Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
331 reviews
New York for Christmas

The hotel and staff were great. We were in a good location for the activities we came to the city... See full review

  • Kim
  • Feb 3, 2015
Such a great stay

Great location and good price, everything was good, the staff very kind and the room cleans, the... See full review

  • Jose M.
  • Jan 14, 2015
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 331
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manhattan is fun
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Great for families

I have been here a few times. and it works great if you have small kids. the staff is also very nice. would recommend this stay for anyone with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay here when you get to manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buffalo Woman
Business
Manchester
Dec 30, 2014

Awesome location, awesome hotel

PROS: This is the best hotel for the price in NYC. The hotel itself is only a few blocks from Grand Central, which makes it an awesome location. The rooms are incredibly large with kitchens. Inexpensive price. CONS: WiFi is not free in the rooms. (Though, enough open hotspots you can connect to.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central is only a few blocks away, making this hotel the perfect location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Business
Norwich
Dec 23, 2014

Murray Hill Hotel

Apprecaite the warm welcome, nice location, and space. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Business
Norwich
Dec 22, 2014

Murray Hill Hotel

Apprecaite the warm welcome, nice location, and space. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frantic Father
Business
Down South
Dec 4, 2014

Last-minute emergency trip

When our loved one landed in NYU hospital, we quickly researched what was nearby and found this wonderful hotel within easy walking distance. Thankfully our loved one was released early, and we found ourselves in NYC in a great location- easy walking to so many places and a quiet safe neighborhood. We loved the spaciousness of our room- my Wife does not like to stay in hotels but she loved this one, and she hates to spend money at restaurants but because this had a nice little kitchen we saved dough by cooking in. You would think a city hotel would be tiny but you could live there, and my next extended biz trip I think I will! I will probably bring my own pillow though- the bed was really comfy but the pillows are those squishy foam jobs that I don't like- my only complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi and Dave
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 15, 2014

Nice Hotel good location

We got a free upgrade and enjoyed the Suite at the 12th floor with huge balcony. Very good located near crysler building and Crand central station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UmassMom
Business
Washington, DC Metro
Nov 15, 2014

Our Home Away from Home

We like this hotel because it is quite near the places we go in NYC and the rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants, both inexpensive and more expensive a short walk to Lexington or Third Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekender10172014
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 20, 2014

Murray Hill Suites

Room had pervasive odor of cigarette smoke. This was sold as a non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy from Hampshire
Business
Hampshire, UK
Oct 6, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel was a great find

I find it's always a bit hit and miss trawling through reviews before making a decision where to stay but, overall the reviews for this hotel were fairly favorable - so we took the plunge - and we weren't disappointed. If you're after modern, glitzy rooms then maybe not the place for you but if you're after a friendly, comfortable, clean, value for money stay in a central position then it's excellent. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of New York's famous sights. A couple of blocks from Grand Central Station and a couple more to the Empire State Building. When we arrived Santa on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, without asking, which was very spacious with a separate kitchenette. Okay, the decor was a bit dated but we were more than happy with it. However, being in a central position in a city that never sleeps........means outside noise all the time. Despite double glazing and being on the 9th floor it was quite noisy. As we were there for 5 nights and I struggled to sleep the first night I went down to see Santa on Reception to see if we could move to a different room at the back. She couldn't have been more helpful and told us to leave our packed cases in the middle of the room and she'd arrange to have them moved to another room when one became available later that day. True to her word we returned from our day out to find we'd been moved to a room overlooking the courtyard....surprisingly enough on a lower floor but definitely a lot less noise which meant better sleep. The room was smaller than the previous one but newly refurbished and still plenty big enough with a separate kitchenette. We wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Murray Hill East Hotel again - great staff, great position and great value for an expensive city like New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to buy food for breakfasts/snacks etc..... go down to 3rd Avenue (turn left out of hotel and first right). Better choice than corner convenience stores - more like a supermarkets here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chula EA
Business
east aurora,ny
Sep 22, 2014

Good weekend in spite of crowds.

Lots of activists in town and UN useless meetings but weekend was still enjoyable. Great suite, friendly and helpful staff and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great latin food at Havana Centrale 46th between 6th and 7th aves. Music sometimes .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top