$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Michelangelo Hotel

4 stars
152 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
196 reviews
AWESOME HOTEL

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and COMFY...great beds and pillows. Also, the hotel is... See full review

  • Scott S.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Hotel delight

Having not been to NYC since 1978 we didn't know how we were going to fare. The Michelangelo Hotel... See full review

  • P.L. and David
  • Nov 19, 2014
Elegant European style, generous rooms, close to Broadway theaters
Elegant decor and gracious service have landed this hotel on travel magazine "best of" lists. The lobby sets the tone, with antique furnishings, crystal chandeliers and marble columns. Spacious rooms and marble bathrooms provide a quiet retreat. Special touches, such as turndown service, overnight shoeshine and complimentary car service to Wall Street, offer guests VIP treatment. The convenient Midtown location is steps from Broadway theaters and close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and more.
Highlights
  • Elegant, Italian-inspired decor
  • Generously sized rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with soaking tubs
  • Short walk to Central Park, Broadway theaters and more

 

Rooms

The 179 generously sized rooms average 475 square feet. Elegant rooms feature cherry furniture and cream-colored walls and carpeting. Color schemes vary from room to room, but each includes champagne-colored bedding and drapes with a rich accent color. Amenities include bathrobes, Bose stereos and Wi-Fi (fees apply). Marble bathrooms have soaking tubs, heat lamps and luxury bath products. Junior, one- and two-bedroom suites are available.

Features

Travel + Leisure magazine named the hotel on its list of the 500 Greatest Hotels of the World. Conde Nast Traveler has put the hotel on its Gold List. The hotel concierge is a member of the exclusive Global Les Clefs d'Or.

 

There is a complimentary 24-hour fitness center at the hotel. Guests also have access to the fitness club across the street with a pool, sauna and steam room (fees apply).

 

The hotel offers free car service to Wall Street weekday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Return service in the afternoon or evening is available upon request (fees apply).

Dining

The highly regarded, on-site Insieme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine. Room service is available 24 hours a day. World-famous French restaurant Le Bernardin is around the corner. The 21 Club, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, The Capital Grille and Carnegie Deli are all nearby. Diners can also have tasty croissants, coffee and tea daily in The Tuscany room on site. Patrons start the day with A la carte breakfast served from 7 AM to 12 PM from Mondays to Fridays; and from 8 AM to 12 PM from Saturdays and Sundays in Insieme Lounge. Complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room - fresh-brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition from Mondays to Sundays. Guests at the hotel can sit back and relax with a variety of relaxing treats and drinks at Insieme Lounge on site. The lounge also serve Italian fares for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 50th Street – Broadway (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/ 1.61 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michelangelo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Michelangelo Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
425 sq ft/Neoclassic decor/ Empire cherry furniture/Boudoir chairs/Marble bath w/color TV and 55 gallon tub
JR SUITE
500-600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Sitting area w/sofa and armchairs/Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
ONE BEDROOM - SUITE
Large room/600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Separate parlor w/sofa and armchairs/ Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
STUDIO ROOM
One king-size bed. Large entry foyer with two boudoir chairs. Neoclassical dcor, empire cherry wood furniture with black and brass accents and boudoir chairs. Up to 500 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our staff of catering professionals focuses on flawless service, attention to detail and impressive food and beverage offerings. The Michelangelo Hotel offers a beautiful selection of meeting and function rooms and is the perfect venue for your social or corporate event. The Roman Room is a large beautifully appointed meeting room, which together with the Roman Mezzanine, holds 150 people, and comprises approximately 2,143 square feet of elegant, flexible space for gala receptions, weddings and corporate events. The Florentine Room and the Venetian Room have a sophisticated feel, with all the amenities for board meetings and VIP conferences The rooms are equipped with full audio visual and telecommunication capabilities, internet access, custom designed rugs, unusual objets d'art in an atmosphere of understated elegance.

Dining

Insieme Lounge
Our exquisitely decorated lounge and bar offers a stunning drinks menu and great Italian Fare for lunch and dinner. An al carte breakfast is served from 7:00am to 12:00pm Monday-Friday and from 8:00am to 12:00pm Saturday and Sunday in the Insieme Lounge.
Tuscan Room
From 7:00am to 9:00am Monday-Friday, and from 8:00am-10:00am Saturday and Sunday, complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room-fresh brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Michelangelo Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econ Prof
Business
Davison, Michigan
Jun 20, 2012

Luxury Near Times Square

We had a wonderful time at the Michelangelo. The room was huge by NYC standards, the staff were pleasant and attentive (maid service was particularly good), and the amenities regarding the room itself were quite luxurious. The location is a plus, close to Times Square and the Radio City complex, convenient to transportation. It was fun to enjoy the crowds around Times Square and duck into the quiet luxury of the hotel, and it was amazingly quiet regardless of the hour. We were never bothered by crowd noise. My one critical observation is that food service and room service could have been a little more suitable. The room service only offered breakfast; the lounge offered a limited menu. I gather that there was a restaurant called Da Vinci at the hotel until recently, so perhaps they're just in between plans. And with so many nice restaurants nearby, maybe it isn't reasonable to expect more than a bar. The cocktail menu has seen some expert attention, and the drink I had was excellent, justifying the rather top end price per drink (about $15). No complaints there. A terrific experience, and we would cheerfully stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MlugoDFW
Business
DFW, Texas
Jun 20, 2012

NYC Vacation

Excellent staff and service. Highly recommend, great location between times square and Central Park. During the initial check in they gave us a free room upgrade without asking, very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the NYC pass and bus tour in advance for excellent money saving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gemona
Business
Iowa
Jun 19, 2012

nice location

We liked the proximity to Times Square. Staff was helpful. This hotel is used by the corporate world, so did not see a lot of families. Room was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and the theatre district are within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl A.
Business
monte sereno ca
Jun 18, 2012

Great location

we stay every year..small boutique hotel..very comfortable. Perfect for theater, central park, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gulf Coast Grandma
Business
Galveston, Texas
Jun 13, 2012

Wonderful week in NYC

The Michelangelo Hotel is perfectly located for dining, theatre and shopping in the city. All are walking distance, but it is easy to get a cab if you wish! Coffee, tea and pastry are available all mornings, but be sure to get there during the appointed hours since they do remove it precisely at 9 AM! Rooms are large and comfortable and elevators are prompt. Desk staff and doormen are super nice and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toney
Business
Charleston, WV
Jun 5, 2012

Would stay again.

Really wonderful location and a lovely place. Wonderful staff. Bright lights out the window, but it is New York after all! There were good blinds. The free coffee in the morning was outstanding and the pastries good. I'm a healthy eater so I had to go somewhere else (no fruit). I had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bagel and Bean for bagels and lox of outstanding quality very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mother daughter weekend
Business
north augusta, sc
May 18, 2012

mother/daughter weekend

Great location! Room large by New York standards. Staff very helpful from the desk clerk and doorman to housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy daughter
Business
Toledo, OH
May 8, 2012

Awsome stay at the Michaelangelo

I loved everything about this hotel!! My 70 year old mother arrived early and was given the 5 star treament by the manager. They upgraded our room to two queens for no additional cost. Our room was HUGE, clean and quiet. The staff was kind and helpful. I would stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to txts window for your show tickets, a good deal!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed and Gail
Business
Canton, OH, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Perfect!!

My girlfriend and I went to stay at the Michelangelo Hotel for her 30th birthday weekend. We checked in 1 hour early and the rooms weren't ready yet but the staff was generous in holding our luggage for us while we tour the city. We came back tired around midnight to finally see our room. We opened the door and about fell over. They double upgraded us from the Junior Suite to the Grand Suite! How perfect was that because of my girlfriend's birthday!! The room was GORGEOUS!! Everything was more than what we expected!! The staff was very generous and friendly. It ended up being the PERFECT weekend in New York CIty!! Thanks again Michelangelo Hotes!! We'll definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rabrickson
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Apr 18, 2012

A wonderful long weekend stay

We asked the concierge for help finding a good, neighborhood Italian restaurant to visit before our 8 pm Book of Mormon show. He told us he thought that the show was at 7 pm and was right... he saved us from a huge mistake that we might have caught (but who knows if we would have noticed the time on the tickets we bought 6 months earlier!). All of the service people were warm, personable and helpful. We love to visit the Michaelangelo - it is just the right balance and tone for our tastes in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top