$320 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Michelangelo Hotel

4 stars
152 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
278 reviews
Outstanding Comfort

Excellent amenities and execution of service. Great staff. See full review

  • Times Square
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great weekend getaway

Perfect location to walk everywhere you want to go. We have stayed there many times. The staff was... See full review

  • BarbC
  • Apr 15, 2014
Elegant European style, generous rooms, close to Broadway theaters
Elegant decor and gracious service have landed this hotel on travel magazine "best of" lists. The lobby sets the tone, with antique furnishings, crystal chandeliers and marble columns. Spacious rooms and marble bathrooms provide a quiet retreat. Special touches, such as turndown service, overnight shoeshine and complimentary car service to Wall Street, offer guests VIP treatment. The convenient Midtown location is steps from Broadway theaters and close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and more.
Highlights
  • Elegant, Italian-inspired decor
  • Generously sized rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with soaking tubs
  • Short walk to Central Park, Broadway theaters and more

 

Rooms

The 179 generously sized rooms average 475 square feet. Elegant rooms feature cherry furniture and cream-colored walls and carpeting. Color schemes vary from room to room, but each includes champagne-colored bedding and drapes with a rich accent color. Amenities include bathrobes, Bose stereos and Wi-Fi (fees apply). Marble bathrooms have soaking tubs, heat lamps and luxury bath products. Junior, one- and two-bedroom suites are available.

Features

Travel + Leisure magazine named the hotel on its list of the 500 Greatest Hotels of the World. Conde Nast Traveler has put the hotel on its Gold List. The hotel concierge is a member of the exclusive Global Les Clefs d'Or.

 

There is a complimentary 24-hour fitness center at the hotel. Guests also have access to the fitness club across the street with a pool, sauna and steam room (fees apply).

 

The hotel offers free car service to Wall Street weekday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Return service in the afternoon or evening is available upon request (fees apply).

Dining

The highly regarded, on-site Insieme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine. Room service is available 24 hours a day. World-famous French restaurant Le Bernardin is around the corner. The 21 Club, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, The Capital Grille and Carnegie Deli are all nearby. Diners can also have tasty croissants, coffee and tea daily in The Tuscany room on site. Patrons start the day with A la carte breakfast served from 7 AM to 12 PM from Mondays to Fridays; and from 8 AM to 12 PM from Saturdays and Sundays in Insieme Lounge. Complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room - fresh-brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition from Mondays to Sundays. Guests at the hotel can sit back and relax with a variety of relaxing treats and drinks at Insieme Lounge on site. The lounge also serve Italian fares for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 50th Street – Broadway (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/ 1.61 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)

Hotel Map

40.7619 -73.9833
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
JFK LGA EWR
Area description
The Michelangelo is the only European luxury boutique hotel in Midtown Manhattan, New York's business, cultural, theater and shopping district. It is within easy walking distance from: Rockefeller Center American Girl Place Shopping on Madison & Fifth Avenues Radio City Music Hall Times Square Broadway theater district Carnegie Hall Central Park Museum of Modern Art The Fashion District Grand Central & Penn Station

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michelangelo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Michelangelo Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE - GUEST_ROOM
425 sq ft/Neoclassic decor/ Empire cherry furniture/Boudoir chairs/Marble bath w/color TV and 55 gallon tub
JR SUITE
500-600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Sitting area w/sofa and armchairs/Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
ONE BEDROOM - SUITE
Large room/600 sq ft/Marble foyer/Separate parlor w/sofa and armchairs/ Neoclassic, Art deco or Country French decor
STUDIO ROOM
One king-size bed. Large entry foyer with two boudoir chairs. Neoclassical dcor, empire cherry wood furniture with black and brass accents and boudoir chairs. Up to 500 square feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our staff of catering professionals focuses on flawless service, attention to detail and impressive food and beverage offerings. The Michelangelo Hotel offers a beautiful selection of meeting and function rooms and is the perfect venue for your social or corporate event. The Roman Room is a large beautifully appointed meeting room, which together with the Roman Mezzanine, holds 150 people, and comprises approximately 2,143 square feet of elegant, flexible space for gala receptions, weddings and corporate events. The Florentine Room and the Venetian Room have a sophisticated feel, with all the amenities for board meetings and VIP conferences The rooms are equipped with full audio visual and telecommunication capabilities, internet access, custom designed rugs, unusual objets d'art in an atmosphere of understated elegance.

Dining

Tuscan Room
From 7:00am to 9:00am Monday-Friday, and from 8:00am-10:00am Saturday and Sunday, complimentary Buondi Caffe is served in the Tuscan Room-fresh brewed coffee and pastries in the finest Italian tradition.
Insieme Lounge
Our exquisitely decorated lounge and bar offers a stunning drinks menu and great Italian Fare for lunch and dinner. An al carte breakfast is served from 7:00am to 12:00pm Monday-Friday and from 8:00am to 12:00pm Saturday and Sunday in the Insieme Lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Michelangelo Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lever
Pennsylvania
Apr 3, 2013

Great hotel

We always pick the michaelangelo I love it all except this is no breakfast coffee and muffins not even fruit but that will not keep me from staying there. Just wish they had a better choice for BREAKFAST!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drfeelgoodGA
Savannah, GA
Jul 9, 2014

Great Location

The location was by far the most impressive. Close to all the major attractions. The hotel lobby is very cozy and quiet. The rooms are dated but acceptable. No good view though. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Times Square
Sarasota, Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Outstanding Comfort

Excellent amenities and execution of service. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quality Meats

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BarbC
Ohio
Apr 15, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Perfect location to walk everywhere you want to go. We have stayed there many times. The staff was uniformly helpful and friendly. The rooms are a very good size for New York , bathrooms are large and well stocked. The only thing I don't like is that $14.99/day internet charge. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete and Joan
Erie, PA
Mar 24, 2014

Fantastic Hotel

Loved everything about this hotel. Our room was impeccable . It was large, newly renovated, and very clean. When we needed something from housekeeping, they were there within minutes. Would love to stay there again on our next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mizo15
Arlington VA
Feb 8, 2014

Not a good one

Was promised to get a king suite which suppose to be 450 sf but this was not the case. Disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDSTraveller
Arlington, Va
Jan 23, 2014

Quick Times Square Trip

My experience started on a low note because I attempted to call to confirm my reservation and had to be shuffled from one person to another. If you book through this site, you can't check your reservation through their main line, but have to call the hotel directly. The rep was very short with me and didn't let me finish any sentence, very rude. Check in was easy and they accommodated our early check in time, which was fantastic. The room and hotel are nice and quiet and located centrally, very close to Times Square. The employees were very bland and dry and didnt' try and engage the visitors. I thought the role of a door man was to open the door, however, I never noticed him doing that. Check out was simple and we were on our way. However, as I am writing this review, I noticed that they charged me for an in room adaptor, which we had no use for, nor did we take. So, I am in the middle of disputing that charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Youpper
Florida
Jan 19, 2014

New York Gem

The Michelangelo represents the classic style of comfort and service without the feeling of being a tourist bus stop!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrickstreet
Boston, MA
Dec 16, 2013

Overpriced for a 5-Star

The room and location was fine; no complaints there. However; the lobby bar and restaurant setup/layout was the worst I'd ever seen. They were right next to the check in desk, right out in the open. Neither had any ambiance whatsoever, to the point we wouldn't ever try them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosie O'Grady's and Bar Americain are both a block away from the hotel, and worth visiting for dining or just a cocktail.

Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickey Blue Eyes
England
Dec 4, 2013

Superb stay!

First time in NYC - perfect location for Broadway/Times Square/Top of Rock/5th Ave. Stayed over Thanksgiving and hotel very good - room large and comfortable, staff superb; difficult to find fault. No restaurant, complementary basic continental breakfast available; food from room service excellent. Highly recommended in all respects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York traveller 2013
Europe
Dec 2, 2013

Just Great

Great Location! Great Staff! We even got an upgrade upon arrival as well as an extended check out until 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

www.carnegiedeli.com - If you are really hungry, try this landmark deli for breakfast or lunch.

Back to menu Return to top