$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
318 reviews
Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The... See full review

  • steinbem
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The... See full review

  • Makeshift John
  • Oct 2, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hpthomas2020
Business
Tampa Florida
Feb 7, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, nice people

Warm greeting upon arrival. Super clean room. Great location, easy to reach from LaGuardia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pera Meditteranean on 5th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherylgirl
Business
Southgate, Michigan
Jan 9, 2013

A nice place to stay, personal.

Again a nice place to stay. Walking distance to nice Restaurants, Grand Central Station, Shopping, etc. Every thing in the room was nice the mattress could have been a liitle more comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent, front desk was great, good with directions, and suggestions. If ever in New York again I would stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear good walking boots or shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Argiros
Business
Mobile, AL
Jan 3, 2013

good location, no frills

good location with a lot of good bars in the area. walking distance to a lot of nice neighborhoods and attractions. hotel was quiet and room was comfortable. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York visitors 2012
Business
England
Dec 13, 2012

Perfect for short breaks sightseeing

Very good. We were upgraded to a bigger room and had 2 queen beds, a large lounge with dining area, good size bathroom and kitchenette with dishwasher, microwave, coffee-maker and fridge-freezer. The kitchenette cupboards are shabby but everything was perfectly clean and great to come back to after a hard day's sightseeing.A few minutes walk to Grand Central Station, the UN, Macys etc and not far from a good supermarket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the corner store for groceries - it's very expensive. The supermarket is only a few mintues further away on 42nd/3rd and much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandypodmore
Business
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Dec 11, 2012

Despite staying when Sandy hit it was good

Although we had no water/power for most of our stay due to Sandy, thank goodness this place was in a good location. The staff tried their best in diffiucult circumstances to help us and the location was excellent - especially as there was no transportation most of the time and so we were walking - could get to most places due to the central location. Great, but not luxurious accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast diner which sadly was closed for much of our stay due to Sandy - think it was called "tony's" - it was a small Italian owned restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oleyboy75
Business
Reading, PA
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving weekend

Very pleasant experience. Very roomy stay at a great lcoation and much cheaper than other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all New York broadway attractions. Great room adn great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fitz
Business
London
Nov 10, 2012

Apocalypse Now/Escape from New York

It was our misfortune to stay at this place just prior to Hurricane Sandy hitting, but things had gone wrong before then. We had booked 3 x 'suite apartments', and asked for them to be located as closely together as possible, 3 months prior to the visit. Arriving at the place I was asked for my credit card (and even though all rooms had been paid for at booking), I was told there was a potential charge of $450 for any 'extras'. I accepted this at the time, but remain baffled after as to what possible extras there could have been at this place, since there are no amenities. We were then told that all three rooms were three floors apart, which meant that I, my fourteen year old daughter, and 17 year old son were all split up. Quite apart from that NOT being what was required, there was a big storm coming and it would have been nice to have been near my family and children should they get anxious. We explained this but the Manager steadfastly refused to change things until the morning when they might be able to review. As we checked my son into his room, another guest, a single male traveller, was booked into the room next to his. When I queried this, and asked why they could not have just changed my room accommodation for that room, before the guest had arrived, I was met with a blank response. Rather than get angry I accepted the situation until the morning. I went out early the next morning and spoke to another chap at desk who said he could have made all three rooms much nearer together. Later on that day I did manage to get 2 rooms together, just as well as it turned out. My son had been located on the 6th floor, my wife and daughter on the 9th, and myself on the 12th. My wife and daughter were moved next to my son whilst I moved into their old room on the 9th, what a kerfuffle! In the early evening someone knocked on their doors and handed them torches, in case power was lost! A note was also handed into all rooms which said power WOULD be lost and not to use elevators after 8pm. It would be temporary. No one knocked on my door so I had no torch. At approx 9pm the Hotel lost power, and I had to try and get to my family's rooms on the 6th floor in the dark, I moved everyone into my wife and daughters room. (We found out later that the Hotel knew it was to have power taken out but did not formally tell anyone). This was the start of the nightmare. From then on power was not restored, there was no water, and no sanitation. As toilets would not flush you can imagine the stench and lack of hygiene. There was no guidance, advice or support, we were effectively abandoned with regard to meaningful information or torches/water distribution. We had to trek to other parts of town just to use toilets. If the Hotel knew it was to lose power why didn't it advise guests so they could fill baths to store water and be able to flush toilets? Why wasn't there a contingency plan? I moved my family out as as soon as I could, which was still later on the day after the event, with hundreds of people still staying there, god knows what happened to them. Yes Sandy was a one off, but not to plan when they knew power was going off, not to support guests with young children, was unforgivable. One girl at front desk was left to deal with all, we were told a couple of times the Manager was out 'buying torches'. I haven't got time to go into the state of the rooms, or the fact we didn't actually get the rooms we booked, the aggressive non cooperative attitude of the Manager, no internet, or just the general appalling behaviour of front desk whilst the Manager was there. We were glad to Escape from New York, but especially from this place. Don't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay nearer Times Square for same price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstrah
Business
cleveland, oh
Oct 15, 2012

Great Girls Weekend!

The Doorman Robert was exceptional! Location was great....room very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raisin
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 15, 2012

Very nice stay!

My Mom (80 yrs +) and my sisters and I stayed in one of the suits. It had two double beds, a pull out couch and full kitchen. Although we didn't make any meals there, we could have. it was great having room and a nice space to have breakfast and happy hour! I would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to my friends,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
superchef
Business
New York
Oct 6, 2012

awful hotel experience

When we arrived, we were told by the female clerk that there was only one queen bed, and I showed her the booking printouts to her, when I booked it, I chosed the two double beds,( mother and her son go to N.Y. for a family wedding) Her attitude was extremely bad, I asked her to have someone to help us to pull the sofa bed( it was very heavy,) she said there were no housekeeping staffs on duty, we had to wait until the next morning to have someone to help us to set up the sofa bed, Then I suggested to her that to give us a folding bed, and she said that we had to pay $25 per night for that bed( the kind of bed you can buy it at Walmart for less than $30 . So finally she assigned us to the second floor room with the window blocked by scaffolding and it was extremely noisy during the night even with all the window closed. My son ended up slept on the sofa( not the sofa bed) and I slept on the queen bed. let me tell you, I can tolerate any unpleasant things in life, but a stink hotel clerk attitude makes me sick!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top