$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Michelangelo Hotel

4 stars
152 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
194 reviews
Hotel delight

Having not been to NYC since 1978 we didn't know how we were going to fare. The Michelangelo Hotel... See full review

  • P.L. and David
  • Nov 19, 2014
Wonderful four days in NY

This has got to be the best hotel in NY City. The comfort, cleanliness, staff, bar, location...we... See full review

  • LillyC
  • Sep 17, 2014
Elegant European style, generous rooms, close to Broadway theaters
Elegant decor and gracious service have landed this hotel on travel magazine "best of" lists. The lobby sets the tone, with antique furnishings, crystal chandeliers and marble columns. Spacious rooms and marble bathrooms provide a quiet retreat. Special touches, such as turndown service, overnight shoeshine and complimentary car service to Wall Street, offer guests VIP treatment. The convenient Midtown location is steps from Broadway theaters and close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and more.
Highlights
  • Elegant, Italian-inspired decor
  • Generously sized rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with soaking tubs
  • Short walk to Central Park, Broadway theaters and more

 

Rooms

The 179 generously sized rooms average 475 square feet. Elegant rooms feature cherry furniture and cream-colored walls and carpeting. Color schemes vary from room to room, but each includes champagne-colored bedding and drapes with a rich accent color. Amenities include bathrobes, Bose stereos and Wi-Fi (fees apply). Marble bathrooms have soaking tubs, heat lamps and luxury bath products. Junior, one- and two-bedroom suites are available.

Features

Travel + Leisure magazine named the hotel on its list of the 500 Greatest Hotels of the World. Conde Nast Traveler has put the hotel on its Gold List. The hotel concierge is a member of the exclusive Global Les Clefs d'Or.

 

There is a complimentary 24-hour fitness center at the hotel. Guests also have access to the fitness club across the street with a pool, sauna and steam room (fees apply).

 

The hotel offers free car service to Wall Street weekday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Return service in the afternoon or evening is available upon request (fees apply).

Dining

The highly regarded, on-site Insieme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine. Room service is available 24 hours a day. World-famous French restaurant Le Bernardin is around the corner. The 21 Club, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, The Capital Grille and Carnegie Deli are all nearby. Diners can also have tasty croissants, coffee and tea daily in The Tuscany room on site. Patrons start the day with A la carte breakfast served from 7 AM to 12 PM from Mondays to Fridays; and from 8 AM to 12 PM from Saturdays and Sundays in Insieme Lounge. Complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room - fresh-brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition from Mondays to Sundays. Guests at the hotel can sit back and relax with a variety of relaxing treats and drinks at Insieme Lounge on site. The lounge also serve Italian fares for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 50th Street – Broadway (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/ 1.61 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michelangelo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Michelangelo Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
425 sq ft/Neoclassic decor/ Empire cherry furniture/Boudoir chairs/Marble bath w/color TV and 55 gallon tub
JR SUITE
500-600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Sitting area w/sofa and armchairs/Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
ONE BEDROOM - SUITE
Large room/600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Separate parlor w/sofa and armchairs/ Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
STUDIO ROOM
One king-size bed. Large entry foyer with two boudoir chairs. Neoclassical dcor, empire cherry wood furniture with black and brass accents and boudoir chairs. Up to 500 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our staff of catering professionals focuses on flawless service, attention to detail and impressive food and beverage offerings. The Michelangelo Hotel offers a beautiful selection of meeting and function rooms and is the perfect venue for your social or corporate event. The Roman Room is a large beautifully appointed meeting room, which together with the Roman Mezzanine, holds 150 people, and comprises approximately 2,143 square feet of elegant, flexible space for gala receptions, weddings and corporate events. The Florentine Room and the Venetian Room have a sophisticated feel, with all the amenities for board meetings and VIP conferences The rooms are equipped with full audio visual and telecommunication capabilities, internet access, custom designed rugs, unusual objets d'art in an atmosphere of understated elegance.

Dining

Insieme Lounge
Our exquisitely decorated lounge and bar offers a stunning drinks menu and great Italian Fare for lunch and dinner. An al carte breakfast is served from 7:00am to 12:00pm Monday-Friday and from 8:00am to 12:00pm Saturday and Sunday in the Insieme Lounge.
Tuscan Room
From 7:00am to 9:00am Monday-Friday, and from 8:00am-10:00am Saturday and Sunday, complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room-fresh brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Michelangelo Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The 40th
Business
Indiana
Jul 24, 2013

Terrific place to vacation

Wonderful hotel in perfect location. Very comfortable room. Easy walk to shopping, restaurants and subway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beav69
Business
madison, ga
Jul 22, 2013

fabulous concierge

I took my 13 yr. old granddaughter to NYC for her birthday. The Michaelangelo was a perfect location for us to see the sights with lots within walking distance and others an easy subway ride. There was a nice European breakfast on Fri.- Sun. mornings with very nice pastries and coffee. But the best part of the hotel was their fabulous concierge James. He gave us great ideas on restaurants, shows, etc. He was the Best!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyoming88
Business
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Jun 6, 2013

Perfect Midtown Hotel

Easy access to all midtown has to offer and large rooms for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lever
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 3, 2013

Great hotel

We always pick the michaelangelo I love it all except this is no breakfast coffee and muffins not even fruit but that will not keep me from staying there. Just wish they had a better choice for BREAKFAST!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin K
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 26, 2013

Amazing location, super clean hotel.

We had a wonderful stay at the Michelangelo. The location is walking distance to Times Square and most theaters, MOMA, Rockefeller Center and great shopping is nearby. The concierge James is the best, and I would trust his opinion on restaurants, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In order to see the Statue of Liberty, take the Staton Island Ferry. You can get great pictures and it's a short boat ride. Our concierge recommended it in lieu of one of the paid boat trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smonroe01
Business
Houston, Tx
Mar 26, 2013

Fabulous!

It's difficult booking a hotel without seeing it first. I have to say I was MORE than pleased with the Hotel. The rooms are very spacious. Beds were comfortable. We didnt have very much outside noise at all. The bathroom was HUGE. Everything we could have wanted or needed was there, with the exception if a coffee pot in the room, but I didnt even notice that until the last day there. I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone (and I think I'm a hotel snob) Walking distance to everything! Lots of shops, and attractions very close by.... within blocks! I will stay here on my next visit to NYC later this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Berg
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2013

away from the hustle bustle

Second time for us at the boutique gem. Every thing was great, but what stood ought was the staff who were very helpful, particularly with a large and heavy package that was brought into the room and placed in our car upon leaving. We plan on staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatordad46
Business
Palm Harbor, FL
Mar 5, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of the theater district

We had a wonderful time and the hotel is right in the heart of the theater district. The Hotel is very nice the staff very helpful. I would have given the hotel all 5's except for the fact there was no coffee maker in the room. I am a person who like to get up, make the coffee in the room and read the paper before getting dressed. To get coffee or tea you had to get dressed, take the elevator down 7 floors to the continental breakfast room, juggle 3 cups of coffee (2 for me and 1 for my wife) back up 7 floors. For this reason we will not stay at the hotel again. I find it hard to believe that if a 2 star hotel can provide coffee for you in their rooms, then a 5 star hotel should be able to do the same. By the way, you could order coffee from room service for $18 a pot plus service charge and tip. Nice "gig".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearly all of the theaters are within a half mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VJay
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 26, 2013

Place to recoup after a long exhausting work day.

Plush, quiet, large rooms. Staff was professional, not very warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dpmichaels
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 21, 2013

Michaelangelo Hotel

Superb location in midtown Manhattan. Our room was spacious, the bed was quite comfortable but the bathroom was a bit small. We were n a lower floor (3) and it was a bit noisy. The staff was ver helpful. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top