$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Michelangelo Hotel

4 stars
152 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
278 reviews
Outstanding Comfort

Excellent amenities and execution of service. Great staff. See full review

  • Times Square
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great weekend getaway

Perfect location to walk everywhere you want to go. We have stayed there many times. The staff was... See full review

  • BarbC
  • Apr 15, 2014
Elegant European style, generous rooms, close to Broadway theaters
Elegant decor and gracious service have landed this hotel on travel magazine "best of" lists. The lobby sets the tone, with antique furnishings, crystal chandeliers and marble columns. Spacious rooms and marble bathrooms provide a quiet retreat. Special touches, such as turndown service, overnight shoeshine and complimentary car service to Wall Street, offer guests VIP treatment. The convenient Midtown location is steps from Broadway theaters and close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and more.
Highlights
  • Elegant, Italian-inspired decor
  • Generously sized rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with soaking tubs
  • Short walk to Central Park, Broadway theaters and more

 

Rooms

The 179 generously sized rooms average 475 square feet. Elegant rooms feature cherry furniture and cream-colored walls and carpeting. Color schemes vary from room to room, but each includes champagne-colored bedding and drapes with a rich accent color. Amenities include bathrobes, Bose stereos and Wi-Fi (fees apply). Marble bathrooms have soaking tubs, heat lamps and luxury bath products. Junior, one- and two-bedroom suites are available.

Features

Travel + Leisure magazine named the hotel on its list of the 500 Greatest Hotels of the World. Conde Nast Traveler has put the hotel on its Gold List. The hotel concierge is a member of the exclusive Global Les Clefs d'Or.

 

There is a complimentary 24-hour fitness center at the hotel. Guests also have access to the fitness club across the street with a pool, sauna and steam room (fees apply).

 

The hotel offers free car service to Wall Street weekday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Return service in the afternoon or evening is available upon request (fees apply).

Dining

The highly regarded, on-site Insieme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine. Room service is available 24 hours a day. World-famous French restaurant Le Bernardin is around the corner. The 21 Club, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, The Capital Grille and Carnegie Deli are all nearby. Diners can also have tasty croissants, coffee and tea daily in The Tuscany room on site. Patrons start the day with A la carte breakfast served from 7 AM to 12 PM from Mondays to Fridays; and from 8 AM to 12 PM from Saturdays and Sundays in Insieme Lounge. Complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room - fresh-brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition from Mondays to Sundays. Guests at the hotel can sit back and relax with a variety of relaxing treats and drinks at Insieme Lounge on site. The lounge also serve Italian fares for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 50th Street – Broadway (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/ 1.61 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)

Michelangelo Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
425 sq ft/Neoclassic decor/ Empire cherry furniture/Boudoir chairs/Marble bath w/color TV and 55 gallon tub
JR SUITE
500-600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Sitting area w/sofa and armchairs/Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
ONE BEDROOM - SUITE
Large room/600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Separate parlor w/sofa and armchairs/ Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
STUDIO ROOM
One king-size bed. Large entry foyer with two boudoir chairs. Neoclassical dcor, empire cherry wood furniture with black and brass accents and boudoir chairs. Up to 500 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michelangelo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7619 -73.9833
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
JFK LGA EWR
Area description
The Michelangelo is the only European luxury boutique hotel in Midtown Manhattan, New York's business, cultural, theater and shopping district. It is within easy walking distance from: Rockefeller Center American Girl Place Shopping on Madison & Fifth Avenues Radio City Music Hall Times Square Broadway theater district Carnegie Hall Central Park Museum of Modern Art The Fashion District Grand Central & Penn Station

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our staff of catering professionals focuses on flawless service, attention to detail and impressive food and beverage offerings. The Michelangelo Hotel offers a beautiful selection of meeting and function rooms and is the perfect venue for your social or corporate event. The Roman Room is a large beautifully appointed meeting room, which together with the Roman Mezzanine, holds 150 people, and comprises approximately 2,143 square feet of elegant, flexible space for gala receptions, weddings and corporate events. The Florentine Room and the Venetian Room have a sophisticated feel, with all the amenities for board meetings and VIP conferences The rooms are equipped with full audio visual and telecommunication capabilities, internet access, custom designed rugs, unusual objets d'art in an atmosphere of understated elegance.

Dining

Tuscan Room
From 7:00am to 9:00am Monday-Friday, and from 8:00am-10:00am Saturday and Sunday, complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room-fresh brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition.
Insieme Lounge
Our exquisitely decorated lounge and bar offers a stunning drinks menu and great Italian Fare for lunch and dinner. An al carte breakfast is served from 7:00am to 12:00pm Monday-Friday and from 8:00am to 12:00pm Saturday and Sunday in the Insieme Lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Michelangelo Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fraser, CO
Feb 8, 2011

Very nice, great location

Very nice quiet hotel. Room size was very nice. Made for a great stay in NYC. Didn't have much interaction with staff besides bellman helping with luggage and doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA
Jan 17, 2011

Amazing hotel in NYC

Stayed one night for a theater getaway - location could not be better and the size and quality of the room was unmatched for NYC. Staff impeccably polite and helpful, lobby gives a great impression, and did I mention how big and luxurious the room was? We had a standard room, and it was more than big enough. Ours had no view (airshaft) but I actually prefer that in the city because it was QUIET!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Insieme is fabulous! A Michelin-rated restaurant in the hotel, who could ask for more? Also room service breakfast was wonderful.

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 18, 2010

Excellent! Wish we were staying longer!

Upgraded on arrival without asking. Room was beautiful and large. Bathroom was beautiful, tub was large, wish we had a longer time to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA
Jul 20, 2009

Great value

When we got to the hotel our room wasn't ready. (It did not have to be ready for another three hours) The hotel staff told us to come back in an hour or so and when we did, we were upgraded from a room to a fabulous suite. It was stunning. We were in town to do sightseeing and my companion wanted to spend all of her time in the room, it was that nice. My only quibble with the hotel is in the breakfast offerings. I wish that they offered more than croissants in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Look online for good values on Broadway shows.

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy daughter
Toledo, OH
May 8, 2012

Awsome stay at the Michaelangelo

I loved everything about this hotel!! My 70 year old mother arrived early and was given the 5 star treament by the manager. They upgraded our room to two queens for no additional cost. Our room was HUGE, clean and quiet. The staff was kind and helpful. I would stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to txts window for your show tickets, a good deal!!

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Oct 4, 2010

Great location, service and room

My husband and I went for a quick, one night romantic getaway for a show and dinner. We chose the Michelangelo based on reviews and couldn't have been happier. Plus, it just so happened to have a fantastic location: 1 block from the Gershwin Theater for Wicked and across the street from our restaurant, Le Bernardin. We easily walked to 5th Ave to shop, St. Patricks and Times Square. Also easy walk to Central Park. We arrived early, at 11am (check-in is not until 4) prepared to have to check our bags while we waited for a room. Our type room was not available at 11, so they offered us an upgrade from Standard King (which we paid $300+tax for a Saturday night in September) to a One Bedroom Queen Suite for $50 more (normally there's at least a $250 difference), showing us the room before we decided (room 401). It was a beautiful room, and although we were only staying one night and really would not take advantage of what a suite really has to offer, we took it for the convenience of having access to the room 5 hours earlier. The room was very clean, neat and updated with 3 flat screen TVs (one in living room, one in bedroom, one in bathroom), although being there for 1 night we didn't watch TV, this is a plus for people staying longer. The suite also had a full bar, with stools in the living room with a desk, 2 armchairs and a sofa. The bedroom was nicely decorated. There was a soaking tub in the bathroom. Halls were quiet for most of our stay. Service was excellent. Requested iron and ironing board and arrived in less than 5 minutes. Front desk service was courteous. Included Continental breakfast in lobby area: croissants and coffee/cappuccino. Overall, great price for a 4 star in NYC so close to many attractions. Will return and stay longer next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Smithtown, New York
Jul 7, 2009

Great location

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night. We enjoyed the hotel very much during our stay. The hotel is located at the heart of Times Square. The staff was very professional and friendly.Our room was very clean and spaceous. There's tons to do while in Times square. We enjoyed a show, dinner, drank you name it there's lots to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Times square check out Restaurant Row street, lots of restaurant to choose from.

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Jul 17, 2011

Terrific location and wonderful staff

My wife and I were in NYC for seven nights. The Michelangelo is located right in the heart of the City. We attended two Broadway shows, both within a short walk of the Hotel. The staff, from the bell hop to the front desk and to housekeeping were first rate. We upgraded our room to a junior suite and it was nicely appointed. The work out room is small, but efficiently adequate. Besides, you don't want to spend too much time in the basement when there is so much to do in the City. One suggestion: the bar was quite expensive. Less expenseiv beverages are found within a short walk of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Restaurant Row, on W. 46th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues.

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mullica Hill, NJ
Aug 11, 2010

A perfect stay . . .

What a beautiful, immaculate hotel, right smack in the middle of NYC's theater district and fine dining establishments. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lock Haven, PA
Aug 17, 2009

Great Place to Stay

Traveling to New York is always an adventure. I attended a meeting that is scheduled annually and I always stay at the Michaelangelo. Included in the package is a portion of the parking which has continued to cost more every visit. It is a great place to stay and they have added a restaurant that is very nice with great food to match.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I found the Europa across the street a great place for snacks and bagels are terrific. 7th Avenue is a great way to experience NYC.

Back to menu Return to top