel?

I love the Upper West Side of Manhattan and its relative proximity (by the Broadway or 8th Ave trains) to Midtown and Greenwich Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I like the 24-hour diner, the local markets on Broadway in the upper 70s, as well as 'Big Nick's' which can save you quite a bundle on food on a somewhat health-conscious menu if you're careful about what you order.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anitalora
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 5, 2009

Great choice!

We definitely loved the hotel. The staff was very attentive, the rooms were spotless, very modern, and really cozy. I love the complimentary Starbucks coffee they offered.. The bathroom was very modern, provided good space and the shower was big enough for two ;). Altough our room didn't had a view, I didn't complain much, most of NYC buildings don't have one anyway... Oh! And very important, the room has black-outs, in case you want to sleep in. I didn't get the chance to check out the fitness center or the rooftop balcony, but I'm pretty sure they are as nice as the rest of the hotel. Subway stops 2 blocks away @ 77th st. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a good place that looks just like the pictures on their web site. (trust me, most hotels in NYC don't.) For the price we paid, it was a great value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search