$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
323 reviews
Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The... See full review

  • steinbem
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The... See full review

  • Makeshift John
  • Oct 2, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Business
Norwich
Dec 23, 2014

Murray Hill Hotel

Apprecaite the warm welcome, nice location, and space. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Business
Norwich
Dec 22, 2014

Murray Hill Hotel

Apprecaite the warm welcome, nice location, and space. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
inkle
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Business trip

The hotel is in a great location. It's furnishings are basic but quite comfortable. We needed to request sheets for the sofa bed, but the staff brought them right up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tosca B.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great

I really enjoyed my stay And the location was perfect. The accommodations were clean staff was friendly. Room was spacious beds were comfortable The bath towels could be of. a better quality. They were paper thin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frantic Father
Business
Down South
Dec 4, 2014

Last-minute emergency trip

When our loved one landed in NYU hospital, we quickly researched what was nearby and found this wonderful hotel within easy walking distance. Thankfully our loved one was released early, and we found ourselves in NYC in a great location- easy walking to so many places and a quiet safe neighborhood. We loved the spaciousness of our room- my Wife does not like to stay in hotels but she loved this one, and she hates to spend money at restaurants but because this had a nice little kitchen we saved dough by cooking in. You would think a city hotel would be tiny but you could live there, and my next extended biz trip I think I will! I will probably bring my own pillow though- the bed was really comfy but the pillows are those squishy foam jobs that I don't like- my only complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike20145
Business
Texas
Nov 29, 2014

Perfect Getaway

I went to New York for a mini vacation back in March 2014. After reading reviews of other hotels and the mentioning of bed bugs, cold showers, and limited space I was anxious about how Murray Hill would turn out. Shortly upon my arrival at the hotel my anxiety subsided. To my satisfaction, the hotel was perfect. Reasonable cost, friendly staff, door man ( for security purpose), close to times square and the subway, spacious room, stores nearby, no bugs, hot water, and varies cable channels. Besides paying for room internet and minimal amenities, my stay was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flyboy 32725
Business
Orlando fl
Nov 28, 2014

Great hotel

Stayed here over Thanksgiving! Easy walk to grand central. Spacious rooms and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmfmnyc
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 23, 2014

Convenient Mid-Town location

This hotel is in a location convenient to mid-town businesses and Grand Central Station. When I arrived I realized it had formerly been an apartment building. In fact, I had friends that had lived there when I lived in NYC. The rooms are larger than normal hotel rooms, with a full kitchen and microwaves available upon request. There is a workout room and guest laundry facilities . There is Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts and a true NYC bagel shop with a block of the hotel. There are wonderful restaurants in a reasonable proximity and reasonably priced on Third Avenue. It is an alternative to the very high priced name brand hotels in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva from TN
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 21, 2014

Great convenient hotel in Manhattan

It was terrific. No complaints - convenient, liked the kitchen which I did not expect, lots of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UmassMom
Business
Washington, DC Metro
Nov 15, 2014

Our Home Away from Home

We like this hotel because it is quite near the places we go in NYC and the rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants, both inexpensive and more expensive a short walk to Lexington or Third Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top