$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
311 reviews
Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The... See full review

  • steinbem
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The... See full review

  • Makeshift John
  • Oct 2, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 311
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Makeshift John
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 2, 2014

Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The only off-putting thing about it to me was that they still use the physical key as opposed to a room card, but that's just me. I guess I'm not old fashioned. The room itself was great. It was clean, had a nice little kitchen area, living room area, great channel selection on the TV, etc. You can walk right out to great restaurants and bars in the area. I will for sure choose this location the next time I need to stay in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Junction. Great specials each day of the week. Right on the corner of 39th and Lexington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jbloc
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 20, 2014

Pleasant surprise

This was my first trip back to NY since relocating to San Diego almost 2 years ago , so it was kind of an emotional moment for me, so just let me say Murray Hill was just what I needed. It felt like home the moment I walked into my room...cozy..warm. I'm already looking forward to my second stay with them. What a gem this place turned out to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Your in a great spot for whatever

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF traveller5
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Ok hotel, decent value

The location was good. The room was pretty old and wasn't properly cleaned. Overall - it was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gemini diner is excellent and deliver promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floridianfb
Business
Vero
Oct 31, 2013

Very good

Relative to the price paid and that I was given a free upgrade , the rooms were very spacious and great value . Staff were also pleasant . All in all a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hpthomas2020
Business
Tampa Florida
Feb 7, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, nice people

Warm greeting upon arrival. Super clean room. Great location, easy to reach from LaGuardia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pera Meditteranean on 5th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierreyves
Business
australia
Sep 12, 2012

comfortable accommodation

Not the newest hotel I have ever been to but comfortable enough. I knew that the wifi in the rooms was not free in the rooms when I booked but was free in the quite small lobby area. I would recommend to the hotel that they include the wifi in the rooms even if this increases the hotel rate by $7 per night. If you are booking a hotel in New York no one is likely to notice this small increase. If asked about what was in the area the staff were knowledgable. I would have thought that they could take it upon themselves to mention that there was for example a large supermarket not far away and reliable laundry services close by. Given these are self catering apartments, I would have thought that most patrons would appreciate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Larger supermarket with cheaper prices and larger range. Only found this on the last day of a week long stay. From Hotel walk down 39th towards HSBC and turn right before crossing the road. It's about 50m

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Lady
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 25, 2012

Great value

This was an amazing value for New York City. I had a large light-filled studio apartment with a kitchen (range, microwave, small fridge, sink), queen bed, living area, flat-screen tv, and bath. The decor is dated, the carpet needs replacing, and the bed was just okay, but the staff was friendly and helpful and everything was clean. It's not in a touristy location, but the area felt safe and buses and subway are nearby. All in all, a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pdxjohn
Business
portland or
Jun 17, 2012

1st time in new york

very well maintained hotel. my room was well kept and a good size. the staff was friendly. the location was handy and convenient to things such as empire state building and grand central station. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barbaraboop
Business
andes, ny
Feb 23, 2012

helpful front desk staff

I've been coming here for 4 years now and I like having the ability to cook in the room and since they put in the flat screen televisions I am much happier when I am in my room at night. Just wish the prices would be more consistent and a little bit cheaper!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manhattan mum
Business
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great location, very spacious, and friendly staff.

Relaxing and the staff were very accommodating. Great to have a kitchen and a very large, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top