$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The... See full review

  • steinbem
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The... See full review

  • Makeshift John
  • Oct 2, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
May 5, 2007

Very family friendly

The in-room kitchenettes were very handy. The service was grand. We were given good advice whenever we inquired. The bathroom was nice, and the bed comfy. Desk space and good lighting were important as we are readers. We would certainly recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Murray Hill East Hotel was in an excellent setting, within walking distance to downtown, and even within three blocks to catch a bus to the airport; 2 doors away from Kinkos, delhis for in-room breakfasts, and lots of restaurants closeby. We didn't take a single cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 25, 2007

Just Like Home

The Murray Hill is one GREAT hotel. We loved the location; it was very quiet at night with no sounds of traffic or horns honking. It is very conveniently located near Grand Central, which makes hopping on a subway very easy. There are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat. The room was more than adequate and the kitchen was just the greatest idea. There were three of us and we had plenty of room. I am looking forward to my next trip to New York City and I definitely plan on staying at the Murray Hill Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 12, 2007

Excellent Room and Friendly Staff

We were very, very pleased with this hotel. It is a suite hotel and the rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. Our room was a living, dining room with a full kitchen. The bedroom area was separated from the living, dining area by a louvered door. The bathroom, altho not new, was in excellent shape with very nice fixtures and a great shower. There were two closets with adequate hangers. This suite was so comfortable and pleasant that it became part of what was so great about our stay ... we enjoyed the opportunity to rest and read between activities. Altho there are no dining facilities in the hotal, there are several good places very nearby for breakfast and lots of other places to eat in the area. Unfortunately I had to say I was dissatisfied with the hotel dining facilities when in reality they do not offer any but the kitchen made meals a possibility and if we had stayed longer I would have taken more advantage of it. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, we appreciated the fact that everyone went out of their way to be very nice. All-in-all the hotal was a major factor contributing to the great time we had while in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had breakfast in two different places, both good. Lunch and dinner were a somewhat longer walk down 3rd Ave. - but still not very far and with many different choices for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 25, 2007

First Time New Yorker

My wife and me were leary of visiting New York City, but found the location and service very satisfying. It is in walking distance of most Manhattan sites, and once we learned how to use the subway, we were able to visit every significant site in 3 days. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

A small kitchen allows you to save on meals, but don`t waste your time. There are many tasty and economical eateries nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ge Ge
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 22, 2011

Great Hotel

I did not know what to expect from the Murry Hill East Hotel, and am pleasantly surprised how pleasant it was. The suite was clean and spacious, close to restaurants, super markets, cabs, and museums. I t was equivalent of having a spacious apartment in a very safe and beautiful part of New York. I highly recommend this hotel for families. We would not consider staying anywhere else. We definitely lan to return to this hotel next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stack up on great food for the kitchen anywhere on Third or Lexington Ave. It is great to have a snack at night.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyKaye
Business
Waltham, MA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Great hotel and location. Doorman and staff were great. Worried about bedbugs in NY but the hotel was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabbijake
Business
Florida, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Individual attention in the Big Apple

From the first contact we had with the doorman to the final contact with a different doorman, our treatment at Murray Hill East was superb! It felt personal but not overwhelming. The suite-style room was great for a grandmother/mother/daughter group. Having the kitchen saved us some money, and the pull-out sofa was actually comfortable as a bed. All the amenities were topnotch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophia's Hispanic cuisine was delicious and very economical and it was just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R C Nair
Business
Flanders, NJ
Jun 28, 2012

Remarkably comfortable stay in NY with value for money

Conveniently and centrally located in midtown area; near to all important business establishments and entertainment centres; very tidy and spacious accommodation; very helpful attitude of staff together with client-oriented approach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of eating places and amazing varieties food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
retired in Mississippi
Business
Tupelo, MS
Jul 2, 2012

Convenient location

The front desk upgraded our room to a penthouse with a great view of the Empire State building. The location is very convenient to Grand Central and transit and the neighborhood is nice for walking. We enjoyed having a full kitchen. The rooms and furniture are dated but everything is clean and in good working order. Easy check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonia Happy Stay
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 27, 2012

Good hotel

Excellent hotel, good price and location. Very clean. Housekeeper need special attention. The other staff is very hopefull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We recommend the use of subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top