$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Michelangelo Hotel

4 stars
View map of 152 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
199 reviews
Wonderful@New Years

NO BETTER LOCATION IN NY! Beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms. Friendly staff! Only thing that could... See full review

  • Scott S.
  • Feb 24, 2015
AWESOME HOTEL

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and COMFY...great beds and pillows. Also, the hotel is... See full review

  • Scott S.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Elegant European style, generous rooms, close to Broadway theaters
Elegant decor and gracious service have landed this hotel on travel magazine "best of" lists. The lobby sets the tone, with antique furnishings, crystal chandeliers and marble columns. Spacious rooms and marble bathrooms provide a quiet retreat. Special touches, such as turndown service, overnight shoeshine and complimentary car service to Wall Street, offer guests VIP treatment. The convenient Midtown location is steps from Broadway theaters and close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and more.
Highlights
  • Elegant, Italian-inspired decor
  • Generously sized rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with soaking tubs
  • Short walk to Central Park, Broadway theaters and more

 

Rooms

The 179 generously sized rooms average 475 square feet. Elegant rooms feature cherry furniture and cream-colored walls and carpeting. Color schemes vary from room to room, but each includes champagne-colored bedding and drapes with a rich accent color. Amenities include bathrobes, Bose stereos and Wi-Fi (fees apply). Marble bathrooms have soaking tubs, heat lamps and luxury bath products. Junior, one- and two-bedroom suites are available.

Features

Travel + Leisure magazine named the hotel on its list of the 500 Greatest Hotels of the World. Conde Nast Traveler has put the hotel on its Gold List. The hotel concierge is a member of the exclusive Global Les Clefs d'Or.

 

There is a complimentary 24-hour fitness center at the hotel. Guests also have access to the fitness club across the street with a pool, sauna and steam room (fees apply).

 

The hotel offers free car service to Wall Street weekday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Return service in the afternoon or evening is available upon request (fees apply).

Dining

The highly regarded, on-site Insieme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine. Room service is available 24 hours a day. World-famous French restaurant Le Bernardin is around the corner. The 21 Club, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, The Capital Grille and Carnegie Deli are all nearby. Diners can also have tasty croissants, coffee and tea daily in The Tuscany room on site. Patrons start the day with A la carte breakfast served from 7 AM to 12 PM from Mondays to Fridays; and from 8 AM to 12 PM from Saturdays and Sundays in Insieme Lounge. Complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room - fresh-brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition from Mondays to Sundays. Guests at the hotel can sit back and relax with a variety of relaxing treats and drinks at Insieme Lounge on site. The lounge also serve Italian fares for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 50th Street – Broadway (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/ 1.61 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michelangelo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Michelangelo Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
425 sq ft/Neoclassic decor/ Empire cherry furniture/Boudoir chairs/Marble bath w/color TV and 55 gallon tub
JR SUITE
500-600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Sitting area w/sofa and armchairs/Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
ONE BEDROOM - SUITE
Large room/600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Separate parlor w/sofa and armchairs/ Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
STUDIO ROOM
One king-size bed. Large entry foyer with two boudoir chairs. Neoclassical dcor, empire cherry wood furniture with black and brass accents and boudoir chairs. Up to 500 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi

Dining

Tuscan Room
From 7:00am to 9:00am Monday-Friday, and from 8:00am-10:00am Saturday and Sunday, complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room-fresh brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition.
Insieme Lounge
Our exquisitely decorated lounge and bar offers a stunning drinks menu and great Italian Fare for lunch and dinner. An al carte breakfast is served from 7:00am to 12:00pm Monday-Friday and from 8:00am to 12:00pm Saturday and Sunday in the Insieme Lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our staff of catering professionals focuses on flawless service, attention to detail and impressive food and beverage offerings. The Michelangelo Hotel offers a beautiful selection of meeting and function rooms and is the perfect venue for your social or corporate event. The Roman Room is a large beautifully appointed meeting room, which together with the Roman Mezzanine, holds 150 people, and comprises approximately 2,143 square feet of elegant, flexible space for gala receptions, weddings and corporate events. The Florentine Room and the Venetian Room have a sophisticated feel, with all the amenities for board meetings and VIP conferences The rooms are equipped with full audio visual and telecommunication capabilities, internet access, custom designed rugs, unusual objets d'art in an atmosphere of understated elegance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Michelangelo Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 199
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry
Business
White Plains
Feb 19, 2015

A lovely overnight get-away!

Nice room! We received an upgrade when we arrived to a much larger room. A lower floor did not accommodate a great view, but the room was comfortable with nice old-world charm. A great location to the theater district and many fine restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moa'ath
Business
Miami
Nov 11, 2014

Location.. Location

its was really good the lobby is great and the Location is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDSTraveller
Business
Arlington, Va
Jan 23, 2014

Quick Times Square Trip

My experience started on a low note because I attempted to call to confirm my reservation and had to be shuffled from one person to another. If you book through this site, you can't check your reservation through their main line, but have to call the hotel directly. The rep was very short with me and didn't let me finish any sentence, very rude. Check in was easy and they accommodated our early check in time, which was fantastic. The room and hotel are nice and quiet and located centrally, very close to Times Square. The employees were very bland and dry and didnt' try and engage the visitors. I thought the role of a door man was to open the door, however, I never noticed him doing that. Check out was simple and we were on our way. However, as I am writing this review, I noticed that they charged me for an in room adaptor, which we had no use for, nor did we take. So, I am in the middle of disputing that charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trudog
Business
Oak Park, IL
Jul 31, 2012

Four-Night Wonderful Stay

I have been to NYC many, many times and this was the best hotel experience I have had. A small hotel with world class amenitites. Very personalized service, excellent food and nice complimentary continental breakfast. The bath had everything I could desire, including a scale! Wonderful bed, too. I came to see friends and Broadway shows. This hotel could not have been more convenient for my needs and had a very attentive staff. They accommodated my need for early access to my room on arrival, which is very rare. All and all, the highest rating possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the High Line. A rare New York experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammiek
Business
Northern VA
Jul 30, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

The Michelangelo Hotel exceeded my expectations and was everything the review about it said. For being in the heart of the theater district, it was quiet and welcoming...no large groups of people streaming into the hotel all the time. Step outside and walk to 7th Ave right around the corner and there are all the theaters. Plenty of nice restaurants and only a $6 ride to Penn Station that could also be walked if so desired. Easy walking distance to so many famous sights (Central Park one way and Radio City Music Hall the other way) and the subway is also very close by. All of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and always asked if they could provide any more help. The small bar and lounge was very nice and more of an intimate setting that was also a welcome relief from the rush outside. That could be said for the entire hotel. My room was beautiful, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. This is where I will stay on my next visit to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonesalicious
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

I don't have enough superlatives for this hotel. The only thing lacking was a view, as my room faced an alley. However, nobody goes to New York City to spend time looking out a window. The location is insanely convenient, as it sits right behind the Winter Garden Theatre. Big room. Comfortable bed. Exceptionally friendly staff! I would suggest this hotel in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wilrob
Business
Charleston, SC
Oct 4, 2011

Perfect location for a music/theatre trip

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Michelangelo. The location was perfect; I walked everywhere I wanted to go: two Broadway shows, Carnegie Hall, Steinway Hall, MOMA, and shopping on Fifth Avenue. The room was spacious and luxurious for the price. On Saturday afternoon, it was raining and I wasn't feeling well, so I stayed in my room and was comfortable -- almost like being in my own bed, but maybe better! The bed was divinely comfortable. The bathroom is nicely appointed with a large tub and with hot water immediately available. The staff were gracious, professional, and accommodating. When I first entered my room, it was obvious that the housekeeping staff had sprayed deodorizer which triggered some allergic reactions that night. I requested that they not deodorize the room for the rest of my stay. That was the end of the problem. When I went to the desk to check out, the doorman was there immediately to take my luggage. I said that I needed a taxi to LaGuardia and that I was going to get some breakfast. When I finished and went to the door the taxi was waiting. The turn-down service (at which time they also clean the bathroom again) and the excellent quality morning coffee with delicious pastries in the lobby lounge are nice touches. I will definitely stay there the next time I am in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi, not the shuttle, to the airport. I had reserved a shuttle ticket, but I cancelled it after I was told that they would pick me up at 6:20 am for a 10:00 flight. The desk clerks strongly advised that I take a cab, and they were right. The doorman had the cab waiting, and I got to sleep two extra hours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Mar 15, 2010

excellent in every respect

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex-NewYorker/Interior Designer
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 4, 2010

The Michelangelo Hotel

Serenity in the middle of it all! Be close to all that Times Square and Rock Center have to offer, without the noise and glaring lights. Michelangelo was an elegant refuge. And restaurant Insieme was exquisite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 29, 2009

A satisfied repeat traveler

My previous stay was just for sightseeing, this time I came to attend the New York Gift Fair. The shuttle stop to the Javits Centere was half a block away, quite convenient. The location is beyond ideal - the theater district, Times Square, MOMA, etc. all within walking distance. I also chose this hotel because of the smaller size which I feel results in more attentive service than at some of the megasized chains. I actually find it disconcerting that their mattress and pillows are more comfortable than my own at home. It is an oasis of calm and tranquility but within steps of the exciting maelstrom that is NYC. Can't wait for my return visit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top