$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Morningside Inn

1 star
235 West 107th Street,, New York, NY 10025
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Morningside Inn Dissappoints

OK. First, I should have known better than to "prepay without refund". But it was 1 block away from... See full review

  • SSTampa01
  • Aug 19, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved... See full review

  • RebecL
  • Jul 1, 2013
The Morningside Inn is a newly renovated hotel in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside. It is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are brand new and have been decorated in a style of comfortable elegance. It is conveniently located near all public transportation along Broadway and just a short ride to the theatre district, Times Square and New York's many other attractions. It is just a short walk from Morningside Inn to Columbia University and many other institutions of higher learning. The neighborhood has an unmistakable academic/student flavor with many specialty boutiques, informal cafes, coffee houses and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morningside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Morningside Inn Rooms

Superior I
The room offers 1 Double Bed with refrigerator, ceiling fan, phone color TV with cable / HBO, AM/FM clock radio, air conditioning, private bathrooms, daily maid service.
Superior II
The room offers 1 Double bed and 1 Twin Bed with refrigerator, ceiling fan, phone, color TV with cable / HBO, AM/FM clock radio, air conditioning, private bathrooms, daily maid service.
Budget Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathroom, air conditioning, and kitchen facility.
Budget Standard
The room offers 1 Full Sized Bed with shared bathroom, air conditioning, and kitchen facility.
Budget Triple
The room offers 1 Full Sized Bed and 1 Twin Bed with shared bathroom, air conditioning, television, refrigerator, and kitchen facility.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Straus Park: 0.1 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.2 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.3 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Barnard College: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Riverside Church: 0.7 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.8 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.8 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.1 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.2 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.3 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Barnard College: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Riverside Church: 0.7 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.8 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.8 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 0.9 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1 mi
  • Apollo Theatre: 1 mi
  • Theresa Towers: 1.1 mi
  • Harlem: 1.1 mi
  • Marcus Garvey Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 1.2 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.3 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy: 1.3 mi
  • Central Park: 1.3 mi
  • National Black Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Langston Hughes House: 1.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Beresford: 1.4 mi
  • St. Nicholas Park: 1.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 1.5 mi
  • New York Amsterdam News Building: 1.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 1.5 mi
  • James Weldon Johnson Residence: 1.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Schomburg Center: 1.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 1.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1.6 mi
  • Riverbank State Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Morningside Inn

Overall score

1 / 5
5.01.0
2 out of 7
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sort by:
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Torontoniens
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Kanada
Nov 1, 2011

Absolutely awful place!!! DON´T GO HERE!!

This hostel is the worst ever!! We booked and got confirmation but when we got to the hostel they had overbooked. We were one of 12 others that night. The personnel were unfriendly and rude and childish. The manager screamed at me in the phone and was rude and hysterical as well. We ended up spending 4 hours in a late night there, It ended with the police coming there because the front desk person called the police, not because he was threaten but because he prob. thought he could get rid of the problem. It ended up with the police going back the next morning talking to the manager, we were then long gone and we spent the night on another hotel and ended up paying twice as much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RebecL
Business
Australia
Jul 1, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved to a room with a private ensuite, as we had booked online. When we first arrived at the hotel we were told by the receptionist they did not have our booking and we had to move to a different hotel for the night where we had to pay more for the room. When we arrived back the next day the manager, Patrick, informed us that the staff member we spoke to the previous day was stupid and doesn't know how to do her job, and they did in fact have our booking. We were then given a room but were not able to check in until the afternoon. When we arrived back in the evening we discovered our room did not have an ensuite as booked online. When we asked the receptionist about this she said she didn't have access to the computer system to check if there were any rooms with an ensuite available. When we asked to speak to the manager he was phoned and spent the next 20-30mins verbally abusing us. He said we didn't present him with the paperwork for the booking when we checked in and so he hadn't known we booked a room with an ensuite, and we were now being unreasonable and causing trouble, and he was going to come down and give us our money back and we could leave the hotel. We had in fact offered to show him the email confirmation of the booking upon arrival, however he did not want to see it. How can the hotel not have their own records of bookings??? We were unable to get more than a few words in on the phone and Patrick continued to yell at us and threaten to kick us out of the hotel. We would have preferred not to stay there, however it was peak season and we couldn't get accommodation at another hotel in our price range. So the remaining of our time at the hotel was spent afraid that we would again be yelled at by Patrick. The room itself was very basic. The a/c was effective but very noisy. The double bed had a terrible mattress which meant the 2 of us sharing it ended up rolling into the middle of it each night and not sleeping well. The wifi barely worked, even in reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top