$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 8, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Morningside Inn

1 star
235 West 107th Street,, New York, NY 10025
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Morningside Inn Dissappoints

OK. First, I should have known better than to "prepay without refund". But it was 1 block away from... See full review

  • SSTampa01
  • Aug 19, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved... See full review

  • RebecL
  • Jul 1, 2013
The Morningside Inn is a newly renovated hotel in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside. It is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are brand new and have been decorated in a style of comfortable elegance. It is conveniently located near all public transportation along Broadway and just a short ride to the theatre district, Times Square and New York's many other attractions. It is just a short walk from Morningside Inn to Columbia University and many other institutions of higher learning. The neighborhood has an unmistakable academic/student flavor with many specialty boutiques, informal cafes, coffee houses and restaurants.

Hotel Map

40.8019 -73.9666
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of Manhattan's Upper West side, Morningside Inn is situated among some of the best treasures that New York has to offer. From the Bronx Zoo to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to a romantic horse-drawn carriage ride in Central Park, you are truly in the center of it all.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morningside Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Morningside Inn Rooms

Superior I
The room offers 1 Double Bed with refrigerator, ceiling fan, phone color TV with cable / HBO, AM/FM clock radio, air conditioning, private bathrooms, daily maid service.
Superior II
The room offers 1 Double bed and 1 Twin Bed with refrigerator, ceiling fan, phone, color TV with cable / HBO, AM/FM clock radio, air conditioning, private bathrooms, daily maid service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Straus Park: 0.1 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.2 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.3 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Barnard College: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Riverside Church: 0.7 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.8 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.8 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Straus Park: 0.1 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Riverside Park: 0.2 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.3 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Barnard College: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Riverside Church: 0.7 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.8 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.8 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 0.9 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1 mi
  • Apollo Theatre: 1 mi
  • Theresa Towers: 1.1 mi
  • Harlem: 1.1 mi
  • Marcus Garvey Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 1.2 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.3 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy: 1.3 mi
  • Central Park: 1.3 mi
  • National Black Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Langston Hughes House: 1.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Beresford: 1.4 mi
  • St. Nicholas Park: 1.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 1.5 mi
  • New York Amsterdam News Building: 1.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 1.5 mi
  • James Weldon Johnson Residence: 1.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 1.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 1.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Schomburg Center: 1.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 1.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1.6 mi
  • Riverbank State Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Morningside Inn

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
1.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
1.6
Sort by:
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJ from Cincy
Business
USA
Apr 11, 2007

Good Location But Very Small Room

The Morningside Inn was in a good location however the room was very small for two people. It was also very plain...A new bedspread, fresh paint and decorating would help but still a very small room...That's New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good neighborhood with dining nearby, close to subway, and not too far from Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenmore
Oct 18, 2008

OK for singles or young couples

My husband and I (middle-aged) were disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Beds were clean and comfortble. Bathroom had broken floor tiles and miserable shower. Only soap was provided (no shampoo). No hand towels. Noise was a big problem -- wall are paperthin. The housekeeping people were very loud in the mornings (10:00 am) with lots of laughing and talking at what seemed right outside our door. (We were happy to hear laughing an pleasant conversation, however.) Our next door neighbors could be heard conversing and cavorting at 4:30 am. Pounded on the wall for them to shut-up. Saw a cockroach in our bedroom. Air conditioner was only slightly better than nothing. We realize that NYC is very expensive but for the price, we would have hoped to have gotten a room with good facilities despite not having any extras like an internet connection. Location was good. Easy access to subway and busses. Good restraunts/bakeries in the area. Easy walking to Central Park. Have to say that the hotel staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful coffee shops near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Sep 15, 2008

OK to less than OK

While our room was adequate. The reception on the TV (or the connection since it was cable) caused the picture/screen to roll down constantly on about half the channels. Also, the bathroom was very small and wasn't big enough for a sink, which was located in the bedroom. I did, however, like the location and how close it was to the subway and Riverside park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Mar 7, 2011

hotel ok

rooms are too small, bed too small, people are loud couldnt sleep, when i sit on toilet i had to open my legs beacause is too close to the wall...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Torontoniens
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Kanada
Nov 1, 2011

Absolutely awful place!!! DON´T GO HERE!!

This hostel is the worst ever!! We booked and got confirmation but when we got to the hostel they had overbooked. We were one of 12 others that night. The personnel were unfriendly and rude and childish. The manager screamed at me in the phone and was rude and hysterical as well. We ended up spending 4 hours in a late night there, It ended with the police coming there because the front desk person called the police, not because he was threaten but because he prob. thought he could get rid of the problem. It ended up with the police going back the next morning talking to the manager, we were then long gone and we spent the night on another hotel and ended up paying twice as much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RebecL
Business
Australia
Jul 1, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved to a room with a private ensuite, as we had booked online. When we first arrived at the hotel we were told by the receptionist they did not have our booking and we had to move to a different hotel for the night where we had to pay more for the room. When we arrived back the next day the manager, Patrick, informed us that the staff member we spoke to the previous day was stupid and doesn't know how to do her job, and they did in fact have our booking. We were then given a room but were not able to check in until the afternoon. When we arrived back in the evening we discovered our room did not have an ensuite as booked online. When we asked the receptionist about this she said she didn't have access to the computer system to check if there were any rooms with an ensuite available. When we asked to speak to the manager he was phoned and spent the next 20-30mins verbally abusing us. He said we didn't present him with the paperwork for the booking when we checked in and so he hadn't known we booked a room with an ensuite, and we were now being unreasonable and causing trouble, and he was going to come down and give us our money back and we could leave the hotel. We had in fact offered to show him the email confirmation of the booking upon arrival, however he did not want to see it. How can the hotel not have their own records of bookings??? We were unable to get more than a few words in on the phone and Patrick continued to yell at us and threaten to kick us out of the hotel. We would have preferred not to stay there, however it was peak season and we couldn't get accommodation at another hotel in our price range. So the remaining of our time at the hotel was spent afraid that we would again be yelled at by Patrick. The room itself was very basic. The a/c was effective but very noisy. The double bed had a terrible mattress which meant the 2 of us sharing it ended up rolling into the middle of it each night and not sleeping well. The wifi barely worked, even in reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morningside Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SSTampa01
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 19, 2014

Morningside Inn Dissappoints

OK. First, I should have known better than to "prepay without refund". But it was 1 block away from where I had appointments over the weekend. So how could it be such a bad deal? Let me count the ways! 1st they asked for a credit card to keep on file -- fine, even though it was prepaid already online. Then they said they would keep payment on that card and I'd get a refund from the web site. Slimy way of not paying a commission I'm sure. I protested but they refused to change it saying the website had already been informed. (Still waiting on that refund.) As to the room, the first one I was given was a really depressing 7 x 7 dark room and shared the bath down the hall. NO way when I'd booked a "deluxe" room online. I rejected 5 more rooms when they jubilantly "found" an available "best room in the hotel". It did have a private bath, even though you had to scoot sideways to get to the shower and you had to go out to the bedroom to dry off after a shower. Lets say it had a "half" bath. Then on Sunday morning I was awakened at 7am thinking the building was collapsing. They were demolishing the hallway ceiling to replace old wiring and cable. (Oh did I mention the TV rabbit ears?) A ladder was in my doorway and I could not get out until the guys came down and moved their scaffolding. The front desk apologized for not warning me about work in the building. For the rest of the day my hallway was 2 to 3 inches thick with plaster and lathe and sheetrock. Unbelievable! I moved to a really terrific hotel on 79th for only $40/per night more and wondered why I ever went through that first night! Well, I know why: I'd prepaid and they were clear there were no refunds -- and I thought, oh well its just a short little adventure. Never again. This was worse than most hippie flop houses I happily stayed in as a youngster overseas. But those were $5/night and worth it. This was cheap, well located, and totally NOT worth it. And why the booking website allows them to scam their commission payment is beyond me! And I'm still waiting on that web refund!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top